Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Nematode - danblack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My tiny world is viewed through a telescope and populated by colourful Nematode worms. The aim is to create worms with specific patterns by feeding them the right coloured food in the right order. They have a habit of turning at the wrong time though or eating the wrong coloured food.

Instructions

-Left click drops food.
-The colour of the next piece of food in shown in the bottom right hand corner.
-When a worm eats a piece of food that colour is added to the front of their body.
-The worm you are trying to match the colours of is in the bottom left hand corner.
-Your score is shown on the left and the time remaining on the right
-Matching a worm gives you points and more time
-When the timer reaches zero its game over.

Hints

When worms get older / longer they die and make way for new worms. Try to feed longer worms to get rid of them quicker to make way for smaller worms.

The sequence of colours must be in the correct order from front to back. If you have to create a match to a worm with a red head and blue tail first find a single blue worm. Then feeding it one piece of red food will create a match.

The worms move at different speeds. Try and find slower worms to feed for matches and try and get rid of fater worms by feeding them up quickly.


UPDATE :

It seems my instruction wrinting skills are weak. I knew the game was fiddly to play but I didn't realise the concept was tricky that tricky to grasp. I will try and describe it again now I have had more sleep.

There is a worm shown in a box the bottom left corner. The aim is to feed the worms randomly milling around the screen to that they match the length and colours of the worm in the box.

You can't control worms directly but you can drop food in front of them to feed them. The next colour food in displayed in the bottom right. So if you have to match a worm that has a red head and a blue tail you need to find a worm that is just a single blue dot and feed it some red food. You will then get points and more time for getting a match and another target worm for you to try and match will appear in the bottom left hand corner. Rinse and repeat.

View danblack's journal. | View all entries by danblack

Ratings

#266Innovation3.29
#557Theme2.76
#666Audio1.80
#772Overall2.41
#772Fun2.12
#817Mood1.91
#852Graphics1.88
#936Coolness26%

Comments

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:15pm

It was something that I've never seen before, but I personally found it very confusing, I never got a single point.

Nocturne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Most confusing... I read your description before playing and even then I found the game incomprehensible! Too random and not explicit enough in how to play. Gave it two plays and didn't manage to score a single point...

TellusE says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Wonderful idea :D

The randomness of the worms aside (as you've mentioned), I dig the "reverse Snake" style. Maybe if you have several patterns going at once, the single-queued food might be easier to work with (or one could simply create completely random worms and hope one would come up :P)

Neat work, dude.

zzzev says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Unfortunately, I had a similar experience as the other commenters here. Maybe if the worms moved in more predictable patterns, it would be easier to form them?

ExciteMike says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Wow. So hard to make them eat the food I want! I think it's a really slick idea, but it like needs clearer rules for how the worms move (seems to be random?) and/or zoomed into a smaller game world maybe?

Tomalla says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Great idea! It only needs a little tutorial for the very beginning though, I needed quite a time to figure out what was going on. It was fun until I needed a one-dot-worm which simply was not on the board. What am I supposed to do then? Apart from that - that is a good one! Cheers

danblack says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:47pm

@Pixelulsar, @Nocturne, @zzzev - I have updated the desctiption to try and make it clearer. I accept that it's really tricky to play though.

@TellusE - Thanks and glad you liked it. I think there is milage in this 'reverse snake' gameplay but it probably needs longer than 48hours to iron out all the gameplay issues. Adding more target worms though would be a start though. Thanks for the feedback.

@ExciteMike - Yes the worms movement is random and this is the largest I could get the resolution and still be able to diplay text. I aggree about the size though and if I get time to revisit this idea I will defeintely try to make the pixels even bigger. Thanks for your feedback.

@Tomalla - I agree, it does need a tutorial. Not to mention lots of tweaks to the gameplay to make it less fiddly / frustrating. When you run out of small worms you have to feed up the bigger worms to get rid of them. As longer worms die off new small ones replace them. Thanks for the feedback.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:21pm

Really confusing game, even after reading the instructions... the sounds are a bit annoying.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:23pm

i liked the aesthetics a lot, but even with the updated instructions i still couldn't work it out. maybe post a gameplay video?

caranha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:25pm

That is a VERY interesting game, I like the concept a lot.

The biggest problem, in my opinion, is that 1-sized worms, and food are identical. So it is very hard to keep track of the worms.

The game would be much easier to understand if worms were somehow different from food. Some ideas: Make the worms bigger than the food, give the worms a black "head", give the worms an outline?

MurrayL says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Quite enjoyed the game - didn't have a problem understanding how to play after reading your updated instructions.

I'd suggest making it a lot more likely that the worms keep moving in the same direction (so it's easier to get them to eat), and display the next coloured block as well as the one you are currently about to place (to allow for planning).

dokidoki says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Cool idea, now that I understand it. :)

Drabiter says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:51am

Both windows and web links not work :(

danblack says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:33am

@Drabiter - Do you have Flash installed? If you have Flash it should work.

azurenimbus says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:50am

Really unique, I enjoyed it a lot. It can drive you INSANE (in a good way). But I can't say anything about that :D

Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]