Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Rockland - jeroenimooo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yay! my first ludum dare done and in time :D
I think i did a pritty good job, i know java for 8 months now. so what i did i think is ok. i had no time/energy left to add sounds. also some things where a little bit rushed.
Can't wait till the next ludum dare!

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Left click - Shoot
Right click reload
Q - toggle hide hole

How to start:
Download the jar. click it. have fun.

How to win:
Get 100 coins. you will have a quite big pile.
Do not get hit by bird to often or you'll die. cruel world.

Please rate and if you have time and can look in the source please do so and say what was good/what i could have done beter. thanks!

Tools:
java + eclipse + paint.net + lwjgl and jarsplice to combine it into 1 jar.

I hope you like it :)

View jeroenimooo's journal. | View all entries by jeroenimooo

Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Humor2.83
#264Theme3.33
#468Fun2.74
#549Overall2.78
#577Graphics2.61
#657Mood2.31
#677Innovation2.41
#744Audio1.29

Comments

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 9:26pm

You win when you have 100 coins, that is a big pile.
Also i forgot to mention that the birds will also try to take away coins, so try shooting the lower birds!

Flyboy says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:48am

This game is alright. The mechanic is really repetitive, and the difficulty doesn't really scale well. I got overwhelmed by a swarm of like 30 birds shortly in. I like the graphics, but it would've greatly benefited from sound.

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:49am

Game won't start, just crashes on startup (Mac)

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:53am

@Graham, i was scared that would happen, i will see if i can fix it :s

Cyboot says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:43am

The Game is not bad, especially if you know the programming language for less than a year.
I like the Idea of the floating island.

But you should really use a FPS limit. I don't like my graphicscard screaming at 5000 FPS ;)

robashton says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48am

Having the same problem as Graham, can't find main class in the jar - I'll try on Linux when I get home

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:02am

Yeah i think lwjgl does not find the jars needed, only on windows. i will try if i can add a bat file to start, or something like that.

Shephiroth says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:23am

you had a problem with natives there. For mac player, you need to get the good natives .so
Both systems mac and linux use .so files, but natives are not the same.
Hope you didnt mixed them and grabbed all linux natives.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29am

@Shephiroth Yeah i fisrt tried exporting the jar using the natives wich linux user would have to use, though setting the natives folder in eclipse didn't affect the exported jar. with the linux exported jar i could still play if the dll's for windows where in that folder, i test some things when i get back home

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:55am

Works on Win7. I like the graphics - too bad there's no sound (next time use bfxr, autotracker-bu, or anything, just for blips and stuff), but overall it's a pretty nice entry. Congrats! Oh yeah - intro animations are cool, but it would've been nice if I could skip the intro text.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Kinda repetitive, especially considering the lofty goal. Not being able to shoot while you reload is a little bit frustrating.
I like the setting, though, and the way you interpreted the theme. One of the best in that particular area for me, so far.

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:44pm

Game didn't start for me (Linux).

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:53pm

a readme for windows would be nice, I can't seem to get it to run.

Tumaini says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:58pm

Perhaps you could include an .sh file for Linux.
This should do:
java -Djava.library.path=. -jar Rockland.jar
I really like that you used Java though, as it's cross platform! There are tons of games here I can't play on Linux (mostly Unity ones).
Overall a pretty well made and scoped game in line with the theme.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:45pm

I just got home, i will now add a linux and mac, i think i know how :)

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Okay, i added (hopefully) working linux and mac jars. if anybody has a mac or linux pc please tell me if it did work, thanks!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

I found an extra key. The "E" to generate BIRDS hasdihaid
Cool game!

