April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Civilization

by Suese - 48 Hour Compo Entry

At the dawn of civilization can you master this tiny little paradise?

Build your civilization and keep it alive throughout the generations.

Start a family, choose your mates well. Exercise, get plenty of sleep, learn your craft.

Some hidden features, some not.

Only 73.1kb!!

NOTE: Clicking on a house / dwelling will PAUSE the game!
(it's a long game)


I was SOOO close to adding a family-tree browser and a time log to make this one really interesting. Oh well.


Strategy Guide:
---------------
A few people have asked about strategy, here it is:

You start with 3 families, each with a brother and a sister. They cannot mate with each other. On the left are females, the right are the males. PAY ATTENTION TO THE LAST NAMES, the first one is the mother's last name and the last is the father's last name.

If you do not mix genes properly, bad things happen.

DO NOT OVERWORK your people. Their health will decline rapidly when they are tired.

They best way to gain fitness is to chop wood.

To chop wood click on a villager, click on a nearby forest then click on the grass where you want him/her to pile the chopped logs.

Better fitness = Less health issues with ageing.

Build homes for your people so they can rest and breed. They do not need to enter the house to rest, they just need to be near it (24 pixels).

To build a home, select a person, click on a pile of chopped wood, then select an empty location.

To upgrade/maintain a house, do the same but select a dwelling already made.

Dwellings will break apart over time so they must be maintained.

When a new child is born, ONE parent may leave the house. If you orphan a child they will die.

New children are very weak. Let them rest a while then send them out to do work. Keep them near-by homes and neighbours so they don't die of exhaustion.

Villagers cannot be mothers or fathers until they are at least 10 years old. The average life expectancy for perfectly fit people is about 35 years.

The optimal strategy is to build three houses and get your original families breeding and -if you are feeling ambitious - inter-breeding as quickly as possible so that you have a larger gene pool to work with in the future.

Make one villager chop wood then rest, chop wood, then rest. Make another villager pick up wood and build/repair a shelter. This is the most efficient way to build and maintain shelter. Do this once for each shelter and get the kids helping out too to increase their fitness.

When a villager's health begins to decline with age (everyone dies eventually), let them become parents, or if they are really fit and good at chopping wood work them to death.

P.s. yes the simulation is supposed to be 'slow'. When you have a huge village trust me, there is a lot to micro-manage.

That's all I can think of.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#128Overall3.54
#133Mood3.27
#160Innovation3.52
#191Audio3.07
#222Humor2.71
#255Theme3.35
#273Graphics3.24
#347Fun2.98

Comments

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:46am

My people die swimming. Everyone xD
Not sure if i understand the goal, but i kinda like it!

good job :)

oddgoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:07am

The fact that the world/game is generated according to the window size was a very pleasant surprise.

I love how emergent/long-term gameplay can be achieved from a simple concept like this, I would really love to see that family-tree browser in action!

Overall, I liked it a lot =). It was funny too. The only downside was the concept of tiny world isn't amazingly procured in my opinion. With the mountains and the speed of construction the scale of the world/tribe actually felt quite big.

Note: The game crashed when I opened another window of the game.

Kimau says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:02pm

Really like the concept. Was a bit daunting to get started, but fun once its going. I wanted to rate the graphics higher because I LOVE the stylisation but it got in the way of gameplay when I lost people.

I would suggest either going more symbolic or maybe moving to a two tone palette or similar?

Name generator was a nice touch. Feels like you were building a game more for other themes in the final voting round which didn't make it, but Tiny World kinda applies :)

Sodaware says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:08pm

The graphics work really well, even though they're simple. Makes me think of something I would have stayed up to play for hours on my old monochrome monitor.

A family history browser and timeline would be cool, although I think a few more activities & things to make the timeline more interesting.

It's fun to see things progress once houses start appearing and the civilisation grows.

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Hell yeah! I love it

marudziik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Great art style, but it's easy to loose track of all the people. Selecting more than one unit would be cool, but for 48 hours - it's cool enough. :)

ncannasse says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Lacking a bit of directions but love the graphics

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:50pm

I think that this game is a little slow. it would be a much better game with increased game speed an a few instructions would be nice.

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:54pm

That was amazing!

rik says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Beautiful. I could listen to the music all day long. Must admit I don't 100% know what I'm doing, but I'm enjoying it.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Good game! Like others, I don't quite know what I'm doing, but I still enjoy myself! Definitely at home amongst classic games! Amazing amount of depth for a 48 hour game!

And it's a world as big as my browser window - seems pretty tiny to me!

