August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Dawn of Dimension

by jplur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Build a new world with your fellow LD'ers. Toggle edit mode then choose tiles and place them. Save to upload changes to the server.


Want to see the entire world? Generate a map here: http://selfsamegames.com/LD24/makemap.html

** You can't save changes to the first room, didn't want people starting inside a wall or anything **

POST COMPO VERSION:
Vastly improved physics, lots of bug fixes, arrow keys for movement, better screen transitions, two new powerups. Post compo still uses the same world, vote on the original then play in the improved!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Innovation3.89
#112Humor3.05
#152Mood3.10
#230Audio2.81
#249Theme3.21
#270Graphics3.18
#309Overall3.08
#524Fun2.49

Comments

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:21am

I think the shared world building idea is great. Sadly the game was hampered by poor physics and controls. I was constantly floating through objects or falling through space. When that wasn't an issue I found that jumping around and moving was very floaty feeling. The promise of a vast, community generated world is exciting. What I found instead was a lot of empty space to run around aimlessly in. I think if you tweak the game so that players are more motivated to create interesting scenes and challenges the game will improve greatly.

WITS says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:29am

The collisions feel a little off, but the concept is great, and I'll probably come back to see what people make in this.

jplur says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:33am

Hey thanks for the feedback!

"What I found instead was a lot of empty space to run around aimlessly in."

This is to be expected with the first person to try this out, check back after everybody has made a mess of the place ;)

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:04am

Quite innovative, has a little bit of a "minecraftish" feel! But as said before, the character felt a little clumsy to me because of the way collisions are working right now!

I really liked the concept, the little back story and the simple graphics!

minism says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:08am

Haha, this game has a really creepy feel to it, not sure what it is (probably the piano in the music combined with the nakedness)

The tile stuff is great, the controls are extremely cumbersome though (physics, rather)

Milo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:10am

It's a really cool idea, but I found it prohibitively hard to do much editing; the blocks never were placed where I clicked (usually 1 block above). I do want to see what chaos has happened by the end of rating though.

chorinator says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:15am

Physics are too buggy.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:48am

The concept is great but controls made it a little less enjoyable. Also I constantly dropped in space. I made a row of solids down there just in case anyone needs it :)

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:37am

I'd like to see a more intuitive editor, but I love the concept.

DaveDobson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:12pm

A really neat idea - I love the editable world, and you've got a really nice set of tiles to work with. I didn't really have the physics problems the other folks talked about; it seemed pretty straightforward. The tile menu confused me at first; the interface there could be a little clearer (or I could be a little smarter). I really wanted to know what was out there, what people had made, so I hope you provide a map. The only critiques I'd make is that there's not much game to it, only building, and the music got old pretty fast. The intro was really fun - I knew sort of where it was headed, but didn't expect the nose drippings, and the art was neat. The game is clever, sleek-looking, and based on a cool idea - good work.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Hope that you can rewind and play the creation instead of just showing the final map. Cool that you dared to make this concept for a compo.

jplur says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:52pm

@Brassawiking well I'm going to save daily dumps, so far 100 some screens have been edited. It's nice to fly around in space and stumble onto something neat ;)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:52pm

The idea is fantastic just the actual collision and physics are terrible. Also I was able to glitch through walls and floors by moving back and forth between rooms and ended up stuck several times but I really liked the look and feel of the game. Great job!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:35am

Intro is great. The use of theme in the evolving of the world is great. I liked the music. On the downside, as others have said, moving through the world can be frustrating due to physics and collision. But I will accept it for all this game offers. Nice work.

Maple says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:47am

Haha,
>Oh no, there's not enough time to design levels! Might as well get everyone else to design them for me!

Not bad, not bad. 2 main problems I have is the weird crap around the player. Not sure how that graphical error is coming about. The other is that the physics/movement felt kinda buggy and stuff (that may have been an illusion though, due to people making blocks unsolid. Though I do understand that the chara mask is only one block high. Maybe you should have made there be no choice weather a block is solid or not, or if it isn't solid, draw it darker than if it is solid.

jplur says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:25am

@Maple yeah I just saw, someone is putting invisible solid blocks around, kind of fun to hunt them down and destroy them

daydalus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:06am

Pretty impressive to have a shared world. the controls were a little floaty, but I think that added to the quirky style and tileset. Great job on this one, curious to see how the world turns out after the end of judging!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:18am

Great concept. Love the idea of a game the community builds... keep working on this. Could be something really great.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:02am

There was not much to enjoy playing this game. Many of the levels felt unnavigable.

Maxium says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:57am

Ah kept falling through the floors, reminds me a bit of a boy and his blob. I must say the music was spot on.

