April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Space Imperator

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: The Web (HTML5) version has serious incompatibilities with most browsers. Please use the Java version if you can.

Conquer the galaxy and become the Space Imperator! Attack planets, and then hit them with drop pods to conquer them.

Controls - Universal

U - Upgrade Ship
G - Launch Drop Pod (Costs 25 Credits)
Left Click - Fire Bolts
Right Click - Fire Missile (Costs 10 Credits)
W - Accelerate
S - Decelerate
F1 - View Help

Controls - Fighter

A - Strafe Left
D - Strafe Right

Controls - Capital Ship

A - Turn Left
D - Turn Right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Fun3.60
#121Overall3.56
#197Mood3.12
#299Graphics3.16
#368Innovation3.08
#383Audio2.58
#516Humor2.08
#656Theme2.56
#670Coolness47%

Comments

wibblymat says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:04pm

Crashes about 10 seconds in every time on the Java version. The web version keeps running in Chrome, but no ships or planets are drawn.

Couldn't play so no rating.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:46am

works ok but no sound (not sure if there' ssupposed to be any)

SrFenixon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:40pm

What a game!! Really liked it, the effect of the stars while moving are really great.

jplur says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:12am

Love these kinds of games, solid implementation for 48 hours, would like to play an extended version!

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:50am

Fun game. Didn't see much reason to use missiles though.

voxel says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:06pm

had some pretty bad stuttering when things got hectic but otherwise really nice

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Controls are difficult to master, it feels like side movement is inverted.

In the instructions screen blue letters with black background are difficult to read.

With better controls I think it would be more fun :)

Jerm says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:15am

Was difficult to get into at first because the controls are really awkward (I never mastered the controls, but was able to avoid dying long enough to take over a planet). But once I got into it it was quite fun.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:38am

This was a great game once I got into it. The controls were a little hard to master, but once I did, I played all the way through. Getting bigger and better ships was a really nice touch

I think this game would have more comments if the very beginning of the game was a little more welcoming. Maybe some tutorial levels or something?

I'd love to see more of this game. More involved upgrades would be cool, and maybe defending the planets you own against hostile invaders? You have a great platform that can be expanded in so many ways here.

This is a little self-promotion, but I'd love it if you put this game on the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com

jmaasing says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 8:29am

A bit difficult to control but otherwise really nice, enjoyed this.

trylle says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:58am

Great game. Played it all the way through. Graphics were pretty cool; love this particular vector art style. A lot of content for a 48 hr game.

Missiles did seem to struggle a lot with objects simply moving at a constant rate, would spin around rather than hit (probably not predicting the movement of the object). Controls did take a while to get used to. I think I would have liked to see the tiny part of the theme emphasized a bit more in this game, too.

Mago says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 12:34pm

Works OK for me in jar version. Very interesting and fun game. At the beginning it was hard to me to properly shoot drones but I get used to it.

namuol says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Nice work!

The controls for the fighter kept throwing me off -- probably because I'm used my own wonky controls -- but eventually I got the hang of it and started upgrading my ship. Once I got to a capital ship I started kicking ass.

I'm curious about the experimental web version -- what library did you use to get it to (almost) work in both Java and HTML5?

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:08pm

The web version makes Firefox crash :(

Sheep says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:27pm

That's a pretty cool game. Good job :)

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Superfun!

quadtree says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:06pm

@namuol I used Google's PlayN library. I did a little more research afterwards, and it looks like its something about WebGL causing the problem. If you turn off WebGL in Chrome, it is at least playable, and it works in IE10 too.

I also noticed that I forgot to post the source. I'll get it up as soon as I can, which will probably be Monday :(

xBlinkedx says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Wow this is actually really cool, I love the graphics and the atmosphere. The controls were a bit tricky but I think that was intentional.

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:50pm

could not launch the jar file on my mac

May 13, 2012 @ 6:51pm

A good game, when it works. Overall it worked well.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]