April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Furaingu Ki

by RiamuDiMentis - Jam Entry

Windows release is really just the source. In one nice little .py I'll work on getting it ported ASAP

Instructions: Get the red things, avoid the laser, and the trees.

Python comes pre-installed on Mac, for linux there's a version (Kinda) on this page:
http://www.python.org/download/other/

Download Python:
http://python.org/ftp/python/2.7.3/python-2.7.3.msi

Download Pygame:
Windows: http://pygame.org/ftp/pygame-1.9.1.win32-py2.7.msi

Mac: http://pygame.org/ftp/pygame-1.9.1release-python.org-32bit-py2.7-macosx10.3.dmg

Ubuntu and others:http://pygame.org/download.shtml (Scroll down a bit)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Humor(Jam)2.80
#116Audio(Jam)2.93
#184Mood(Jam)2.38
#196Fun(Jam)2.31
#230Overall(Jam)2.27
#230Innovation(Jam)2.00
#230Theme(Jam)2.20
#237Graphics(Jam)2.06
#723Coolness44%

Comments

tompudding says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:54pm

The music was cool, as was the beam sound effect. I felt like power-ups that made me go faster actually had the effect of making it harder to control.

Jungorend says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

I love the music! It's very atmospheric.

johnfn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

First things first - I'm pretty sure you need to compose your own music rather than using someone else's, so you might want to get rid of the music here. (Not 100% sure for the Jam - someone want to correct me?)

Nice game though! Simple and straightforward and pretty fun. Good work. My highest score was 12k. Stuff starts getting pretty tricky towards the end!

I would really encourage you to package up your game with p2exe: http://www.py2exe.org/. Most Ludum Darers are allergic to figuring out how to get python and pygame working, and py2exe alleviates this worry ;-) I in fact did this for my game, so if you have any questions or bugs, let me know.

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:15pm

Ah, darn... I wasn't thinking there, since he puts his things in public domain... >.< Anyone have anymore input?

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:17pm

"Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them." Does public domain music fall into that?

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:04am

"For Jam games, you are free to use whatever artwork or content you like (preferably something you have the legal rights to), but you must accept all responsibility for its use."

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:14am

Okay, great, that clears things up. Kevin Macleod only requests that I give him credit. Which I did! Boo-Yah! Thanks Transmit.

dxdydz says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:32am

Nice. Could've used some more sound effects, maybe, but the gameplay seemed fairly tight and solid.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:16am

Liked the relaxing background music and overall concept/game play. Movement of the planet is a bit too predictable.

Gets you hooked though. Especially after johnfn announced his high score and I desperately tried breaking it without success :)

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:18pm

hurry with the porting to .exe plz, elsewise here on windows i can't play :( (and i don't want to install python)

royvanrijn says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I don't have windows, couldn't test.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:49am

I'm on Linux, and there's a couple things I had to do to get your game to run. I had to disable the music. Why not consider using pygame's built-in music module rather than mp3play? Also, I had to rename some of the files because capitalization matters on Linux systems. The music was well chosen. Kevin Macleod's stuff is great.

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:24am

The reason being for mp3play, was simply because I forgot pygame can play mp3s, and I used mp3play before I used pygame... So, yeah. Sorry about the capitalization too. On another note, I'm working on the .exe but I've been really sick... Maybe Nick wants to work on it? (Wink wink, nudge nudge)

demonpants says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:50pm

Can you make binaries please? I refuse to launch Python code - you py developers every compo seem to expect everyone to compile your code. Why is it such a difficulty to make an executable?

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:21pm

:C Unfortunately I cannot play this on my mac.

Good luck for this Ludum Dare though! I hope whatever happens you're happy with your game!

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:17am

@demonpants listen, I'm trying very hard not to be angry here. But I'll do my best to explain myself. First off, you don't need to compile my code, you install python, you install pygame, and it runs, kay? Secondly, I don't EXPECT you to DO anything. If you have the capability to a) run .py with pygame or b) run two installers, then I would be happy to get your ratings, and feedback. And, it's proven difficult to make an .exe for me because, I've been sick (as I said above) and also, because the instructions aren't clear, and I just haven't gotten it working. My apologies, but if you had read above, you would've known these things. Thank you for your input, and I'll be sure to learn how to make an .exe, so people who "refuse to launch Python code" can give some appropriate feedback on my game. I'm sorry that I'm only 14, and I can't yet figure out everything that you great programmers can do. Thanks for your time though.

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:28am

Couldn't run on linux.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:49pm

It feels like inverse "space invaders". Quiet difficult to stay alive.

Gunmonkey says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:11am

no windows :(

cantorfew says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:53pm

I have the same comments as Cosmologicon. I've uploaded my version of the source here (for anyone else on Linux):

http://www.fileden.com/files/2012/4/22/3295546/Furaingu%20ki.py

The game itself could use a bit more variation though.

RiamuDiMentis says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:38am

Oh man, thanks for the linux changes. I actually don't know why it was taking "LASER.png" when the image file is "laser.png" on Windows... It shouldn't have done that. That "LASER.png" was an alternate image before we changed it... Sorry. Thanks for the great input. This has been a really great first experience.

schnerble says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:20pm

Doesn't work for me on Linux (Ubuntu 10.04 64 with pygame installed):

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "Furaingu ki.py", line 9, in <module>
import pygame, random, sys, mp3play
File "/tmp/Furaingu Ki_Distro/mp3play/__init__.py", line 6, in <module>
raise Exception("mp3play can't run on your operating system.")
Exception: mp3play can't run on your operating system.

Something you might find useful for next time: pygame can play .ogg files itself, so using that format probably would have avoided this problem :)

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:45am

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Cannot play, don't have access to windows box :(

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]