Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Rat Conquest - Canard Sauvage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Java-Applet

My first game and my first Ludum Dare ;) Thanks for playing!

Tools used:
- Paint.Net + Animation-Plugin
- Bfxr / Aviary Music Creator (http://advanced.aviary.com/)
- Eclipse / Java 1.6

The game:
- Arrow-Keys to move
- You can grow, if you eat, but you can only eat enemies of your size

View Canard Sauvage's journal. | View all entries by Canard Sauvage

Ratings

Coolness87%
#311Graphics3.13
#320Humor2.45
#449Mood2.66
#500Audio2.30
#535Overall2.80
#548Fun2.61
#603Innovation2.57
#621Theme2.62

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

I always love eat to grow games, the graphics are good too. I think the gameplay is slightly too slow though, maybe make the player progress faster?

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

I really enjoyed this game. It does however take far to long to increase your size the first time through. Not to mention you are moving extremely slow. But the game concept really comes through, and I liked it overall.

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:07pm

I didn't have the patience to eat enough to grow to the next size, I think if there were more humans and you moved faster, that wouldn't be a problem. Dodge-bullets-and-eat-humans looks like it would be more fun when you're bigger and there's lots of bullets to dodge.

uberneen says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:46pm

Grow games rock. I have to agree that it moves a little slow.
Nice work!

Kvisle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:47pm

I like this. Given some tweaks and balancing as far as speed goes, both for your character and your enemies - can make this game quite fun.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Wish it were a little faster. I want to grow big quicker. Like the graphics.

deepnight says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:13pm

The movement of the rat is a bit slow : the game may feel better with a faster initial movement.

Also, I died after hitting a house, while I was full-life? Maybe a bug because I died previously (something not initialized properly)?

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Thanks for playing :) You get faster when you grow, maybe the game is a little bit to hard, because I adjusted the movement speed to make it harder.

@deepnight: Strange, normally everything gets recreated after you die. Was there anything else near you? But nevertheless, it's to late for bugfixing ;)

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Yeah, I found the starting speed a little slow, too. I couldn't dodge bullets or eat enough to advance.

If there's anything I've learned today, it's to err on the side of speed (I think my game is a touch too slow too).

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:23pm

GROWWWWWWWW. Liked the pixel texturing quite a bit.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:27pm

I like what you did with the graphic style, but the creature moves really slowly and music loop is too short.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:49pm

@ratbiy2715: The sound file is a 2 MByte wav, the actual song was like 3 times as long, but was 6 MB, so I need to cut it down :/ Next time I will try something else as sound-framework, I used the standard Java Sound API, but some ogg-files would be better.

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:53pm

it would have been actually pretty good game if not for the incredible slowness of movement... it gets boring really fast.

Darien says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:20pm

I concur that initial movement is too slow. Other than that, though, I liked it!

orgarus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:26pm

I played until the end (I wanted to see the "really gigantic" rat >:( )
Meanwhile the first rat was slow in the third evolution I really enjoyed (haha, come here legged sandwitches!)
Of the graphic side I like especially the border land combined with the starry background.
The music is a bit repetitive but ¡what the hell! at least there's music, most of the games I've played until now (mine included) have not music.

So, I congratulate for a good work!

Cheers!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:02am

It is nice, but the game is far too slow. I gave up when I died the first time

bitslap_ says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Overall i like this, could be a bit faster though.

blob says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Simple but fun gameplay. Basically fight and level up but its rewarding and getting revenge on the military is nice.
Problems are:
* Rat is really slow in the beginning
* You always face left or right so its way more dangerous to attack enemies from top or bottom because you cant evade the bullets as well.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:52pm

A bit too slow for my liking both in progression speed and general movement speed. Looks like it had quite a lot of potential but I get a bit too annoyed at the slow movement so I didn't get very far.

R3ason says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:17am

well that was kinda trippy :D Loved the death screen! Btw, were those humans I was eating? Lol. Congrats on finishing LD and making a game!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Thanks for playing :) Yeah, these were humans :D The brown ones were actually kittens... At first they were white, but looked like bunnys. Then I found an image of a brown cat and this was my try to get it into 6x6 pixels ;)

invaderJim says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:31pm

+1,000,000 for Kittens.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:28am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
This was a cool concept but the movement was way too slow for my personal taste. Not much more to say than that sorry!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:06am

Everything moves really, really, slowly and makes the already-slow player progression even slower. If the game was quick, then it would be a really fast-paced and cute little ROTMG style game.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:19pm

This looks great, but faster movement would have done wonders for the game, it's really slow now.

demonpants says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:15pm

I kept eating and eating and nothing was happening. Also the music got grating quickly. Good work on the graphics though.

Endurion says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Nice idea, but hopelessly slow.

Nevertheless, feasting on the military is a good feeling after all the trouble they've given me. However in the bigger stages the hit you receive is feels too long.

Still, nice one!

johanp says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 6:04am

Waaaay to slow to keep my interest up. But it looks pretty. :)

May 6, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Thank you all for the feedback :) After I played the game today after two weeks I really must say - it really just feels way to slow :D

domrein says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 6:50pm

I have no idea what's going on, but I really like the textured pixel graphics.

May 8, 2012 @ 6:55pm

Loved the graphics. Did not love the slow movement/progression. I gave up after I got shot INTO a bulding, killing me off.

guzzungo says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:04pm

Notched! With R.O.U.S.!! Gorgeous!!!

envy3d says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:40am

I really liked the art style.

Oye Beto says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:49am

It moves too slow :(
I think it would be more fun if it were faster.

I liked the graphics in game because they look like an old pc game. The menu graphics could be improved.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]