About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 2 hours, 14 minutes, 29 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 2 hours, 26 minutes, 29 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 3 hours, 14 minutes, 29 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Micro World - Oye Beto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This game is about a microSD which has to copy files in a micro world.
    Move with the mouse, collect data files and avoid microcontrollers.


    Note: The sound volume is low, so if you turn it up, remember to turn it down after playing the game.


    -Alberto de la Mora Gallaga

    View Oye Beto's journal. | View all entries by Oye Beto

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #53Audio3.61
    #176Humor2.84
    #244Fun3.16
    #314Theme3.25
    #314Mood2.88
    #361Graphics3.00
    #387Overall3.05
    #704Innovation2.33

    Comments

    mattchu says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Simple, fun game. My only complaint is that a few times I'd restart and be killed instantly.

    Mach60KAS says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    I like the idea of your project quite a lot - and it's very clear how it ties in with the theme! The happy microSD was a nice touch I must admit, however it seemed as though the circuit patterns were meant to serve a purpose, yet didn't.

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:34am

    I really enjoyed it! Who knew something so simple could be so fun!

    aquasheep says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:37am

    Awesome! I got 97% and then died, and I liked it!

    Good theme, good music, simple, effective gameplay.

    Very well done!

    edbadiux says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Simple, clean, elegant and polished. Good game! (So far 36 seconds is my best).

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:17am

    The music was unexpectedly rad. Clean and surprisingly fun given the simplicity. I was a bit surprised that the green lines didn't seem to matter for gameplay at all, but that didn't actually make the game any harder for me to play. Nice work.

    Killswitch says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Awesome game! You have to move your mouse cursor to get the papers and to avoid the those CPU parts. :P I like the graphics and sounds are just cool. A small setting in a computer system fits the theme well. :D

    chambers says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:42am

    TyrusPeace's comment is exactly everything I wanted to say. My time was 44.9. I hope this wins the Sound category! XD

    mess110 says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:56am

    really fun!

    zazery says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:56am

    Nice and simple but surprisingly fun. Would have liked to see a bit more variety and AI that reacts to the player. Liked the music.

    dukope says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:58am

    Very basic gameplay but it was fun enough to replay until I completed it. I appreciate that there's a goal I'm working towards as opposed to just playing until I die.

    machinas says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:59am

    44.37 fun idea. were the green-wall-looking-tiles supposed to stop movement? I might recommend not spawning enemies near the start / restart buttons. I had one time where I did immediately after starting. You could also make the player immune for a few seconds and count down to give them time to get to safe spot.

    GeraGalvan says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:46am

    Easy but adictive gameplay ;D! The music was a great fusion on the game
    Soo fun And the MicroSD faces were lovely
    39.28 my best soo far Keep the Good work Sr Beto ;3

    Zemmi says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:21am

    I had fun with this, I would change up the background so it looked less like walls though. Maybe less contrast on the background would make it have less depth.

    madflame991 says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    Simple gameplay, neat graphics, nice tune and a bit addictive, bravo!

    Lacutis says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Cute game. I thought the graphics were really good. Everything else was simple but it was fun as a simple, fast paced game.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:36am

    This game is pretty good. I'm not a big fan of mouse-controls, but this game still worked pretty well.

    I liked how this game fit the theme, instead of just having a small planet or something.

    It's kinda weird when this game ends, 'cause it seems like a game that should be endless and get progressively hard. Still it was kinda fitting was a small game.

    Anyways um yeah pretty cool game.

    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:43am

    Nice, simple, fun little game, I suffered from the occasional spawn-death which is my only complaint. Really liked the music and the pixelly graphics. Wandered what the green walls were there for, having them as physical barriers would add to the difficulty if it were to become level-based in the future but overall a great, complete LD entry!

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:37am

    now i know what goes on inside windows XP.

    Scott Baker says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Fun little game. A level up or continuation would be cool, later levels can have powerups with "shields" or "avoiders". But fun little game.

    Great sound and music. Nicely done.

    Datamosh says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    Really addictive mini game! At first glance I was confused about what I had to do, or if I had to use the keys. Even if it was a Pacman labyrinth style. But don't worry, turned out more enjoyable than all that :)

    Love the music too! Good job!

    Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Nice take on the avoider-genre! Didn't like the music re-starting, it was a nice track I wanted to hear all the way through.

    mooosh says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 2:12am

    surprisingly addictive :0

    I liked the graphics; they were simple, but the colors were quite nice. I do kind of wish it were just a little more complex.

    I think it would be cool if the blip sounds from picking up files went along with the music.

    NebulaOrbit says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 8:14am

    The graphics are extremely good, and the facial expression of the SD card makes me smile :D

    summaky says ...
    May 2, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    Very basic gameplay but I found it charming nonetheless.

    KungPhoo says ...
    May 3, 2012 @ 4:54pm

    Good stuff. I liked the music. Top!
    I got 100%, 40 sec - is that right?

    It played a bit fast, so the enemies are pretty dull. Maybe when they moved slower, but with some more intelligent pattern it might have been cooler. Also the maze-background didn't have any meaning other than graphics here. Was that on purpose?

    Shifty says ...
    May 4, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    Fun and addictive game! Like it! Great tunes!

    Pavel Dlouhy says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    I like it! It is nice! Thank you! ;) Score: 100% Time: 52.34 ;)

    Hume says ...
    May 8, 2012 @ 12:20am

    Oh dear.

    I think there's something wrong with my experience -- the mouse was very slow (~1 update per second) and got slower as the game progressed. It was pretty much uncontrollable.

    I probably shouldn't rate based on that experience, because I don't see anybody else with the same complaint. Sorry.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    Damn controllers! :) Nice music.

    dr_soda says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 7:15am

    Is it just me or does it seem like the circuit board pattern should act as walls? Simply running your mouse around the screen to avoid the randomly moving enemies while picking up files with no collision detection on what appear to be walls just feels odd.

    The music is particularly nice though, and the graphics are cute.

    cmo7 says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 10:16am

    I love the cute SD card icon xD

    Kvisle says ...
    May 11, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Neat, but I'm a bit confused if the walls had a purpose - or if it's one of those unfinished features that you hoped to implement but didn't quite make.

    Other than that; Pretty solid. Fun, neat.

    csanyk says ...
    May 12, 2012 @ 4:37pm

    Nice music. It's fun, but gets boring before you get to 100% -- if you incrementally step up the challenge, you could have something pretty decent. One thing I didn't understand is why the background appears to have walls, but everything in the game seems to ignore them.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 6:28pm

    The engine is there and seems to work perfectly, and it was fun enough as is. But it seemed like the walls were meant to do something. Either way, great work for 48 hours.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]