April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Burning Platform

by dr_soda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created *ENTIRELY* on an Asus Transformer tablet. Yo dawg, I heard you like Androids, so I made a game on my Android so you can put it on your Android.



Butchery of memes aside...

--Description--
Your friends are stuck on a burning platform. Tilt your device around to keep them from falling off. Pick up items to stop the burning temporarily, rebuild the platform, or have one of your friends make a daring escape.

--Tools used:--
AIDE - A Java IDE for compiling Android apps.
Pixelesque - A paint style app for Android.
Plasma Sound - A theremin app.
SPC - A beatbox app.
TapeMachine - A post process sound editor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#177Innovation3.48
#216Audio3.00
#477Overall2.89
#540Fun2.63
#568Humor1.96
#664Mood2.30
#682Graphics2.40
#695Theme2.47

Comments

Beanalby says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:27am

Didn't expect to see an android app here. :) Drawing walls seemed extremely short lived to the point that they couldn't be useful, interesting use of tilting to maintain multiple objects though.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00am

The walls are far to short lived, but otherwise an interesting concept!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00am

How did you make this on your transformer - I'm intrigued. Does it run some cut-down version of eclipse? Or did you just write code on the transformer, then copy it to a PC to compile the app? Either way, this is amazing and I want to know more!

dr_soda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:07am

aaronsnowswell: My IDE was an app called AIDE, available on Google Play. Not only is it a Java editor with autocomplete, code highlighting, refactoring, and the like but it also comes with an Android SDK compiler so no I did not have to transfer anything to a PC to compile it.

AIDE has dropbox built in, which I used to get prototype apks off the tablet long enough to pass them around to friends and upload them to my website for previews. It also has Git integration but I have not tried it.

My one wrinkle was that in order to put the apk on Google Play I needed a unique keystore, and that I had to generate on my laptop. Once I had that though, I tossed it onto the Transformer and used that to sign the apk and Google Play was happy.

If you would like a Linux terminal experience on your Android device you might also like Terminal IDE. It too comes with a Java compiler, as well as a c compiler and Vim.

neosam says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:52am

Nice Idea! Luckily I bought a android phone two weeks ago :)

Wampus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:33am

Very hard but interesting gameplay. Its great that this was made entirely on an Android device.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:57pm

well i don't have an android phone so i can't play, but nice work making a game entirely on a tablet man.

ben says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Wish i could play, respect though for making a game only available on the least accessible platform :]

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:17pm

I found it kinda hard to play. But it worked great on my phone, cool game! And, as has been already mentioned, the lines aren't useful.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Coolness, I love the retro feeling :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Downloaded and enjoyed on my Galaxy Nexus, AIDE sounds totally awesome, cudos and all that for doing it while staying on platform! :)

Fireblend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:21am

Pretty neat! I love the strategies one begins coming up with after a few rounds. The line drawing mechanic is a nice idea, although sometimes my lines either do nothing, or have the opposite effect on the moving thingies. Impressive work getting this done from scratch on an Android tablet!

quickfingers says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:46pm

sorry no android phone

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:42pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

Jacic says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:13pm

I wish I had an android so I could play... Maybe next time! :)

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Unfortunately, I don't have an android tablet.

Serilyn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:18am

It ran nicely on my G2. Really neat that you wrote it using only android. Like others said, the walls were too short lived to really be usable.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:36am

Fairly hard to last very long, and I couldn't make the walls do much. But I'm quite impressed that you managed to do all this from within Android!

cjke.7777 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:33am

Couldn't play, no anroid

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:43am

I would have tried it if it had a web or osx version.

gritfish says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:37pm

To be honest, I don't see how it relates to the theme... but I have incredible respect for the constraints you put on yourself for this. The game's stable, looks okay, controls well. Would be nice if the walls stayed for a while? After a minute I was just flailing wildly..

What was it like going android only? Would you do it again?

piman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:47pm

Very difficult to play on my T8300 - lines do not draw, or cut out halfway through.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:34pm

gritfish - The ways in which it relates to the theme

1. The game world is incredibly small.
2. It shrinks by the second.
3. The view area also is small given the nature of the platform. It literally fits in your hand

dr_soda says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:39pm

piman : I suspect it's two things in particular. Particle effects and line nodes. I think I'll cut those both down.

To everyone, I agree that the lines feel like they disappear to quickly. I hope to address this in a post compo build, which will unfortunately have to wait until after the competition is over.

envy3d says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:16am

That was fun but reeaaally difficult.

