Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Tank Commander - quill18 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

GUEST ACCOUNT:
Login: [email protected]
Password: ludumdare

Keep in mind that you will be seeing each-other's games! Please try to avoid confusing yourselves. :)

Feel free to challenge me (quill18) -- I'll try to be as responsive as possible!


---

Fish Tank Commander is a multiplayer, turn-based tactics game set in the world's most violent aquarium. Your goldfish and seahorses will battle your opponent's bettas and turtles for dominance of the tank!

Every win and lose is tracked and you will be ranked using Elo Ratings -- the same as professional chess players. You also earn XP for every game, which unlocks huge e-Peen!

A full map editor is built right in, and users can vote for their favorites. Make your own maps, then own people with it!

Fish Tank Commander was programmed in Ruby on Rails and JavaScript using Sublime Text 2 and Gimp and is hosted on Heroku. Full source code is available on GitHub!

---

The entire game creation was streamed live and recorded at: http://www.twitch.tv/quill18

View quill18's journal. | View all entries by quill18

Ratings

#333Humor2.42
#380Overall3.06
#425Innovation2.94
#540Fun2.63
#595Mood2.43
#715Theme2.44
#765Graphics2.19
#777Coolness39%

Comments

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:41pm

While it might be good, making people sign up for an account is probably not the way to go.

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:44pm

there needs to be a guest account, I don't really want to create an account on your site just to play your entry.

pbackx says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:57pm

It's a little difficult to get an opponent because you can only challenge one guy and not just wait for the first one that appears (or maybe I missed this in the interface?)
Otherwise, nice idea and very impressive for only 48 hours.

bwdevel says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:00pm

I'd love to rate, but no way am I creating an account... imagine if all 1000+ submitted games took this path.

You should have made it anonymous play with no logins.

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Yeah I gotta agree, signing up for an account is a pain in the arse. Guest account please!

quill18 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:11pm

This game rapidly progressed from something I wanted to just make for the compo into something that's going to turn into a real product, shippable product in the vein of "Chess with Friends" and such (in my dev copy I'm already adding Facebook integration and ensuring iOS/Android compatibility).

Unfortunately, by moving in that direction I've ended up with something that isn't well suited to a quick playthrough for voting purposes. In hindsight I focused too much on the user-account rankings and map editing and should have made - for this competition - an anonymous queuing with just the core gameplay.

On the other hand, then I probably wouldn't have a product I felt was on the verge of being shippable.

Blah. Decisions are hard.

TL;DR: I'm certain my score will for this compo will suck, but I'm okay with it.

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:19pm

I made Summoner's Rift (The League of Legends map) for real!
http://fishtankcommander.com/maps/1341

Also making Crystal Scar and Twisted Treeline (The real ones!)

Look for the maps with "Real" prefix!

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:37pm

All 3 League of Legends maps!

Summoner's Rift http://fishtankcommander.com/maps/1341
Twisted Treeline http://fishtankcommander.com/maps/1344
Crystal Scar http://fishtankcommander.com/maps/1346

quill18 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:41pm

<3 for the LoL maps :)

Keirua says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:16pm

It doesn't matter if there is a login thing and people think it is not in the spirit of LD. It totally is. You got ideas during the weekend, you probably learnt a lot and this will make you go on in the future, so in my opinion this is, for you, totally in the spirit of LD.

Nocturne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Interesting concept, but (as you have realised) not really adequate to the competition... However I wish you the best of luck with the continuation of this project as it is very promising!

iFred_QC says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:17pm

I'd have to say too, this is one of the RARE LD48 games that will make it out alive after the voting ends!

Just make sure to advertise about it somewhere else than here! And good luck!

wibblymat says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:10am

Challenged a bunch of people, no one ever took a go. Not rated because not playable.

wgemigh says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:16am

It took starting a couple of games to figure out the basics. It was also a bit slow, although that's probably just because so many people are trying it right now.

It's a cool concept and I like the silly aquarium theme. I would have liked more difference between the units. The betta and the goldfish in particular seemed too similar.

I look forward to seeing an updated version!

Catman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:51pm

I love turn-based strategy games! :)

Good job on the game, I'd like to see some animations and especially more feedback on what happens during your moves!

You should speed up a bit the initial phase, all the fish get stuck easily.

Otherwise, keep up the good work!

oldtopman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:11pm

I definitely have to give you points for ambition. Throwing together a MOTBS over 48 hours cannot be easy. However, playing the game becomes a bit of a grind for a few reasons: no realtime updating, you have to rely on messages. No lobby, so you have to track down someone willing to have a match. No animations at all, leaving me wondering whether or not my damage took. Not enough movement or strategy when it comes to the fights, half of the game is just trying to move into a battle-ish shape. The infrastructure is un-nesecarrily complicated for such a small game. It does work well though.

Overall: Great aspirations, but too many flaws for me to see to the gameplay behind. 3/5

quill18 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone! I've just hit 100 issues on Github and have already closed 33 tickets (primarily on my dev site). I have 2 months of work already mapped out to turn this into a truly enjoyable, competitive game. This includes much better matchmaking and social tools (such as chatting), not to mention many gameplay changes including rules changes and new units.

I can't wait for the voting to be over so I can push out some new changes! (As is, I'm trying to restrict my changes to site-breaking performance issues, plus the text on the front page.)

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:27am

I got the message: "We're sorry, but something went wrong."

Kvisle says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:16pm

I got the message: "We're sorry, but something went wrong." when attempting to log in.

cantorfew says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:11pm

I have to give you points (lots) for the technical aspect since the matching system is working fine. I'd still suggest focusing on gameplay and making it easier to play first (long term project or not). It does need to have an account system, for example, especially if that's not the selling point of the game.

Unfortunately, like many others, I wasn't able to play a game since I couldn't see who is available (and could only challenge one person).

Still I'd like to see more entries like this.

I also get the "We're sorry, but something went wrong." error each time I try to return to the games list.

robcozzens says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:50am

We're sorry but something went wrong.

Datw says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 12:38am

The game seems to be fun, but I won't create a account to play it. Good luck shipping it though, your choice was (probably?) the best :)

minimicro says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 3:10pm

Nice ! LoL maps ;)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]