April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Professor Squeaks: The Circuitous Escape!

by envy3d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Escape from the laboratory!

You'll have to dodge obstacles, collect circuit elements, and repair circuits if you are to escape with your life!

Find out which kinds of circuit elements go which slots on the circuit board and use that knowledge to solve the more chalenging circuits. If you complete a valid but incorrect circuit, a graph will appear on the top-left of the screen to help you.

While Escaping:
Use A and D to move left and right
Use W to jump
Use E to use door access panels

While Completing a Circuit:
Use A and D to change selection spot on the circuit board
Use W and S to select a circuit element
Press E to attach a circuit element to the circuit board
Press Q to return to Escape Mode


Press M to mute.

Additional Info:
The Crashless-Web version has the 2nd crash (see below) fixed.
This required some modification to the collision detection code.
Nothing but the code detecting collisions between the player and non-interactive environment was changed as I wanted to keep the game as close to the original as possible. There are still plenty of not-so-lovely (but not game breaking) collision bugs in this version.

If you wish to play the original (with only the 1st crash fixed) select the Original-Web link.


Fixed game-breaking bugs since release:
1. When near an item, the collision detection could sometimes fill the player's available item slots with 1 circuit element type, causing the player to no longer be able to progress through the level.
2. The collision detection could mess up causing the player to fall off the map and the game to crash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#241Innovation3.33
#402Humor2.28
#450Theme3.00
#499Mood2.59
#556Overall2.77
#577Graphics2.61
#594Audio2.03
#674Fun2.36

Comments

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:24pm

Oh man I am terrible at circuit design. Got through the first one but can't seem to complete the second. Still, cool idea, could be grown into a pretty cool teaching tool for simple electrical engineering.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Like the idea - interesting little puzzle mini-game.

Controls are bit a fiddly when modifying the circuits though, I kept accidentally closing the mini-game by pressing the wrong button, also when navigating the level it would be nice if the game remembered I was holding a direction key even after I've hit an obstacle so when I jump it automatically continues forwards - not having this lead to a fair bit of frustration when trying to jump through some of the smaller gaps.

The sound at the end is genius!

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:31pm

You added a mini game in a 48 hours compo ! That's brilliant ! Original concept and setting, only drawback is the clunky controls in the platform mode.

I wish you could save the poor mind controlled rats !

Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Took a while to load up on the web version but it was worth it, neat little physics puzzler :) Good graphics, I found it hard to complete some circuits, purely because I don't remember that much of my physics lessons from way back when but I escaped the lab with my tail intact. Could probably do with tutorial on the icons but well done,good entry!

Norgg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:41pm

I like the idea and would like to see where it goes, but haven't managed to get that far due to the falling out of the world bug.

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:28am

This was pretty good fun! :D It took me a while to work out what exactly I was doing with the puzzle, but once I worked it out, it was good fun! Managed to finish it, pity it was so short, I'd love to play it with more levels and more components! :p Good job! Some music might've been nice, but good job on the sound effects, however it was that you made them? Pitch shifted voice or something? ^^

Parthon says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:35am

That was pretty fun. The puzzles were tricky at first, but made sense later on, especially the last puzzle, that was a great one.

The platforming was tricky with the collision detection, but that was the only let down. I think with better platforming this would be totally awesome.

Shigor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:12am

Nice idea, too bad that controls are quite user unfriendly :/ Both platformer and puzzle part could use better controls.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:21am

Overall, an amusing game.

The concept of collecting circuit components and using them to open doors is an interesting one. I don't know if I've ever seen a take like that before. It has the potential to be a really interesting little mini-game inside your game. If only I could open any door in real life using only a 2V battery and a ... light thingy.

Good use of the theme too.

For me, (OSX) there was a constant flicker that really hurt the game play. It was distracting and made the experience unpleasant. No points off for that because I'm assuming you had no way to test that. But, the jump controls were genuinely frustrating and the collisions didn't feel right.

