April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from Minimars

by Adhesion - Jam Entry

NEW: post-competition version added. Should help with some performance issues in Chrome.

-----

Robolove... what can be done?

X to jump. C to shoot lazer. Shake dudes off.

ESCAPE FROM MINIMARS

Hint: try to finish the game without committing genocide!

-----

Made with melonJS.

known issues:
Collision is a bit wonky on chrome. Firefox generally works best (though audio on Linux FF may be a bit weird)
Performance is also a bit weird in Windows Chrome, depending on the level. Post-competition version fixes this somewhat.
Uses lots o' memory. Probably an issue with melonJS.

Credits:
Team RADMARS:
adhesion - Code, Music, SFX, Level Design
emarcotte - Code, Level Design
mroushey - Code, Art, Level Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#7Audio(Jam)4.12
#12Graphics(Jam)4.45
#23Humor(Jam)3.67
#24Fun(Jam)3.64
#32Mood(Jam)3.57
#32Overall(Jam)3.74
#167Innovation(Jam)2.65
#187Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

travislucia says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:34pm

This game is incredible! Great graphics, music, all around a classic style arcade platformer that is is as simple as it is fun! Well done!

rvmook says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:43am

Great art, music and very fun to play

kasarun says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:49am

Great game! At first i find it strange that we can only shoot lazor down, then i understand :D

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Fabulous game. Didn't know what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised.

oldtopman says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:43am

Awesome game, but gets too laggy at level 3. 4/5

Darien says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:45am

I like it. Did find a bit of a bug, though -- I fell out of the level on the right side of level seven, but I didn't die. I just ended up falling out of the level and couldn't do anything but quit.

ElzingaT says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:50am

Great job! This is my favorite entry so far. I got 384 kills and died once because I fell off the map in one of the later levels.

Terra says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:03am

I am an inhumane monster!

I loved this! Was a lot of fun. Controls are rally great. Those little people were hilarious. Why do they love me so much? D:

I got some huge framerate drops starting from level 3 (I'm using chrome) :( It was under 20 for a lot of the time, but the game was still playable at least (albeit slow).

Adhesion says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:11am

Can people that are having issues say what browser & OS they're using? Thanks!

I've seen some lag in Chrome on Windows - not sure why (when I tried it on the same machine in Firefox it was fine). Haven't seen the falling issue with level 7 yet myself, I'll try and take a look.

Rybar says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:06am

Graphics and music are very very good! I love run-n-guns, so this is fantastic. The giant laser was very satisfying to use, but kind of dissapointed it didn't require accuracy of any kind; it simply killed everything on the screen. Could use a little more variety, and more difficulty. My health never dipped below 80%, it'd be nice to have to knock them off when you have more than a few latched on, maybe your gun is disabled till you can shake them off? Pretty incredible all around for 48 hours. High scores from me!

jwolf says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:12am

Pretty good! I like the concept and the music, and I love that laser beam animation. The gameplay could use a bit more variation, but altogether it's a solid game.

I do seem to be having a major issue with the sound on my end -- the sound effects keep interrupting the music, which is kind of jarring. I have not seen any framerate issues that others have been reporting, however.

I'm using Firefox 12.0 on Win 7, if that helps you debug.

sampyxis says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:14am

Wow - great game! Loved everything about it - great job.

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:32am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Decent game all-round. I was a little annoyed on level 4 where some text popped up but not long enough for me to read it. Other than that I thought this was a great effort and the little dudes were really cute.

moonmagic says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:53am

I loved the graphics and I did not want to kill the persons, but occasionally I had to. I enjoyed the emotional turbulence I felt as the robot fired his laser and turbojets, the only possibly actions. No wonder he wanted to escape; he was destroying the citizens that loved him because he wasn't able to do anything else. I found the game slightly long. I enjoyed the change of backgrounds, but without the addition of more challengingly codependent people, I did not feel like I was truly progressing. I wanted to escape, but the task seemed overwhelming. I jumped off a cliff, rather than destroy more innocent lives.

Still it chides me. They wanted hugs. I gave them laser death.

zeh says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:37pm

moonmagic, allow me to disagree.

Henry Thoreau once said that "the mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation". When you ponder this, it becomes clear that the fundamental metaphor this game envelops is not one of destruction.

Think about it. Men is on an eternal quest for the unattainable goal of happiness eternal. In this game, men - perhaps as an illustration of how diminutive our goal and soul really is - is represented by tiny little men of ridiculous competence. Their happiness, yes, their goal, is symbolized by a huge fucking laser robot.

They all want it. They are carelessly driven towards it. They don't care about cliffs, laser beams, rocket fire, or being stomped. But their goal is a lie; they can't get it. They die in the attempt; even if they manage to touch it, to touch the robot, to touch the object of their desire, they get so attached to it that there's nothing else they can do other than wait for their inevitable death, their imminent demise.

The sad truth is, we are not the robot. You think you're controlling it. No. You're just being taught a lesson by steering the end of your own life back and forth in time. No, we are not the robot; instead, we are the little, tiny men.

You see, the robot is not bringing death. It is bringing salvation, showing the tiny men the futility of their resolve.

