April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Pixels World

by Zerod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pixel is a young rebellious Pixlanier. Everyone has told him not to Collect the Squares and pusch the Button. But he does not want to hear this.

Help Pixel to find the Secret behind Pixla.

Collect all Rotation Squares and Unlock the Button at the End of each Level.
The Game has 1 Start and End Level and 6 Normal Levels.


Play with:
Walk with A/D or Right/Left
Jump with W or Up or something else

Desktop Version is the Best.
Web Version can be a bit Laggy.
Take a look at the Android Version.

If you want to look in some Dirty Source ... watch the Source.

I made this Game with the SUPER AWESOME game development library libGDX. Thanks for that.

PS.:
Sorry for the Shaking numbers in the HUD. I do not get this to work proper.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#275Audio2.86
#288Fun3.07
#349Humor2.38
#364Overall3.09
#437Mood2.67
#677Graphics2.41
#745Theme2.34
#788Innovation2.09

Comments

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:58pm

Up key is not working :s luckly W is. First i was like hmmm, kinda simple game, but after the first level Wow, the decomposing of the body, the level finish the background cubes, reaaaal cool!

Zerod says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Thanks

Zerod says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:10pm

There is nothing better for a developer as someone likes his games

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:59pm

I really had a lot of fun playing it and it has the old school platformer charm, but there was nothing really ground breaking and the graphics weren't the best in the world. P.S. It was awesome that you added in Mario 1-1 as a level.

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:26am

Game didn't load for me, Windows 7 in IE9.

aeveis says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:27am

It was okay, I would make the collision box on the player a little smaller so the enemies don't collide with the white space near the player. Also hard to jump over enemies if there are a lot and you can't even tell if they are moving when you are moving because the ground is the same color.

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:43am

Pretty solid, I dug the music. I was a little thrown off when the screen zoomed in (I think it was just the big blocks that zoomed maybe?)
Anyway, good game!

Zerod says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Thanks for all the positive reviews.Next time i try to do it better.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Quit stuffing the ballots :@@@

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Ground could use some texture -- gets weird when you see only a solid line below you and are between two purple guys.

Maybe picky about this, or it was a time thing, but I would've liked if all rotations stayed true to the pixely nature of the game (like the green squares do). I don't like seeing rotated pixels... they don't actually do that! In particular, the star at the end of levels.

The enemies looked hilarious. I like when they stacked too.

I liked the frequency of save points.

someone says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:39pm

You seem to have rounding errors or something when drawing the tiles. Sometimes lines appear between them.
Fairly fun for a simple platformer. I liked the dissolve effect, but it could have done with better tile graphics to be able to see movement better.

R3ason says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:40pm

That was fun! THANK YOU for implementing checkpoints! This is actually what encouraged me to play through the entire game: I didn't have to go back and restart the entire thing when I died (and die I did!). Loved the death animation, the enemies, and the background. And the music. Superb! Thanks for sharing!

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:44pm

This is a really nice game, I especially liked the animation with the spinning star when you complete each level. I noticed that on the penultimate level (the one which starts with the long jump then the monsters stacked two-high) if I held jump I could jump into the centre of that first trap and then jump *off nothing* and get a second bounce in mid-air to clear the jump. Aside from that little bug this game presented a really good challenge and was fun to play. I liked that it was quite difficult in places but had unlimited retrys and checkpoints so you could keep playing without getting sent back to the start. Great work :)

zdanielz says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:59pm

didn't work - Windows 7 on Chrome. :(

Lacutis says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:02pm

This was fun. The controls were good and the collision was good. The only bug I really saw is when you die and it puts you back to a checkpoint your velocity isn't reset.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Funny dialogues and great visual concept and good level design. One of the better platformers around here.

raarlac says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Great game! Solid platform. Kept me entertained until the end :)

Jeremias says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Very minimalistic but aesthetic graphics. I really enjoyed the game. I see that you made thoughts about level design, e.g. showing the player, that if he jumps later, there is an enemy etc.. The game itself is a bit too easy.

Web version worked very well.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:25pm

So camp.

scoopsy says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Good execution! I liked the zooming effect, but when it happened often I found myself a little nauseated. Well done though!

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Charming little platformer. :) It seems longer than the idea warrants, but I had fun with it and the unpolished parts (like misspellings and vibrating HUD and so on) add to the charm, for me at least. My favorite is the beginning with everyone warning me not to do the quest. :)

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Overall a good game. Obviously some tuning would improve it, such as adding some texture to the blocks. Also, there didn't seem to be any penalty from falling too far. I enjoyed it, good game!

Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Cool! I like the zooming effect!

Spiridios says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Overall, and enjoyable platformer.

When running the desktop version, a non-scaled resize would be nice. The zooming when I got near large things was a bit distracting. I hate invisible walls that are only there to keep you from wandering off. Maybe just let the player jump to their death or put a visible wall there.

At first I thought the death penalty was pretty weak, but as the levels advanced and got harder, it seemed more balanced, though possibly still on the weak side. The restart checkpoints need a better indicator that you've hit them - at first I didn't know what they were.

JonathanG says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:19pm

This is quite fun, but not very challenging. The graphics are simple but effective, and the story is amusing if a little contrived! I enjoyed the background music too.

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:49pm

solid platformer

jfroco says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:32am

Great art!!! I reminded me a Intellivision game which is excellent. I liked the zoom effect a lot. Music should be 8bit :)

PaulSB says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:00pm

Pretty good! Good work on getting that much level design done, was a good length. And music always helps.

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:23pm

Pretty solid game, in spite of the simple art for the sprites, I really like what you did with the level design (mario! :-P), and the background floating images.

The controls were pretty good, and generally the game was fun - it could have featured a few more difficult jumps, but the overall difficulty was nice.

Thanks for the game!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Well balanced platformer. Starts off easy and gets progressively tougher throughout. No leaps of faith which is a relief. Fun game to play through and good addition of the camera zoom for the big pick-ups.

castor says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:50pm

I played it to the end!

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Cool ideas in the graphics style and the overall mood of the game, I also liked the music! Nice job!

summaky says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:25pm

I don't quite understand the relation with the theme, but even so I had a great time playing this game. I liked specially the music.

derosa says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:49pm

The zoom is kinda annoying, but overall a nice platformer. Not my favorite gender but I enjoyed this one. Thanks!

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:30pm

I loved this entry, great job. The music was wonderful, although I would have liked it to be a bit louder (I had to turn my speakers up a bit too much to hear it better :P ), and there were some pretty devious parts of your level designs. :) I liked the ending too!

edbadiux says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:43am

It felt like a really solid game. I love simple games with beginning and ending. I really liked also the Super Mario Brothers references, that was nice. Keep up the good work.

johanp says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:10am

Pretty nice!

Fireblend says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:43am

Haha, I had to play through the whole thing because of the whole teased secret, and I was not disappointed in the least. Great job! It's not very innovative in terms of gameplay, but it sure was fun to play :D

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]