Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny's World - tacograveyard - Jam Entry

PLAY WITH SOUND! Don't use IE. Please use Safari if at all possible.

Tiny Tim is singing on the town green. The girl of his dreams isn't feeling it. But slowly, with your help, Tiny's infectious song spreads through his little town and it even pierces his love's heart. Come tiptoe through the tulips with Tiny Tim in "Tiny's World" by Taco Graveyard!

Made using CraftyJS.

*Edit* I posted a version with improved performance for those using browsers other than Safari. There was a particular bit added in for Safari compatibility that was wreaking havoc on other browsers.

*Edit* Here is the full soundtrack from the game: http://soundcloud.com/the-four-hats/sets/ludum-dare-23-tinys-world

View tacograveyard's journal. | View all entries by tacograveyard

Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Audio(Jam)4.08
#23Mood(Jam)3.63
#25Humor(Jam)3.63
#32Innovation(Jam)3.68
#63Graphics(Jam)3.86
#65Theme(Jam)3.37
#67Overall(Jam)3.41
#113Fun(Jam)2.83

Comments

Hume says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:15am

High marks. A goal you can really feel good about! I liked the message of spreading the music from person to person.

As noted on the web page, I did have performance problems in the late part of the game (including disappearing bitmaps; the background on the page included -- this was Chrome 18/OS X). But I was able to finish and the game was highly enjoyable throughout.

Innovative, good story, right on theme, great graphics. Good jam, guys. I look forward to checking out your other work.

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:30am

Nice take on the theme, made me smile!

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:37am

Really cool theme. The art was neat. A little hard to stand Tiny Tim for that long. I lost background artwork partway through - turned into white and gray patches - but otherwise it went well. Creative and interesting, if not adrenaline-pumping. Nice work!

Sodaware says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:27pm

I love the idea! Had some serious performance problems after a few minutes, but the core game idea was really neat. At first I thought I had to walk through tulips or something to collect them, but then I bumped into someone and it all became clear. Nicely done!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:43pm

There are some serious issues with performance. If you can use Safari, I highly recommend it. The game runs much much smoother in it. After some rest I will look into the performance issue and post a second (non-comp) version for anyone who wants to play it.

lasseastrup says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:06pm

I can not give enough praise to the audio. Epic! as for the game itself i quite liked it - I had some graphical issues with the ground disappearing but other then that i enjoyed it :)

shaunxcode says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:09pm

controls were a bit buggy/intermittent for me but I liked the concept (though I agree that voice is hard to take for more than a few minutes haha)

Daniel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:10pm

pretty good, and cute ending

MurrayL says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:17pm

My only suggestion would be some way of easily finding where people are who you haven't 'met' yet. Once I was down to one or two people left it was very difficult to find them!

derosa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Lovely idea. Took me a time to get it, but finally got they fall in love :)

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:02am

very unique game.
Its very cheerful and nice :)

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:07am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Cool idea and cute little story. Gameplay wasn't for me though, and the music did get a bit annoying after awhile.
Ran the improved version in firefox and worked like a charm.

Rybar says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:17am

This was a refreshing change of pace in my ludum dare binge tonight. Fun idea, charming art, Horribly awful tulip song that made me laugh. A+

Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Love this - and the song.....THE SONG, OMG, THE SONG! It's so sweet and cuddly and I will pet him and play with him and name him George.

jami says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Rah, can't get this song out of my mind!

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:24pm

Interesting concept. The visuals were really nice. I had a really hard time finding everyone though and the controls were a bit jerky, but I think you fixed that in the improved version.

dwrensha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:25pm

nice

Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Ahaha, I thought this was hilarious, nice song and couldn't help but to grin while walking around the town. Good job!

Datamosh says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Really nice idea, love the whistling bit and the overall happy mood (it's Tiny Tim people, impossible not to be joyful and happy). Kind of repetitive, but I didn't mind :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Tiny Tim!!!! This is adorable. The controls were buggy for me, and it lagged A LOT in random intervals. (Using Chrome on Mac OS) I really liked Tiny Tim, so the music was so cute and the theme of the game fit it PERFECTLY. Very original game, I liked it a lot.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Thanks for all the feedback! If you are running Chrome or FF, you can use the link to the 'improved performance' version. There was a visual glitch in Safari that required us to put in place an ugly hack that ended up wreaking performance in other browsers. Anyway, inserted a conditional around the hack and everything behaved again.

edbadiux says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:16pm

Interesting concept with nice graphics. I had some glitches on my browser (chrome) but in general it was a nice experience.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Finally, a game based on "Fallen" with Denzel Washington. =)

You forgot to keep keypress events from bubbling up to the browser, so WASD trigger my typeahead find in Firefox instead of controlling the game. The fix is pretty easy, something like this: http://pastebin.com/tvzQqWxv

Since it was also *really* slow in Firefox, I gave it a shot in Chrome. Still a little slow, but playable.

