April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

My Tiny Town

by hungyg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Despite this being my first Ludum Dare entry I am quite happy with it. All instructions are in the tutorial at the beginning.

Recommended browser is Opera, but pretty much anything else works just fine too. (Also tested in Firefox, Chrome and Internet Explorer. IE is definitely not recommended tho.)

I wanted to write more posts while making it. Maybe next time! ;) Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#145Audio3.20
#318Mood2.87
#353Overall3.11
#422Fun2.83
#456Graphics2.83
#493Theme2.93
#607Humor1.89
#651Innovation2.48

Comments

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Nice little game! with some additions it can become a real good sim game.

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:17pm

"The sea is your limit" Nice. I got to 400 coins before I had to get back to work. Well done!

hungyg says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:38pm

Thanks, that means a lot given that it's my very first entry :) And yes, it is kind of sim-city-ish

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:44pm

This was a great little sim! I wish it had some more building types, but I had enough fun making a city with what I had.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:48pm

works fine in firefox also

MrDanH says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:51pm

This made my lunch break a little bit happier

Gornova says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:52pm

nice, with some other work could be a nice little sim city

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Congrats on your first LD game! Nice job!

machinas says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:55am

nice to see some javascript. hit a few bugs with stuck cursor when dragging the screen around and a few times i couldn't pick a menu item. is there any back pressure or do you just go forever? congrats on your first game.

otaviogood says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:57am

It's a nice start. The game needs something working against you though. Or at least some economic trade-offs or goals or something.

namuol says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:59am

Nice work -- are you using an HTML5 game library or was this all done by hand?

Bonus points: having an interactive tutorial was very helpful.

orgarus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:59am

Hi!
Yes it's a little game now but I think you have a good base to expand your game and make it bigger, the buildings and decorative elements that you talking about can be implemented from now.
Thing that I would change? the initial speed for making money, this combined with the music slows down the excitement.
Overall I like you game. Congratulations!

PS.-In chrome works perfectly.

callidus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:14am

nice little sim game :-) not much to it now but with some extra elements it could be very fun, you should consider working on a post compo version.

hungyg says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:43am

@namuol no libraries were used. I was thinking about using jQuery, but to be honest I don't understand it that much.

hungyg says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:47am

@machinas I wanted to make such things, but this was the main drawback of being a beginner at Ludum Dare: I had time management issues. Maybe next time. Thanks for the feedback!

davidwparker says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Nice sim game. I wish you had time to do what you wanted to do... it's nice to see more JavaScript apps. I like the music- very soothing.

thristhart says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:30pm

My favorite part about this was the tutorial! It's a perfectly done tut. Teaches everything clearly and concisely. Thumbs-up. (my entry is in sore need of such a tut) Also, I wish I had done something like this, it's so potentially addictive.

argo15 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Pretty good game. Needs a bit of work still, and I did encounter a bug where the road did not tile correctly, but very good game.

hungyg says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:51pm

@argo15 yea, sorry I may not have been able to test every single possibility of tile neighborings... but that should not affect gameplay

strega says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:10pm

Nice calming game. It's cool that you added a tutorial! I wish there was a way to speed up time though.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:36pm

Definitely needs more things to build, this was very sweet game. Works just fine and the music is smoothing. Good job.

danmacalow says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:58am

great little game man

FrederickK says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:38am

Same problem of machinas.
I think there is a lot of potential in your game. The music is really charming and peaceful and building stuff is cool, but, as others said, it needs more buildings and my biggest complain is that you can't lose. As long you have patience/money enough, you can build whatever you want.
I think you should continue this, if these problems were fixed it would be an amazing game!

shaunxcode says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:40am

seriously good game, I could see this expanding into something great. I liked the music! Wish I could get more details about my citizens and there doings.

hungyg says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:09am

@FrederickK @shaunxcode Thanks for the feedback. as I've said, I had all sorts of plans on how to continue it, but didn't have time to finish it. I might in the future, but its really hard since I'm still in school and have to study a lot.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:53am

Fun game. Tutorial is very helpful. Would have been cool if you could have added some of the stuff you mention; my only other criticism would be that things start off kind of slowly, before things really get rolling.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:07am

Tried running in Firefox to no avail.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Really good game. I loved how simple and straightforward you made it look, especially loved the tutorial which a lot of LD entries don't have (mine either, which I regret).

Good job!

joshimoo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:34pm

I like your game, it's a great start with lots of potential.
But to be truly great it's missing the features that you did not manage to implement in time.

yoklov says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Great game! Needs a bit more balance (too easy), but I spent long enough playing it to get 10k coins :)

dokidoki says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:15am

Like others said, needs more "stuff", but good for 48h. Later you can add disasters like SimCity. ;)

onehandclap says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:59pm

First entry? Wow! Congratulations! =D

azurenimbus says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:00am

You did a very good job, very solid and fun game.

Just wanted to say, even though everyone's entitled to their opinion, I felt you were pointlessly rude to the creator of the game I Refuse:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=11546

You might be happy with your game, but it kinda goes against the point of the compo/jam to go around saying your game is better than someone else's, don't you think? A little disappointing.

(This obviously did NOT affect my rating of your game in any way, though.)

ilo says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 9:39pm

What with the music being so peaceful, I'm not sure a losing condition is actually necessary. And the pacing didn't bother me too much because I imagined that it would be the kind of game you check on occasionally to see how your city was getting on. It just needs more depth and more choices so you can give your city some personality, and maybe have it evolve over generations.

Cyboot says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:36am

a lovely game
i really enjoy the audio and the gameplay

Nice Job!

rvmook says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:39am

A bit more variation in the tiles and the effects they have on eachother would be a nice feature. The way it is now it's a bit repetitive, nice game nonetheless

dray says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Nice first LD! your game lack of content once we have 10+ people, money is not a problem and the game less interest, but you polish it quite well, the music is good, the tutorial is perfect to understand quickly the game. Good Job, need some way of losing money like repairs, making the office upgrade more exepensive every floor, or different ground area with different cost.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]