April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Space Jumper

by lucars83 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Left & Right arrow to move
Space jumps
You can double jump.

Jump from planet to planet to reach the top.

My first Ludum Dare. I hoped to do more, but I'm happy with what I did, and their is always next time.

Built with XNA & Flat Red Ball
Sound Effects created with sfxr
Music created with Circuli

Installer Removed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#429Audio2.48
#506Mood2.58
#584Theme2.70
#715Innovation2.30
#732Fun2.24
#748Humor1.50
#803Overall2.30
#834Graphics1.97

Comments

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:04am

Found the collision detection to be a bit wonky - needing to install / uninstall is kinda annoying too. Game was reasonably fun though.

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:22am

Definitely would've preferred to not have to go through install/uninstall, liked the rotating planets to jump through.

YMM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:20am

Can you upload an EXE version so we don't have to install please?

spacerumpus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:26am

Maybe i'm missing something, but i can only seem to jump up and move around, but not enough to get to the next planet? Also, it seems like i could run into the main yellow planet rather easily from an edge. Could be neat, but i cant seem to accomplish the objective.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:19pm

34MB?! Not sure how it ended up so big, but...

Not a bad little game. Some of the ideas, like the planet with the moon, were quite original.

lucars83 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:49pm

I removed the installer, and re-compressed it so it is only 25MB, not sure why it is even that big.

Thanks everyone for trying it out.

demonpants says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:35pm

I know this is in XNA, but any chance to get a Mac port via mono? Or can I run the exe with mono?

Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Collisions are bit wonky, but othwewise it was okay, graphics could have been bit bigger so accurate jumping would have been easier. Nice music, good job!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Backgroundmusic and jumping sound okay. The second level was too hard (didn't get it) and there are some "technical" issues:
- I expect to stay on flying things
- sometimes the collision with things is buggy
- you "hopping" on things and if you press jumping at the wrong time, you can't double jump afterwards

I program with XNA, too - and I made the same installer-fail last Ludum Dare xD
Another tip: If you want to publish here on a Ludum Dare event, just copy the Content-directory and the exe-file (and the dlls of your framework). Creating the "publish" things like manifest or ".application" is not needed.

Keep going, we need more XNA guys here :D

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:42pm

I got a little bit of vertigo at times. xD Not bad - I like the feel for sure.

Tokken18 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:45am

Mac only here. Can't run. For shame.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Okay - some things that should have been corrected were the collision detection and that you couldn't stay with the flying blocks, especially for a jumping game.

character says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Kick arse! Game was fun but too short. Gimme some mo'!

Valeour says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Could have been better, but that's not to say it wasn't good. I enjoyed it, but it could have used quite a few upgrades, like a scrolling background. Good attempt.

Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:09pm

Good game, I think that it could be made even better if you can move with moving objects and planets had a bit of gravity to them. Then maybe make a few more easier levels at the beginning.

hungyg says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:14am

sound was annoying...

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:33am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Not part of my rating but in future jams you may want to look into the size of your file. Some people rate hundreds of games and internet cap begins to be a bit of an issue. Sorry if this comes across as blunt.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:48pm

can't test, requires XNA4 which does not run on linux under WINE

geekygenius says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 12:17am

Wow. I was really in a trance when I was playing this game. That's a good thing ;)

Syntaxide says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:13am

Fun little platformer. The background certainly made me feel small. After the first level, I wasnt sure if it had just restarted or if it was another level. Some sort of indication would have been nice.

Super Soul says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:18am

Really liked the orbiting planets, having to use those as platforms. Wish I could play a more refined version, alas 48 hours is so little time. Nice job!

egerlach says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Fun game. Controls could have been tighter, and I got stuck in the maze on the 3rd level. Really liked the idea, though.

JellyFame says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Cannot play, don't have access to windows.

schnerble says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:56pm

The sound was pretty cool, and the feel of the music suited the relaxing game style well. My biggest confusion was just that the gravity system didn't really make sense to me - jumping from planet to planet with gravity pulling straight down seemed unusual. Still good for some relaxing jumping around.

Daz says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Doesn't work for me. A little too late to be really looking into fixes, but I'm pretty sure I have every .NET and XNA under the sun installed.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: LD23.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4f94815e
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17651
Fault Module Timestamp: 4e211319
Exception Code: e0434352
Exception Offset: 0000b9bc
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]