Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Prince of Leaves

by evilseanbot - Jam Entry

Journey through the forest to save your mouse friend in this recreation of a Japanese folk talk. Use stealth tactics and needlepoint skills to ambush ant slavers. Enjoy a sing a long.

(Note: The web version was added after the jam ended, but is the exact same game. Has been tested for Windows and osX, and I assume it works on Linux)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#18Audio(Jam)3.94
#36Humor(Jam)3.36
#39Mood(Jam)3.47
#53Fun(Jam)3.31
#61Overall(Jam)3.46
#82Graphics(Jam)3.65
#117Theme(Jam)3.02
#196Innovation(Jam)2.37

Comments

matt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:14am

What a cute game.

Budda says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:32am

Awesome little game.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:36am

I just caught myself humming the song! It is a great song :D I also really liked the graphics, but the game is not that innovative.

SBareS says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:43am

This game is really pretty, good job!

tequibo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:39am

I liked hand drawn crayon intro the most and rabbit in a cure t-shirt was rad. Controls feels slow and not comfortable. I spammed leafs all the time. I haven't finished canyon after 4 tries, so rabbit was right. Those wasps.
Nice song too.
Overall - cute, and reminded me of greatest animated show of all times - Adventure Time!

Jeremias says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:49am

Nice audio (singing the controls, very neat idea) and amusing graphics. The stealth is a nice gameplay tweak, but there should be more tactics and variations in using them as just hitting the stealth button one second before an attack.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:14am

Very cute - and love having the tutorial in the music! As much as I love foreground and background styles, they do clash a bit ^_^ Definitely has an 'Adventure Time' vibe to it. Cheers!

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:32am

This is a nice platformer - I was half way into the caves at the end of the game before I realised I could move while hiding in the leaves! ;) it's an odd mix of artistic style with the oil-painting background and the retro-sprite foreground, but it works well enough. Well done :)

Tifu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:11am

Wow... I don't think I've ever seen a Ludum Dare game with a song in it before. Awesome. Nice game, though holding stealth then stabbing people makes things easy =D

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:58am

oh man, what a sweet game<3 i love everything! Well done :)

kasarun says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:15am

Great song and graphism makes me nostalgic (cool animation)...

JonathanG says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:30am

Enjoyed playing along to the song, lovely atmosphere too!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:34am

Cute game :) Music is simply awesome!

netmute says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:44am

Can't rate because I'm using a Mac. Sorry :(

attagcatc says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:50am

The movement felt a bit sluggish, and the stealth mechanics felt a bit unnecessary but overall a nice platformer.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:12pm

This song will be in my head the rest of my life! Real fun game! also really long

JaJ says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Best music in a game so far!

raarlac says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:10am

My only Audio 5 stars :D Cute. Nice graphics also.

hulahulahest says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:29pm

The graphics are the high point, although I would have wished for more consistency and more elaborate foregrounds.

Unfortunately, I had to turn off my speakers; the music, while technically proficient, I'm sure, is just not something I want to listen to. The game itself is kinda slow and takes too long without anything interesting happening, unfortunately.

Jiddo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Hehe, I really like the song in the background and the great graphics. Also, the game works just fine on Linux if you just add the Linux natives for LWJGL to the jar-file and change the name of OutofLeaves.wav to OutOfLeaves.wav (capital O). The same should work for Mac. Great work!

GFM says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:43pm

I really liked how the song tells the game history and give intructions on how-to-play. =D

devince says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:13am

Very good game! Nice graphism, music and gameplay, well done.

Dracir says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:22am

Mood 5/5 :D, that was a really cute game !(except for the random game speed o_O).
The music is awesome :D

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:11am

Very cute and such a fun little game to play to ^^ Makes me smile everytime i play it!

sampyxis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:14am

That was fantastic - great game - love the hand painted background and the catchy tune..

robcozzens says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:22am

I would have tried it if you had a Web or OSX version.

machinas says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 5:28am

I am giving you 5 stars for audio because the song is awesome. nice job on the game.

R3ason says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:13am

Pretty good! Yes, audio was definitely the show stealer :D Thanks!

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:37am

Web version link gives me just black page.

Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:37am

*blank page

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:57am

Its normally black for a few seconds before the title screen goes on. Is it lasting longer than that for you?

netguy204 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:53am

Nice work!