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:56am

This is a really cool idea! The physics is a little jittery and getting around can be quite annoying - what would be really useful is editing concurrent with moving, so I can create platforms to jump up easily. It's nice to explore the world that people have created :) The tiles are nice looking, and the music feels good too.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Making players evolve the map : Great game idea. Also, saving the state of the world server side and all: great execution.
There are a few things you could add that would make life easier: a way to teleport back to the beggining without refreshing the page; A way to save the position of your player and then to teleport back to it. And lastly, "platform" tiles: tiles on wich you can jump from bellow, but that then stay stable.

lambomang says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:00am

AGH MAN PUT SOME CLOTHES ON! :P
That was quite fun. Pretty cool concept. But like others have said, the controls need a bit of work. Also, with the intro, the text disappeared a bit to quickly sometimes, didn't have time to read it all. Other than that, it's quite impressive :D

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:49am

Really, really cool. Love the music and the idea.

johnfn says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Great concept. But may have worked better as a top down rather than a platformer because if no one else has edited the world then you're just going to fall forever. :P Good work, nice graphics, very ambitious for LD.

batiali says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:58am

Nice pixel sized penis you got there!

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:27am

controls and physic are way to goofy for it to work

amodo says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:12pm

Great to see something like this done. And the idea fits in with the theme. Also really love the bizarre art and the idea that it's the "dawn of dimension". Really good job. Only some physics issue as others mentioned. Good stuff!!!

Jorjon says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Novel idea. I made some wacky designs. It desperately needs a better editor and some logic on levels (triggers, messages, etc). I look forward for the final screen capture :)

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Interesting idea. I wish there was more of a goal though.

ramoncb says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:06pm

Amazing idea, as people already said, a more intuitive editor and better physics will make this in something awesome!

panda says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 4:13am

Awesome idea! I love the idea of a persistent, group-created world. Kudos! It seems you got a complete implementation, though I wish I could use arrow keys instead of a/d. I never found the powerups either, too bad. Perhaps it might help if when we scroll, we see just the edge of the neighbor cells? This could make it easier to have consistent places.

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 6:21pm

super cool idea, but plagued by poor physics and being in general really buggy, the platforming isn't fun at all due to this and theres no enemies to place or anything so there's not much to actually do. The editor itself I honestly couldn't figure out, once i get into the tile selector there seems to be no way back to the editor window itself, though this might just be a bug, a more intuitive way of editing the level (like have the tile select outside of the main game window) would go a long way. The controls themselves arent helping anything either, a,d and space is a VERY awkward way to hold your hands, arrow keys would have made a lot more sense.

sfernald says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Really liked the concept of this. There's something interesting about stepping off into the unknown and having no idea what you are going to see next, if anything.

tcstyle says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Interesting idea to let the world evolve by player creation. Gameplay and physics is not that good.
I really liked the soundtrack and sprites.

Datw says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:13pm

creepy. The music, the character, the intro... and hard to move around. But great, regardless. The world is getting quite cool already.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:15pm

The editor is a bit difficult to use, but anyway, the idea is great, and the game worth 10x playing because of this. Congratulations

Porpentine says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 9:59pm

ha, this is COOL

running around naked to that music is what makes this work

marudziik says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Everybody already said it many times: great idea, controls need fixing, creepy naked guy. I repeat. :)

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 12:42am

I have the common sentiment: Great idea, awesome level editing and tileset, poor physics and usability while playing.

This is so close to a home run you'd be crazy not to fix up the platforming physics and room switching!

RosyPenguin says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:10am

Great concept, I love the idea of collaborative and emergent gameplay! The main character dude weirds me out though, I think it's the anatomy, especially the hips/knees area. I agree about the controls and usability, but otherwise a fun sandboxey game!

Will Edwards says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:23am

Of course I have the advantage of arriving after there's a lot here :)

I love this game concept and the outcome.

Yeah the physics is a bit meh and yeah the graphics is a bit meh, but it all still works great!

The intro really reminded me of the Discworld Auditors...

darkshadow says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Startling mix of different zones, some have been lovingly created, others less so. What would be nice would be the ability to peak into the next zone to see if its blank or not. All too often I am randomly falling through empty space. Great intro, good music and I like the classical Greek feel helps evoke the feeling of a fresh new world.

Sestren says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Bonus tip for everyone that plays. I found a power-up, Wings, at Location (2, 4). It's a big help for moving around. If I find any more, I'll be sure to share.

mohammad says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:53am

Man 48 hour and this! :D
PS: Next time a little less nudity? I kept glancing over my shoulders to see if anyone was observing his testicles the entire time as I had to. :/

chuchino says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 1:44am

I loved this, I didn't do much with the editor but it was a lot of fun running around and seeing all the weird crap people built. The physics were kind of bad but I didn't really care

csanyk says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:30pm

I can't really improve on aschearer's comments. I was really excited by the premise of the game, but the controls and physics need improvement. Liked the Kid Icarus-like tiles:)

munchor says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 10:56am

I really liked the concept, the movement was a little off, and it's quite interesting!

munchor says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 11:13am

Also, the source can't be found!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 12:05pm

This is a good idea but a bit hard to make it really reach its potential during LD where people have many games to play with

jplur says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 12:38pm

munchor: fixed the source link, broke it when I put up the post compo :/

moonmagic says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:32am

I love the tileset and the terrifying glitch worlds people are creating. I'm very glad I found this thing.

lekochen says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:08am

Great concept and music, and story.

MrHalfman says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 2:06pm

The concept of collaborative world-building is interesting, unfortunately it suppose that there is no "coherence" between maps. (And physic bugs)

Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:18pm

The concept was cool, but the 48h version had some stiff physics. This was solved on the post-compo version, though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]