Topaz says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:56am

Sorry, don't have Android. But it looks good anyway :)

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Well, I ain't an Android tablet... I hope you had fun creating it!

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Cool :)

caranha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Hey Dr. Soda! Thanks for the game, I really liked the music, and the gameplay/pacing is perfect for a mobile platform.

I though that using the walls was a bit hard - It required a lot of precision to make your friends bounce off the walls correctly. Also, I would change the difficulty curve a bit, make the game start a bit easier.

Cheers!

dokidoki says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:59am

I can't add much beyond what others have said, but good job and thanks for the info about apps I hadn't seen before.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:42am

Looks cool but I don't have an android to play it on. :C

Geti says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:25am

Dont have an android but this is a cool entry, I should look into getting a tablet like this so I can make games on the go, haha.

joshimoo says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:53am

Don't have an android, cannot rate.

summaky says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:04pm

I find it very difficult to control my friends and I am unable to keep them away from the edges. Also, the walls are near to useless, at least I couldn't make any use of them.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Don't have an android device. :X

Niavlys says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:03am

On my HTC Wildfire, I had trouble drawing walls. Otherwise, good idea and nice use of the touch screen and accelerometer.

Hazematman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:35am

Very fun! I have to say I really enjoyed this and i'm probably gonna leave it on my phone :P
The one thing I think you can tweak is the difficulty, its a little too hard :P

dr_soda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:19am

Hazematman, thank you for the kind words. Those of you who do leave the app on your phone will of course be able to easily get ahold of post-compo revisions when those happen.

Unlike a web game, or a game deployed as an exe, it's not as simple to have a "compo/post-compo" build pair available for download when you're distributing like this. So, once the rating period has ended I'll make available this compo version in archival format and the Google Play link will be the "living" post-compo after the fact.

levelbylevel says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:15pm

Love that its an android app :) don't see that much. I like it, very difficult but still fun.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:46am

Nice little game. The line concept reminded me on Chalk Ball. The tilt controls and short lived lines can get pretty frustrating sometimes tough.

thynnmas says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:59am

Longer lived (or wider, so they'd be easier to hit the friends with) edges would make it a lot deeper (in trying to group them, or get them in one direction), allowing for less frantic gameplay and a bit of tactic. Otherwise, quite enjoyable.

scgrn says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:50am

Nice idea, but I couldn't really get a grasp on the gameplay. Completely awesome that you made it on device!

namuol says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:21am

Definitely too hard for me but really fun while I actually manage to survive! I think maybe if walls just lasted a while longer but you could only have so many at once it'd feel more balanced and less futile. Giant nerd points for doing this all on your transformer!

May 3, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Alright so I managed to get my hands on an android phone for the promised review, and here it is!

First, let me start by saying that I think it's pretty awesome that you managed to get a game finished on android in just 48 hours! It plays really well! So kudos on that.

As for the game itself, I find the concept pretty nice actually. Having to control two avenues at once in order to keep the boxes from falling. The problem is that it feels a bit too unforgiving.

It's already rather difficult as it is, but the ground progressively gets smaller which makes it very hard. I'm not sure if there's currently a way to win or if it's just survive as long as you can. But either way I think if you tone down the difficulty a bit it could be pretty nice!

A suggestion is to maybe have the lines you draw with your finger last for a few seconds longer. Also I can see how you can build upon this by adding different kinds of boxes, different kinds of powerups. It could totally be a neat little arcade game!

Shadow says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:22am

Great game. Loved the ultra retro look&feel of the game. The concept is also quite innovative (at least for this round of LD). Sometimes I felt like tilting my phone to move the particles in some direction so perhaps you may add a little bit of "gravity" that works by tilting your phone, but it's not THAT strong as to allow you to save your "friends" by only tilting. It's a hard game but I enjoyed it.
Btw, works like a charm on a Galaxy S (GT-I9000B)

jeffz says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:52am

Unfortunately I don't have an android device.

pighead10 says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 11:06am

I don't have an android ;-(

Datamosh says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Ooow, I don't have an Android phone to test this one. Looks good anyway :)

Sestren says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 12:09am

I'm very impressed that you were able to code something like this entirely on a tablet for the competition. I'd say that's a pretty nice "meta" way of reinforcing the theme. :D

Will Edwards says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 9:44am

can we have a link directly to the APK? I'm having trouble getting it onto the phone via Google Play thingy :(

dr_soda says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Will Edwards : I've posted a link to the raw apk, hosted on my site.

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:56pm

kudos for making an android game and posting it on google play!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: using cached page]