My first time through, I thought I had to march everyone through the tulips, and then I thought I'd met everyone and failed to get some of them into the flowers, so I restarted the game. I figured it out the second time through. It'd be good to call a lot of attention to the flower bar when a flower disappears for the first time to really communicate the goal. And because you need to mentally keep track of whom you've seen, it would help if the character sprites were all unique.

I liked the ending. Very cute. Nice outro, too. I liked that one of the buildings was named after your LD handle.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:42pm

(cool to see another CraftyJS entry, too)

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:04pm

i think chrome and firefox would also be as good at running it as safari

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:51am

PIXEL^3, you would think so but unfortunately it isn't.

The problem was that Safari was leaving behind visual artifacts when sprites were disposed. In order to remedy this I created a transparent box over the problem areas to force those areas to be marked as dirty and redrawn. An ugly hack, but it with the lack of time to look into the root cause I left it in.

Turns out that creating these entities (4 in the intro and 3 per character transfer) caused a huge memory issue in Chrome & FF which eventually slows the game to a crawl. Again it doesn't make much sense, but I haven't read the Crafty source to see exactly what is happening.

The second version utilizes the user agent (usually a bad idea) to only create these in Safari and not in other browsers.

Will be interesting to see what is going on when I get a chance to read the CraftyJS source.

mildmogo, thanks! I disabled up & down, but missed WASD!

cadin says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:20pm

I really like the concept of passing the music from person to person. It got really hard to find the last couple of people. Impressive that this is all HTML. Great work!

Jhelle says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:21pm

Kudos for using HTML5 and making crazy music :).

Jiddo says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:23pm

Whoa! The first game which made me smile all the way through, the singing was great! I tiptoed through the tulips for a good few minutes before going around town, and it was a feelgood experience all the way :D

I can also add that I had little lag in firefox 11, nothing gamebreaking at all. Good job!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Interesting concept, I liked the graphics and the music was a good addition. I was a bit confused at first though but I really liked this game! :)

Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Performance issues. Cool idea! Really annoying song though.

basspenguin says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Cute

Martoon says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:01am

Really charming! I love the take on the theme.

derrickdool says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:15am

Concept reminds me of the Banana Phone vid, but happier.
Really liked this, cool concept.

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Aw, it was so sweet. I played the original and had some performance issues, as well as general unresponsiveness from the characters. It was really cool, though, made me smile. Release the song! I will turn it into my alarm tune to wake up every morning.

ehtd says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:50pm

I didnt knew what to expect, I liked the concept. Very Nice art and music.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:01pm

Wow, this was awesome. I didn't realize what I was supposed to be doing until I came back and read the comments, then I opened the game again and played the whole way through. You might make the goal a little move obvious, but then again, maybe that's part of the fun.

Where did you get the version of the song you used? I'm looking for it online, but all I can find are scratchy recordings. I'm trying to put together an LD23 soundtrack: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/05/12/games-with-awesome-songs/

Will Edwards says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:31pm

The poor performance and lack of conventional gamification did start to get to me, but the artwork and the audio was so top-notch this really leaves me with a positive impression and score anyhow, all performance glitches are forgiven :)

tacograveyard says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 8:23pm

KevinWorkman, we recorded both versions of the song that are in the game during LD. I just uploaded the tracks to soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/the-four-hats/sets/ludum-dare-23-tinys-world

machinas says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 9:57pm

well, that was grating. funny, interesting, thought-provoking, but still grating :) nice job!

Chaoseed says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Pretty sweet...in the sense that it made me go "Awww". Also, I liked that the world wrapped around; it made it feel like a space you could easily navigate without getting lost in. One thing that bothered me, though, is that it was hard to find people; you couldn't tell if you'd already whistled to someone without going up to them. Maybe have permanent "♪" balloons above their heads to make it easier to keep track? Also, the last guy was hiding behind a building, which didn't seem fair. It didn't help that I got about 1 fps. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]