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:43pm

It's quite hard to figure out what to do, but the art style is amazing!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Wish the people were different colors so i could spot them. That's my only complaint! Yay for this game!

summaky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:49am

It is good!

steamgirl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:54am

Very interesting experience, if a bit too slow. (Not sure if it's a problem on my side, but the people were walking at a rate of about 1 frame per second.) It reminded me a bit of Virtual Villagers, only without the story and puzzle elements. (For the record, I really like Virtual Villagers so it's a good thing!)

I like that the world is as big or tiny as your window, though I agree with oddgoo that it still could feel like a spacious world when the browser is on full-screen.

The art style adds a lot to the mood of the game, as does the music. I felt it was slightly ominous... like doom was inevitably going to come upon my tiny civilization.

Unfortunately I didn't get very far into it. On my first run through, I killed a baby when I got both parents to leave the home, which made me a bit upset so I left it until the next day. Now I'm successfully raising children (yay!)! But the parents seem to be dying of bad health. Also, people drown... I wonder if I managed to get their swimming skill up whether they'd be able to get some goodies from the water?

Unfortunately my patience was not strong enough to keep me playing until I found all the hidden features. However, I like what you've done and I think with a bit of tweaking it could easily develop into a very addictive game!

matheus23 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:36am

Really fun and well made game. I didn't acctually got, how to build houses, ... :( though I have read your description. Maybe I missed something... Also, art style is fun :D

Norgg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:44am

Nice! Not got the time to play it again properly (not working everyone straight into the grave) right now but will try to come back to it.

jeffz says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I dig the art style and the idea, could use a bit more onscreen instruction/hints.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:18pm

man they take forever to walk anywhere hehe.. i like it tho :)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:52pm

This is incredibly hard. I can't imagine what it would be without your strategy guide. But there is something very strong in this game. At the opposite of the traditionnal "civilisation" games, each death is a tragedy, each birth/house built a very happy moment. Moveover, the fact that the game is slow makes it very very immersive.

It is a great success according to me.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:10am

Wow, I was blown away by this. It's got a somewhat steep learning curve, but I could see this becoming some sort of cult classic a la dwarf fortress if expanded upon further. A bit slow, but I think it adds to the whole feel of the game. Good job! I'd say this is among my favorites just for the look and the immersive experience alone.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:19am

A firm favourite, this could turn into a cult game :)

I even score it high on graphics; the graphics suit the mood perfectly, and add to the gameplay.

It recreates a classic mac game feel somehow from my fuzzy past.

PabloAM says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Good simulator! :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Hey Suese, remember me from Command War?
I had to find your entry, and I am not disappointed. It's really nice. I have no idea how you did all this in 2 days. It's sucks you in as you play really, really well. I salute you!

Hume says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:46pm

This is one of the stronger entries I've played.

The level of detail is great. Inherited names and inbreeding; attitudes; structure decay. I did get frustrated that 80% of a person's lifespan was spent walking from place to place -- I knew I needed to maintain houses, but unless they were built right up against the trees, they decayed faster than I could maintain them.

I want to keep playing this. I hope you'll refine it.

ilo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:12am

Tiny world, huge potential!

Jacic says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Very nicely done, though perhaps a little too slow-paced.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:13am

I like it... although the breeding (inter) thing confused me at first... well done :)

Shadow says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:57am

Lovely retro B&W graphics, loved the depth (breeding certainly adds a couple of levels to it) and the gameplay. My only complain would be that people move kinda slow and yet it's sometimes hard to click on them!. I don't know how you managed to pull this thing together in only 48 hours, though. it's amazing.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:49am

love those monochrome graphics!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:53am

Wow, i love the retro feeling of the graphics and the soundfx.As ilo said. Huge potential! Please develop it further.

Codexus says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:56pm

I drowned my people :D

Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:36am

Hi I like the concept and the graphics and sound are nice and suit it. It gets a lot more interesting as it goes along too which is nice! Clearer and easier to play in colour on the post jam version too so a good update to it

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Love the mood in this one. It's heartbreaking to build a civilization and then having them die one by one.
Graphic style works great. I got a bit bored because there was no real goal, I wish there were achievements at least (e.g. reach the third generation, get 12 people).
Amazing work though, especially because of the deep gameplay.

BlackDogg says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:13pm

A little bit slow but WOW what a cool entry ! I would have loved to see this game on an island, so you have a defined space to live on and explore. Anyway, kudos to you !

Niavlys says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:54am

I loved the concept, the music and the interaction with the people. :)

Danvil says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Nice idea but I found it tiresome after a short while. Especially finding 4 pixel villagers was tedious.

smvilar says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:34pm

I liked the retro feel.

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:18pm

I have to be honest. I played the 48 hour, and then afterwards went to see the color version, and I have to say, I really really prefer the black and white. It's beautiful and minimalistic (which I like) but still clear and easy to understand.
The music is fantastic. And it is quite clear you put a lot of effort into this. Bravo!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]