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

linux build works, your file host is stripping the download file extension though, the file that downloads is a rar file so just
unrar x RocklandGame_linux
then
java -jar Rockland_linux.jar

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:51pm

@Raptop85 Yeha the only rpoblem is that it needs the resource folder, wich is inside the .zip with the jar, i also have a .sh folder, though im not sure if it works yet.

matheus23 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Nice Game,
I really liked, it was done in LWJGL, that gave me up to 500 fps :P, but I found it really hard to concentrate on both the upper ones and the lower ones and I didn't got, how to make a phone call... Also, after loosing, I want to be able to skip the "introduction"...

netmute says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Couldn't get this to run on OSX :(

Mysterarts says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:01pm

Hello,
Sorry but the jar crashes on startup on my mac :(

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Sorry but i can't get the mac version fixed, sorry :s i added all the lwjgl native files for mac but it doesn't works :s

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:28pm

I won! Points for being really weird and random. Enjoyed my time. Thanks :-)

brus46 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:12pm

I liked the idea of being on an little flying island.
I had some difficult in playing, sometimes I couldn't shoot even if i was full of ammo.
Btw good job, +1 for linux compatibility :)

Zyll says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Fun game.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:48pm

Works for me (Windows 7). The birds taking away the resource you are collecting is clever.

I'd like a way to skip the intro text, though!

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:49pm

@brus46 Yeah getting it to linux was hard ;p but it works now, though mac doesn't. but linux is already a victory enough :D

Norgg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Not bad, though there's a bug where dead birds keep on dropping coins if you shoot them.

ben says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Hilarious, i laughed at the "all birds have coins!!!"

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:00am

LOL I got it to work this time and it's a funny little game! are those little falling things bird poop xD

vigrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:54am

Dude, the dude is nude. That's rude!

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:25am

Not a bad game - only thing I would change, really is maybe speeding up the intro.

Good job!

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:31am

It seems i can't edit my post :/ I was working on some updates on the game, they are just for fun and are not the ones you should base your vote on. Windows link for the updates version: http://bit.ly/Rockland_Update1 Atm updates will be windows only. sorry

Fireblend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:48pm

This was fun! It ran without any issue at all on my Windows PC :) love the graphics, and the whole "being in a tiny floating island with a phonebooth" thing was pretty funny.

shaunxcode says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:50pm

bird poop. bird poop everywhere. I liked this, needs some splat sounds.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:57pm

Ok, Now im 100% done linux works, os/x works, and windows works. Yay!

CuberToy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Great overall, but kinda inequal graphics (Some stuff are really great, some other a little less). But I enjoyed it !

Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Congratulations for this cool game. The graphical style and all the animations of the interface is very well done. Also the idea and the story is very funny.

Did you use plain Java for this?

Concerning the sounds I would highly recommend you: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html - it's extremely helpful!

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:40pm

@quixotic-project Nope this is done with lwjgl, i also have the sfxr tool, the only problem was i had 2 hours left, and i have never used OpenAl before, i ahd the tutorials, but i was to tired ;p

Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Nice art style, groovy concept with the whole tiny floating island in the sky. There's a game start, gameplay and an ending which is all cool and a scoring system in play somewhere behind the scenes. I died the first couple of times then found my strategy to get the money and won, huzzah! Sound would make this game more complete but hey, this is LD ,there's only 48 hours and a dudes gotta sleep right? Look forward to seeing your next LD :)

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:33pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
This game could have really benefitted from audio. Other than that it was a decent, short and to the point game. Difficulty was fairly well balanced. I think I got through on my first go with very little HP remaining. The opening animation with the text was a little slow to the point where it was annoying but not enough to skip. Overall not a bad game :)

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:33pm

fun. is there a way to shoot the birds that doesn't involve clicking the 'bullets'?

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:41pm

@omaha What do you mean? the only way to kill the birds atm is shooting the bullets at them. i wanted to add more weapons, but yeah, i wanted to add so many more things ;p

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:14am

That was surprisingly fun! Some aspects weren't really clear, but once I figured it out, I had fun.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:48am

Wacky! I missed the text on how to reload the first time, but then I figured it out.

Clicky clicky. Hey! Why am i taking it for granted that the nude dude on a floating rock drops coins when the birds poop on him?? Lol.

