April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

The return of The Lost Viking vs Tiny Predator IIX

by lasseastrup - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with XNA, Paint.NET and SoundRecorder.

I began late saturday, so I didn't have the time to include all the stuff i wanted. I'd really have liked different weapons, more enemy types and powerups.

But nevermind all that - you get to kill tiny predators (and spaniards, australians and germans)!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#245Humor2.64
#494Fun2.69
#571Audio2.12
#720Overall2.50
#757Mood2.09
#815Innovation2.00
#817Graphics2.04
#862Theme1.88

Comments

character says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:48pm

Pretty straight forward game. A little hard to get through some of the doorways. Maybe shrink the players collision box a little. I like the Atari style graphics. Needs some more lovin'

MaskedPixel says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Guten Tag!

cadin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Sorry, I can't play since I only have a Mac.

Wampus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:53pm

I'm getting a dropbox 500 error when I try to download. Here is the text:-

Error
Something went wrong. Don't worry, your files are still safe and the Dropboxers have been notified. Check out our Help Center and forums for help, or head back to home.

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Download works now, hahahaha the sounds are awesome, though there is a mistake in a level, i got trapped inside a wall

lasseastrup says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Yea - The maps are autogenerated (I spent way to much time on that algorithm) and it seems i missed something somewhere. Dang! :)

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Nice randomly generated dungeon. I can see how it could become pretty nice with more content.

MurrayL says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:47pm

This game was hard! Perhaps make sure there are no enemies too close to the doorways when you enter a room?

piman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:19pm

I can't rate this because I don't have a Windows system. Sorry.

lanoiadimuu says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Your level generator's room reminded me a bit of Zelda series. I liked it.

character says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:18am

After playing this some more, it's starting to grow on me. I raised my rating a bit to reflect the extra enjoyment I got out of shooting hawtdogs in the face in random levels.

lasseastrup says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:28am

Awesome! :) - I'd really have liked to add more kind of monsters that behave differently and shoot and stuff. That along with various powerups and different weapons - oh well, one can only do so much in 24 hours :(

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:06am

Couldn't run on linux (using wine)

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:46pm

can't test, requires XNA4 which does not run on linux under WINE

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Nice! It's kinda like smash tv but with dudes who say something like "Gutentag" all the time. It's also hard as hell!

caranha says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Hmmmm, it was interesting that you decided to make a continuation of your LD22 game, but I think you might have left some leftover code: the pause screen reads "the game is paused, but you are still alone".

I really liked the dynamic with the enemies accelerating when you shoot them. The predator fight was good as well. The enemies were ... hotdogs? :-) Also, good work on the auto-generated maps.

There was a small bug that sometimes you would enter a new room, and the enemy already spawned on top of you.

It would be nice if your old game was still up for continuity sake, and so that we could compared how you improved! :-D

Cheers!

lasseastrup says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:29pm

hah, nice catch with the pause screen - i totally forgot to change the text :P
It is a continuation yea - When I wrote the last game I felt there was a lot more I wanted to do, so this was a chance to do many of those things :)
I'll put my old game up when i get home.

May 10, 2012 @ 4:59pm

When I saw this I thought of The Lost vikings on GBA. It wasn't =(. Could have done with some more variety.

someone says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:09pm

XNA games don't run on Linux using Wine.

machinas says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:07pm

the enemy AI is pretty impossible to avoid damage from in the narrow corridor rooms. I played until a south-leading door trapped me in the wall of a room that had no corresponding north passage.

maxman43 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:24am

I would play this if there were a web version. You should consider doing a web version for future games.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]