The music was super classy. I liked it. It will be in my head for the rest of the day at least. The graphics looked good and the glowing orbs in the foreground and parallax background really added some nice depth. I really liked the painted background. That looked superb! I also really liked the random characters that gave me tips along the way.

You used the theme well. I wouldn't say it was an innovative use of the theme or innovative gameplay but it was a clear use of the theme and the gameplay was complete.

The controls felt slow to me. Somehow that made the experience less adventuresome.

Excellent work! It was nice to look at and enjoyable to play.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:57pm

Cute and fun, whats more to say :) !

Gabriel says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Very cute! Perfect for a child game, for example! The tune is also catchy and, summed with the painted BG, gives this entry a very strong personality that totally stands out of generic game themes. Congratulations, very charming!

firstrowgames says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:31am

cute charming graphics.
Also nice song :)

BuffaloPhil says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:42am

A+ for details like singing the instructions, and a hand painted background. Clever stuff!

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:14am

Very cute, loved the character design from the names down to the small details of the hat and sword. Supporting cast was spinoff-worthy as well. I loved how the rabbit was the one to speak to you right before the jump puzzle. Martin the Mouse looked like more of a badass though, I wish I could have played as him! Visually, the painted background was gorgeous but really clashed and had me wishing the level tiles were in the same style. Also, the scaling-alpha death animation seemed like it was from another game altogether. The hide mechanic was nice, and reminded me of Blackthorne one of my favorite platformers. I didn't have to use it the entire game though... until the very end! Which was quite awesome. The song was hilarious but the sound effects were a bit grating. Game feel wise, it seemed like the main character moved pretty sluggishly. Not sure if that's because there was a disconnect between the walk cycle animation or if was an issue of absolute speed. Also, I found that I could defeat ants by hitting attack well before they were near my character. Anyways, nice adventure!

Drabiter says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:57am

The title is very eyecatching :D Great game, and yes for java!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:22pm

CUTE AS HECK! Loved everything about it.

Jigxor says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:28pm

That was awesome! Definitely one of my favourite games in the jam! I really loved the song and the painted background. The whole game was cute and beautiful to look at.

Awesome game! Well done :)

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Cooooool game! I love it :) Congratulations :D

omaha says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Fun and loved the music/sounds. The characters' movements could have been fleshed out a bit more to provide better feedback on the controls.

It felt a bit laggy/slow, some added pace will do wonders.

Fireblend says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

Wow, this game is pretty charming! Absolutely love the incredibly coherent style. I wish there was some way to recover lost life, but then again it's an easy game so that'd probably remove all sense of danger :P Also, I had to leave the window open so I could keep listening to the song; amazing job!

Shadow says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:52am

Needs a bit of polish but man, that was F*CKING adorable...
(and warm... and.... fuzzy)

dr_soda says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:00am

You could sell this song and make MILLIONS! It literally makes this game. In other respects the game is rather generic, but the song absolutely pushes it up a notch by all measures.

From a technical perspective, I feel like the controls are generally solid though the jumps feel a bit floaty. The fact that the ants don't telegraph their attacks make them more dangerous than they might otherwise be. The stealth aspect is interesting but not explored to its fullest here.

The various NPC characters are wonderful.

Congratulations!

Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:19am

I like the idea, but I would have loved to see some heavier use of stealth. Like right now, in fear of using up all my stealth bar I ended up not really using it that much. Also the character felt a bit floaty. But other than that it was pretty fun!

hungyg says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:34pm

the music was AWESOME! but repetitive. the game was really cute and good!

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:00am

Very charming game.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:06am

When i closed the game window, the background music kept looping in my head. Nice audio, nice visuals and overall nice atmosphere. :)

DainVadda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:47pm

Thats a really cute game you made there :-)

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:25am

That was a really nice game. Cleverly done, and I love the handpainted background.

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I love it! It's cute, it's funny, it's a platformer for slowpokes like me :) The music is just awesome, was it recorded via a wine glass?

KevinWorkman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:15am

This is adorable. Great little platformer, cute visuals, and an awesome song. Great job.

jeffz says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:43am

good work on the graphics and the music, the platformer itself I became bored of. Sometimes the graphics would shimmer, not scroll smoothly (float rounding?)

uprightpath says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:47am

It was a cute game, and the song was nice, however having something else to listen to at some point during it might have been nice.

