Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

A day in your Life

by superstu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

R-Key to reset
Arrows or WASD to move (your choice) :)
SPACE for actions
Don't let your hunger or warmth hit zero!
Enjoy A day in your Life :)

I believe in you all!

All actions you do cause something to happen so be sure to check out all of the corners of the map. Goodluck!


Added a walkthrough in case anyone really really wants to complete it but just can't. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#329Theme3.22
#340Humor2.41
#404Mood2.72
#469Graphics2.82
#549Overall2.78
#584Fun2.55
#640Innovation2.50
#729Audio1.35

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:53am

The link seem to be dead?

superstu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:59am

Works for me on both computers :( try doing a hard refresh of the page maybe? not sure what happened

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:23am

I feel very hungry. Wasn't able to figure out how to stay warm. Enjoy the core concept though. Good work!

Tulrath says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:24am

That was really fun - of course, I died a few times before walking down and finding food :) Got as far as making the bridge, but kept falling off the edges after that. I think you probably didn't need the insta-death at the map edge, just having a fence would have been fine.

PacifistGames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:26am

I wasn't sure what to do after planting the first seeds... I enjoyed the dialogs about not being able to fly or swim though.

superstu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:33am

Just as a heads up, there is a clear end to the game!

All actions you do cause something to happen so be sure to check out all of the corners of the map. Goodluck!

Sometime tomorrow I'll post a walkthrough for those that keep getting stuck and really want to finish.

@RandomOutput
I believe in you!

@PacifistGames + @Tulrath
Be careful of the edges!

Thanks for playing! :)

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:02am

Y U WALK SO SLOWLY!!!!

Daniel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:05am

Finally finished it! What a cruel little world! :P

eburn184 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:11am

So simple, yet so fun. Too bad I keep freezing to death. Nice job with the game

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:21am

The time limits put on the player make this a frustrating exercise in repetition rather than an exploration game. I couldn't consistently get the seeds to grow, either. I was a bit confused by that.

I almost made it to the top of the ice ladder at the end, but froze and then couldn't get my seeds to grow again, so I starved repeatedly after that :'(. You kept me wanting to play, but I couldn't quite make it to the end. Good atmosphere, and a solid execution of the theme.

maxman43 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:18am

so cold....
Good game, the graphics were very nice. Ran a bit slow, but that's probably just because my computer sucks.

jfroco says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:18am

Nice game, deserves a fine tune :)

Dracir says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:22am

:( I want to fly

superstu says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:47am

Currently I'm working on my post-compo version of this game :)
will be trying to optimize it so everyone can enjoy it not being too slow. and adding in sounds along with fixing so bugs :)

cjke.7777 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:10am

Great effort man

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:12am

I'm definitely a fan of the concept.

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:13am

Took me a bit to understand the gist of the game (I hadn't read your comment about returning to the map corners), but it's a fun little game. Thanks for submitting!

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:09am

So funny! Good work :)

Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:04am

Got to the end! yeyyy

emongev says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:09pm

I liked the entry overall, seemed like a great game, even though i got frustrated and stopped playing it. Which leads to one of my complaints: you should never leave a player blind, you should at least give him hints on what to do. I thought i should build a bridge, and pressed space on the border and could never build it, and when i saw the walkthrough it said "build a bridge". And also, dont kill me when walking towards the darkness, just because there is no sense of depth. But regardless of the complaints, i love the fact that theres a quick restart (even thought it lags a bit when you do it) and the narrative. =) Good job!

mmarcati says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Awsome game! It's really fun trying to figure out the order of the actions, reminds me a bit of the Grow series ( http://www.eyezmaze.com/grow/RPG/index.html#more ).
Made me want more!

machinas says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:08am

interesting concept. I think you could probably shrink the world size down a bit to reduce the backtracking and make it so you can see when things on the opposite side of the world change. Some of the actions like bridge building were pretty hard to discover without using the walkthrough. nice original idea though! would be cool to see where you could go with this one.

Rybar says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:20am

Interesting idea, some broken ideas that have already been mentioned. To have building a bridge not require hitting the action key when every other event does is misleading. The game begins with a challenge that should allow more exploration time, if you go any direction but straight down you'll die before getting to the fruit. This kind of 'trial by death' challenge wore out its welcome for me in games like Dragons Lair, but even then you were given a visual indicator of what to do, given you had superhuman reflexes.
I really like the idea in general, its just not executed the best.

azurenimbus says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:32am

That was cool and rather unique. It was also charming. You can't fly!

chinchang says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 6:15pm

that dead face was really cool! nice game..it was fun to roam in dat cute world.

May 7, 2012 @ 7:28pm

You can't swim! I like the concept and it kind of made me hungry playing it...

summaky says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:15am

I finally finished it, but I find it very frustrating that I need to die again and again in order to understand the "rules". It certainly fits the theme, but I didn't have much fun with all the re-starting needed.

Liked the simple graphics and the humor when drowning and falling off the world, although I would prefer for the player to say the same without dieing.

Datamosh says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 1:28pm

I died a hundred times. I like the concept but felt a little lost retrying all.

orangepascal says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 5:13pm

simple gameplay, but it works surprisingly well, very nice!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]