Oh, I also loved the music. Thumbs up!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Great job! Overall really well executed. Graphics and sound are top notch. My biggest complaint is that which humans died when I fired the laser seemed completely unrelated to which humans were actually in the path of said laser. This may be the collision issue with Chrome you mentioned, but I saw it in Firefox too. I would have liked *some* kind of powerup or different kind of enemy - with nine levels it can feel pretty repetitive. And I wish you had worked the theme into the gameplay more than just calling it "MiniMars".

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:14am

This is some pro stuff, guys! The graphics are great, and the music is wonderful. Ultimately the game is pretty repetitive and easy (except accidentally jumping off the edges of the world) and I did have weird performance on Chrome, but this is probably HTML5's fault more than yours. I played through to the end with like 314 kills.

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:16am

moonmagic and zeh, you write good reviews. :)

R3ason says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:18am

Pretty fun! Really good, solid platformer! Thanks!

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:19am

I'm impressed with the quality of music, great composition!
Art is another strong aspect of this game, animations look great.

I had fun, good job!

keenblaze says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:03am

Very fun!!

summaky says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 7:08am

Awesome pixel art and the game play is just... perfect. The link with the theme is a little weak, I believe.

bompo says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:00am

Great pixel style!

Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:00am

Awesome lazer! Interesting take on the theme, great sound and art. I liked it.

Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:38am

Very nice platformer. I really like the giant robot! Nice visuals too! All in all near perfect.

Tourgen says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:40pm

AHAHAH FANTASTIC! I love this game. I got 460 kills. Not bad! The music is awesome, the pixel art is awesome. The game is pretty fun and has solid controls and movement. I had serious slow-downs in level 7 and 9 - erratic framerates.

GFM says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:52pm

So... I'm a robot that can smash or disintegrate (with a goddamn lazer) tiny people? Awesome game! xD

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:38pm

I enjoyed the theme of this game. I was surprised at how much it slowed down, though, and often the laser killed everyone on the screen. Eventually my robot turned invisible. I like the fact that is laser is pointed down.

armornick says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:09am

Fun platformer. The art looks wonderful. You should definitely do more with this.

Make A Game says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:54pm

The graphics made it for me. Se music was cool up until the moment it stop, only the SFX sounds played. I didn't really understood why all the tiny guys loved me, but hey, free hugs. :D Wish the gameplay got a bit more diverse torwards the end of the game, but good job, guys :)

Running on Chrome, by the way. The colisions didn't seem a problem.

Gornova says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:38pm

414 kills. You should work on level design, after some time could be boring.

graphic and sounds are awesome!

deejorg says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Great game overall, graphics and sound work out really well and the gameplay is good. It could have more variety in the challenge as we progress though.

mildmojo says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 3:34am

I may have to take a closer look at melonJS (or just your code), the performance in FF 12 OSX was phenomenal. Smooth, always 50+ fps, didn't even engage the laptop fan. Pretty much played like a native game. I racked up 460 kills, so I'm a monster. =)

Excellent job on the art and sound. There could've been a couple more sfx for the robot walking and people coming on screen, but it was good as is. I can't believe you had the time to design 10 decently-sized levels. Gameplay was pretty easy; I think the platforming mechanics could've been stressed a bit more. As is, it felt a little like Stompy Robot Canabalt with Lasers. It would help to have clearer landmarks when you need to double back on your path, too, so players don't accidentally leap into the void.

Fun game, very polished.

orgarus says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 11:27am

The best music I heard from this LD edition (until now) Great art. The weak point of this game is that is a bit repetitive (for my taste). BUt is a very good job though.
Congratulations!

marudziik says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Very good entry. I love the music. Have seen some framerate drops in last 2 levels, but nothing game breaking. But while it's so fun and pretty, I don't see the connection to the theme. Kudos for sharing the soundtrack!

Scott Baker says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Fantastic game. + points for MelonJS, a free engine I think is great.

I had huge frame rate drops as well. I had a similar problem with one of my games where the enemy objects were animating / doing stuff off screen. But I didn't check your code, and I think that was fixed in a later version of MelonJS, can't remember.

I couldn't quite figure out the laser hit box. Or rather, how exactly the laser killed the baddies. Seemed like if I jumped, random baddies would die. But still very cool.

Music is top-notch. Thoughts of Sega Genesis immediately popped into my head. Can't say enough how great the music is.

Graphics were well thought and matched, very well done.

Overall, great job. I had a lot of fun.

jimmypaulin says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 7:39pm

Excellent aesthetics, the graphical tiles / segments are beautiful and evoke mars really well. The robot animations are lovely and the little people are cute so you *almost* feel bad vaporising them. It'd be cool to know how many you murdered haha ;) An amusing take on the theme and a coherent experience. I found it quite straightforward to play and perhaps some dynamic elements in the environment would have made it more exciting? All in all really good work

MinerCraftGuy says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 1:20am

Incredible game, love the little men clamping on the main figure

Jerm says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:40am

Wow, very polished game with a nice arcarde feel. I quite liked the progression in backgrounds as you got further away from MiniMars. The gameplay was a bit repetitive though, but I played through to the end a couple of times (got 500 kills the first time, then about 260 the second time).

May 12, 2012 @ 10:08pm

The graphics were absolutely amazing! Mood gets top marks as well!

alexandervrs says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Graphics were pretty good. The setting and gameplay was getting pretty boring though, and as far as the controls are concerned, I'd like to be able to control the laser, maybe keyboard+mouse controls could work better here. :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]