August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Evolution

by DBRalir - Jam Entry

A simple tower defense game in which your towers combine different upgrades to become a unique weapon.

If for some reason my very temporary and unreliable website goes down, the standalone version is basically a mirror of the site. Open the HTML file to run it.

Instructions are on the webpage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#58Fun(Jam)3.36
#77Theme(Jam)3.13
#105Overall(Jam)3.20
#125Innovation(Jam)2.89
#188Mood(Jam)2.38
#201Graphics(Jam)2.57
#210Humor(Jam)1.44
#216Audio(Jam)1.25

Comments

Starmen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:01am

This was really, really nice. It could've done with some instructions as I just kind of blundered about at first, and knowing what each of the upgrades did would've been handy, but I really would love to see more tower defence games with this kind of mechanic. You really are onto something. Great work.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:05pm

That was really cool! I too blundered through the game at first before realizing the upgrades were stacking when possible! Awesome idea and well executed too. The levels were different but it seems like my "brute-force" as many towers as possible approach worked for all of them (+continuous laser). Maybe some enemies that are immune to certain attack types would be a good addition. All in all, pretty darn fun!

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:06pm

I like this game, I like most Tower Defense games, this is good.

ameliayn says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:08pm

When I try to play on the web, I get a ClassNotFoundException: com.pickandblade.towerevolution.GameContainer

DBRalir says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:53pm

If anyone gets a "ClassNotFoundException", I really don't know what to do about it. In my experience, this usually means the JAR file did not download or was corrupted. Try checking your firewall or clearing your browser's cache.

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:55am

Really fun! The maps are well laid out and require some actual strategic planning to beat. Kinda frustrating how the shuffles can leave you SOL though. Would have also liked some sound! I hope you develop this game further.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Surprisingly fun! A fresh take on a genre that I have left long ago but it seems with this one, I might come to like it again. Continue this, please! :D

michax says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:15pm

What a nice TD game :) Loved upgrade system! Good job!

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:49pm

This is possible the funnest game I played since I started rating games. It took me lots of time to get the game running...(realizing that I have to open the .html and not the jar). plus at the current time your web link shows error 404.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Dude, getting an error, man.

DBRalir says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:15am

My sincerest apologies for the website being horrible, everything should be fixed now.

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:43pm

I got this error from trying to run the java frame:

Java Plug-in 1.6.0_31
Using JRE version 1.6.0_31-b05 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Users\Alexander Dawn
----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
l: dump classloader list
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system and deployment properties
t: dump thread list
v: dump thread stack
x: clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------


java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/pickandblade/towerevolution/GameContainer : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.defineClassHelper(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader$2.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.findClassHelper(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Unknown Source)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Exception: java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/pickandblade/towerevolution/GameContainer : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

DBRalir says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:16pm

@darkshadow, it seems you are using an older version of Java. I will see about making my game compatible with 1.6, but I suggest updating.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:05am

A nice idea, however I found that I was getting far too many upgrades, and not nearly enough towers. I was just changing my tower for the sake of using my options, not because I wanted to.

Desi Quintans says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:12am

This was a good idea, but I did exactly what tupperwarespoon did, in that I used upgrades for the heck of it instead of actually needing them, or needing to put much thought into where I needed them most.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:01am

You had me at tower defense :)

Nicely done and very fun. I enjoyed it a lot.

Vladp995 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:45am

Really cool idea, tower with 7 canons XD
But it's too easy when you instantly get the next upgrade, maybe you can add a timeout or something else so the game would be more challenging. Well done.

Teknik says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 7:28pm

interesting change to a tower defense. i like that the upgrades are random. but it makes it to easy i think with the amount of new choices you let the user take.

kibertoad says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:02pm

Balance seemed odd and icons not intuitive enough, but overall it wasn't bad :).

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]