Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

GRIDiots - Taugeshtu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GRIDiots is a sandbox, taking place in the GPU.
Disassemble some blocks, gain blocks and vertices, build a converter and conver vertices into tris.
You could also convert tris into quads and quads into spheres.

Unfortunately, Turret isn't working, but savespot (Storage) is!
There's one "hidden" recepie, and several non-functioning objects (such as Battery, which was supposed to power devices).

Also you could kill gridiots and get their drop - byte pack.

Controls:
WASD + Spacebar = movement;
LMB = destroy/shoot (select vertex for shooting);
RMB = build;
1-6 = select tool;

Escape = escape.

View Taugeshtu's journal. | View all entries by Taugeshtu

Ratings

#94Graphics3.87
#152Mood3.22
#275Audio2.86
#493Overall2.87
#514Theme2.87
#533Innovation2.70
#641Fun2.43
#645Humor1.81
#723Coolness44%

Comments

ratking says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:03am

Interesting graphics, and really nice idea for the setting.
Unfortunately, the character controller is a PITA and ruins the exploration a little bit. Other than that, very nice work!

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:40am

Thanks) I know that's a big fault, but couldn't find a time to improove it...

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Interesting, but i can't do much.
Character controller has to be fix for better experience :)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Next time I'll make a descent one :D Thanks for feedback!

Have you tried to build Converter?
Select vertices (2), look at help (h) and place them (RMB) as shown on picture.

Then put come vertices in the converter (place them between it's pillars, as quad and tris are placed on 2nd screenshot) - and it will convert them into new resources!

Then you'll be able to build batteries, and if you'll kill some gridiots and collect byte packs - even turret statues and save point!

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:03pm

It ran too slow on every setting.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:31pm

I know it could be optimized, but I had no time for that...

I should use vertex shaders for moving vertices in terrain, not CPU.

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Good idea and nice look but it's not quite there yet.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Yes, it suffers from lack of polish :D

I'm thinking about making scale-up version of that concept, to be honest... It could be very fun to make it.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:37am

Charming graphics, gameplay and controls could have used some more polish, but overall very good job!

Jedi says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:25pm

I'm keeping my promise from IRC, Tau. Yours is even the first game I'm reviewing. Feel free to return the favor :D.

The graphics are awesome! The 3D audio is really good too, although it gets repetitive. After I finally figured out how to build that converter, hearing the music for the first time was awesome! The glow and translucency are really cool and the attention to mood is quite good.

The controls are more than a little clunky right now, though. Jumping is very difficult and clunky and it's exacerbated by the levels (I'm pretty sure they're random?) tending to have a lot of height variance.

I could never understand the shooting mechanic, except that it seemed like I could only shoot on setting 2 but the ammo and whatnot was a mystery. Most of the time I just couldn't shoot. I never could kill one of those gridiots but God, did I try...

Anyways, once the controls are polished it will be a very fun sandbox! Having an in-game tutorial / goals would also be nice.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Thanks you A LOT for your feedback, Jedi!)
You're completely right about controls and stuff, and maaaaaybe I'll make a post-compo version (God, Cube World is inspiring)

I know it's too late, but here's an explaination on shooting:
1. It works when you select 2nd item
AND
2. You have to hear sounds. You can't shoot when it's silent, so you have to build converter to be able to shoot)

I should make it more obvious, somehow... Maybe a hint system if player tries to shoot, but fails.

P.S. Now I'm gonna play YOUR game! Beware! :D

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:29pm

the8donut: thank you as well!
And Andrew...
And Suese...
And Lidfrid...
And ratking.

netmute says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Can't rate because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

sampyxis says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Love the graphics and mood. I really couldn't get a lot of controls to work - but really makes me want to play it more.

Would love to have music here to see how it goes with it.

Tourgen says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:53am

The graphics have a cool look. I though it fit the theme pretty well. The controls aren't great though.

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:44pm

@all: thank you :)
Netmute: I'll try to make a mac os build, but I have no mac to test it if it works...
Sampyxis: Think about minecraft crafting. Now imagine, that you could place two ingridients at one slot. Now think, that your crafting grid is floor. Tada! (Hold H for help in game)
Music plays when you build objects, for that you have to "craft" them on the floor.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Love the mood and setting of this one. Kind of like Tron meets Minecraft. Would like to see an expanded post-compo version of this one.

R3ason says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:18am

Hey, I like what you're doing with this! Essentially Tron + Minecraft, which is awesome in my book! Had a few minor issues with audio when I was converting things. If you put a bunch of stuff in the converter at once, it just makes a dull noise/rumbling, like it's playing the same sound effect hundreds of times...other than that, the music and graphics were outstanding! I'd say go to the next step with this, branch out even more from Minecraft, and make an awesome game! Will bookmark in order to check back later for updates. Thanks!

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:59am

I really like your graphics, reminds me a bit of Tron. The controls lack polish though, it was kinda frustrating to move around with your character.

May 1, 2012 @ 2:02am

How do you kill a GRIDiot? Ive been shooting them for hours while on top of a green tower I crafted with tool 5 and tool 2 but none seem to die, or even take damage!

Taugeshtu says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:52am

Uhm... Well, it's not well-balanced :D So I suppose killing is really hard. Had no time to tune it right, sorry.

Thank you all for kind words, I think I'll make a post-compo build once I'm done with my main game (MindSpace) and then decide if it worth full-size attention :)

May 1, 2012 @ 4:16pm

Thanks, and great work! I'm really enjoying it!

moonmagic says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:43pm

I really enjoyed the graphics, and once I figured out the converter, the music was a lovely reward. I found shooting a bit frustrating, and I think that generally the game would benefit from having a lot more visual and audio feedback about the appropriateness of player actions (even bleeps when attempting to do something impossible would help); as it is, there aren't very many indicators that something is possible, and this game has a lot of really interesting possible actions.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]