I didn't actually see a use for 'hiding' until late on in the game because I didn't realize that you could still walk. xD

Nora Shishi says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:26pm

I liked the handmade atmosphere, especially the music and the background! The level is long enough to enjoy too!

Datamosh says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Rally beautiful visuals you got here! Overall, fun and well made. Good job!

May 3, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Cute game. Could have been a bit more polished but the gameplay was okay. The cloaking ability was cool but bit of useless because it was too easy to just rush and OHKO everything. great game though, nice song too.

j0n says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 3:19pm

Best jam game I've played so far. Music will be forever etched in my memory. Good job, you guys should make more games.

derosa says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Haha well done! I really enjoyed it. The music was fun too. Thanks!

Make A Game says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 9:45pm

I liked the tutorial song and the painted background!

Ishisoft says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 10:54am

Charming game! The platforming was a bit floaty, though I ended up appreciating that on the chasm section, as I didn't know if it had continue points or not. Only died once near the start before I figured out how to utilise the stealth.

Hume says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:40pm

That's the first game I've ever played that sang the instructions.

I love the painted parallax background and the friendly interactions that serve as checkpoints. The player sword hit area was pretty generous; I was able to do falling attacks near ants with it extended that surprised me as they hit.

I enjoyed this a lot. Thanks.

Tom 7 says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 12:47am

Very charming. I love the hand-painted background graphics, and the theme song is great too (though it is a bit repetitive for it to be the only music in the game). Fighting the ants was actually pretty challenging; it takes some timing. The other enemies were comparatively easy. I liked the other adventurers I encountered along the way. :)

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 4:18pm

the "painted" background render well but to me, goes not very well with other graphics. Plus, the game seems a little slow.

BUT : this is a really complete game. Well polished and all the game mechanism works well !

Good job :)

May 7, 2012 @ 6:45pm

I really enjoyed your game. The graphics and audio really got me in the mood.

tcstyle says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:37pm

What a great game. Double plus for the hand- or rather mouthmade sound effects and music. This creates a real unique mood. The hiding mechanic also is great.

ghRibacki says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Very good game! Loved the graphics and the audio. Funny lyrics and sfx! The only things I didn't like were the character speed (could be a little faster) and I got an exception at the end (after the credits, I believe):

org.newdawn.slick.SlickException: Game.update() failure - check the game code.
at org.newdawn.slick.GameContainer.updateAndRender(GameContainer.java:663)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$Container.runloop(AppletGameContainer.java:514)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:218)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)

I played the web version on a Windows 7.

Good work, guys! =)

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:21pm

This is totally fun! Needle swords are the only way to go. (And they are not a toy!)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 1:53pm

YAH

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 12:30am

Metal Gear Solid meets platforming? :) Absolutely loved it. The music giving instructions was a great touch.

Also, the background is ridiculously beautiful, was it actually painted?

May 10, 2012 @ 8:53pm

What a gorgeous game. Great job!

May 11, 2012 @ 2:30am

Definitely the most well-rounded game I've played this time around. My fiancee and I loved the music, graphics, and story. You did an excellent job! There needs to be more singalong games!

orangepascal says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:23pm

the game mechanics are not awesome.. but the art and sound make up for that !

Jacic says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Very nice! My only complaint is that the jump sound sometimes gets in the way of the song. :D

envy3d says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:52am

Great music and I also liked the stealthy aspect.

caranha says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 1:53am

Awesome game! I find myself singing along with the song towards the end (Stockholm Syndrome?).

You should totally have added that game over screen you mention in your journal.

About the level design, I didn't like the "you just fit in" stairs very much: even if there is no game penalty for it, it feels kinda bad hitting your character's head each step of the way down :-P

Great game!

jfroco says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:31am

It's hard not to give you 5 stars in Audio :) I didn't like the mix of styles in the foreground and background, but anyway great gfx and game. Congrats

johanp says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:35am

I love the background song! Very fun! It's a nice platformer although I felt it was a bit sluggish. Never saw any reason to use the stealth power either so some more dynamic mechanics would have been nice.

SonnyBone says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Now that song is stuck in my head!!! doot doot doodadooda doot dooo!! Rad game!

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:26pm

I just came back to hear the themesong.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]