NefariousZhen says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:12am

Solid gameplay =)

Moth says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:30am

This was funny! I really like the bizarre concept. The reserved pacing of the introductory text I felt was quite artful, and also highly amusing once it was contrasted with the main character being a stout little naked dude! :P

It's a fun turret defensey style game! I liked learning about balancing out shots and reloading earlier to ensure I had a full clip when I needed it! I will say that I think the inability to shoot while reloading adds a good bit of strategy to it. I don't know hardly any java at all so unfortunately I can't give you any code advice, but I will say that I like the way you have the art assets moving around at the title sequence :) Nice frictional motion there!

For critique I would just point out the player gets 'stuck' a little bit when you're on the bottom of the island while it floats up- moving the player at the same time would probably fix this I think! It's nothing that decreases the fun of the game though, of course, as it's quite trivial. :)

The game over all is quite humorous and stylized in both its presentation (textually and visually) and in its gameplay. I'll be checking out your ludum dare stuff to come for sure! :)

Skulls says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:38am

Decent gameplay, the different elements worked well together although it could be a bit repetitive. Overall a very solid jam entry.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:47am

@skulls It is a compo entry :p But thanks :)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Good little game. Lots of fun!

ghRibacki says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:40am

Funny game! Very simple and straight.

BenW says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:04am

It could use some sound effects, and pants....

dukope says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:08am

The slow reloading was confusing, especially without sounds. And the rock ammo HUD reads backwards to me. The X stands out more than the grey square. Finally, I expected hiding the hole would prevent the birds from stealing, but it had no effect.

Visuals were cute though and I liked the intro text. No problem running on OSX.

Tifu says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:29am

The goal didn't seem that high to me, seemed about right in terms of difficulty/time in my opinion. Like others say, sounds would have been great, and the reload thing - the way it appears on screen it looks like you should be able to fire while reloading, some text below the ammo saying "reloading" or something would have helped with that little bit of confusion for me :D Fun game

deepnight says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Nice game :) I couldn't use WASD controls with my AZERTY keyboard : please think about adding ARROWS as alternative controls :)

invaderJim says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:10am

I love the graphics and the motion of it all. Never wanted to make a phone call more in my life!

Awennor says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:15am

I like this!

But you could have either made reloading automatic (taking time but without the need to press a button) or made it less punishing (less time for it load?), to make things more pleasant

Although it was still well balanced, nice job

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Strange, and with promising mechanics such as slow reloading, not being able to shoot until fully reloaded, and birds stealing money back, but the devil's in the details and things like difficult-to-see bird poop and a clip size that means you wait a frustratingly long time to reload sometimes makes the experience half of what it could've been. Despite this it's not terrible overall, so good job, but try brushing up on game design concepts

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:23pm

Looks nice! But I never got to make that call because the birds kept stealing my money!

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Well-balanced and fun! Great imagery, sense of composition.

Datamosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 5:45pm

The theme and art are really good! Liked it. Using Windows 7, so no problems here.

Yapikom says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:45am

Doesn't work for me. I get like 1 FPS on titlescreen (Windows 7 java 7).

Hume says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Ok. Awesome concept. I really wanted to finish, because I bet your sense of humour made a funny ending.

I didn't finish because the reload is slow. SO slow. And birds can poop on you from so low that you don't even know they're doing it.

I really like this. High marks for fun, theme, humor, etc. I wish I had been able to finish.

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:30am

Sometimes I could not shoot but there was no obvious reason...

May 7, 2012 @ 11:27am

Funny little game, desperately needs sounds, couldn't tell when I was getting hurt or when I was done reloading. The highest I got to was 70...

May 9, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Funny little game, could have used some sounds to make reloading, damage taking and etc more clear. It was pretty fun, I didn't find partically hard, just focus on shooting birds that try steal coins and just avoid the ones pooping on you. Nice game, good job!

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:09pm

I really liked the graphics, and the game is cool, but I wasn't engaged enough to continue playing to 100.

Dramble says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Laughed at the opening, loves the art.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 1:13am

Does 100% in coolness mean you played all 1402 games?!

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]