Graphics were cute. Sound was minimal but cute. Overall, it's a good accomplishment for 48 hours and a good concept that, I think, deserves some further development time.

JesterBLUE says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:37am

I didn't really understand if there was any logic or strategy to the circuit design puzzles. I just swapped parts till it worked. gave up on the first 3-component puzzle.

envy3d says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:56am

@netguy204 Thanks for the heads-up about the flickering issue on OSX. I'll look into it.

@everyone I know the controls/collisions can be frustrating (that's what I get for programming the collision detection with no prior experience) and I thank you all for continuing to play in spite of them!

Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:33am

Had some trouble running it in OSX/chrome.
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/664907/Screenshots/~4jk.png

otaviogood says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:46am

Great idea with the circuit mini game. Unfortunately, I didn't quite get whatever logic was behind it. Maybe a hint in the comments would help?

Orni says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:45am

I just finished it and I think I'm the smartest rat that ever existed

well - the circuits are quite simple and not too much of a challenge but the game itself was nicely presented and I liked the theme very much.

the only thing I could criticize would be the sluggish platformer controls - but it didn't have any impact on the fun of the game - so it's alright

nice game, playing a rat is staggeringly amusing

daandruff says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:45am

Really cool to include a minigame into you game. Smart idea and it works ok. The control scheme isn't the best. Nice

Jigxor says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:33am

Nice game! I really like the rat's graphics and the idea is cool. I found the circuits a bit hard to navigate at first, but after the first door it was okay.

Great job! :)

dr_soda says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:50am

I like the whole circuit board minigame. It might be helpful to the players to have a slight introduction on what the various parts of the panels and boards are actually for, and also to more prominently call out the waveform graph.

Nice squeaks!

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:02pm

The controls could use some work, as I get stuck all the time because you have to release the key to continue if you hit any obstacle, instead of when the obstacle clears you can continue again. There also seems to be no punishment for taking damage, which eliminated a lot of platforming as I could just damage jump my way across. I liked the circuit mini-game, though I wish it had more depth to it.

summaky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:07pm

The controls "while escaping" are most of the time annoying. I always get stuck behind some wall... Also, some elements are really hard to see.

I loved the idea of the circuit mini-game and they weren't as difficult as I first thought they would be :-D

The "squeaky" sound was great, but given it is the only sound (I could hear), it feels like something is lacking.

cltatman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:13am

A nice idea, but by the third level I still didn't know how the circuits worked. It looks like you spent a lot of time making levels, so I'd definitely suggest trying to more deliberately introduce the circuit logic (I got through the first few doors by guessing).

'Death' is lenient, which I think would be a problem if not for the collision/control issues.

The sounds are effective, which is nice.

Madball says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 8:37am

I liked the circuit idea, but I barely got how to solve circuits.

tcstyle says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 11:09am

Both versions didn't start on my computer in Firefox :(.
There was just the rules explanation and nothing else to see.

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:56pm

The controls were not very polished, and I hated the bounciness from the top of the screen, especially when you needed to jump to another platform but couldn't. But overall it was a nice puzzle plat former :)

ChainedLupine says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Okay, I really like the concept! You already know about the controls, people have detailed the problems already so I won't go over it again.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:50am

This is an awesome concept. The hit detection needs some work, but the basic gameplay idea is great. As others have said, it would have been good to know what was going on with the circuits. I took a little bit of that in college, but I still had no idea what the components were supposed to be. It was still fun though, and with some polish, this could be an awesome game or a teaching tool.

This is a little self-advertising, but you might consider checking out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We'd love to have you.

Oye Beto says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 8:05am

Nice theme. I didn't understand the circuit mode, it worked but I didn't know why.

May 12, 2012 @ 5:25pm

yay java :) i also couldnt get past the 2nd one ;p

question: how did you make the java loading screen black..ive not seen that before :)

goodjob

envy3d says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:44pm

howieV: It's a param element inside the applet tags. i.e.
<applet code...>
...
<param name="boxbgcolor" value="black">
</applet>

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]