About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 23 hours, 45 minutes, 35 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 23 hours, 57 minutes, 35 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 0 hours, 45 minutes, 35 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 23

    April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rush Hour - Cryptoporticus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Try to fly to the top of the screen whilst avoiding the traffic.

    - Move with the arrow keys.
    - Use Z or X to break (If you are level 2 in control.)
    - Collect fuel to fly longer.
    - Collect stars to get money.
    - Avoid other vehicles.

    View Cryptoporticus's journal. | View all entries by Cryptoporticus

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #333Humor2.42
    #366Fun2.94
    #404Audio2.54
    #410Mood2.71
    #524Overall2.81
    #567Innovation2.63
    #625Graphics2.50
    #889Theme1.57

    Comments

    jeroenimooo says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Real awesome idea. Somtimes flying is a bit hard, but that is ok.

    Polar says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Can't play it - any chance of releasing a Mac version (what is it compiled in) - oh, and you forgot the source...

    De10ter says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Hmm,
    Not sure how I feel about this one.
    Not sure if the obsatcles change as you go higher since I rarely got past more than a few rows. It'd be nice if there was some dificulty scaling and perhaps an indication of how high you currently are.
    Also I'm not sure what the obstacles were and was often disorientated and left wondering if they were staying still and the viewport was moving or not.
    Despite all that I did find it addictive and had many attempts to reach ever higher.
    Not sure how it fits the theme though.

    davidllanos22 says ...
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    I've been playing for 30 minutes but did'nt reach te top :s I will try again later! Good job! :)

    Catman says ...
    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:33am

    It's hard but fun!!!

    Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:13pm

    Flying is alright when one gets hang of it, but the gameplay is too repeative, there is just one type of obstacle and its way too hard to get more cash because how random and fast the starts are.

    blob says ...
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Fun game ! It seems luck is THE thing to buy first, stars are so rare otherwise. Brakes are a life saver.

    It lacks variety though, always the same as you go up.
    Had to force quit the game too, dunno if there was a better way.

    Game doesnt seem to have anything to do with the theme though. But well, you made a game in 48h !

    Tourgen says ...
    Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:21am

    Wow pretty hard but well executed. The controls are pretty decent and everything is nice and smooth. I made it up quite a ways a few times but never to the top. Getting fuel was really tough.

    artefon says ...
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:00am

    Awesome idea and game! Even with some emulation slow down, the game was really fun. You should work on this postcomp.
    Great entry.

    spiral says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:20am

    Punishing! Had fun dying a bit. Never made it to the top but I'm impatient!

    No theme but well done! :D

    Cake&Code says ...
    Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:27am

    Flying around is really hard! I almost always ran out of fuel or died trying to get some. That's not to say it's a bad thing it's so hard, I just wish I'd gotten to go higher and see if there was more variety to the skyworld xD

    Visually it's well done and the controls feel solid. I love when the helicopter thing crashes and the pieces go flying out and hit more obstacles and then explode. Every game needs a good set of explosions.

    Wrapping the screen was an interesting choice, and it made some things easier and others harder. In any case, nice game! :)

    pbackx says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    A little too hard for me. I only managed to pick up fuel once. I kept crashing when I tried. Is there a hidden option to turn on a tractor beam? :)
    With some adjustments, I think this could be made into a nice little casual game ... or more.

    schizofunky says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Controls, graphics and sounds are great but it was just too difficult.

    cltatman says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:18pm

    I really liked how there was audio feedback for every action in the game, I think that helps tremendously to sell the simple graphics.

    But this game is hard! It might be that my keyboard sometimes glitches out, but I found that running out of fuel was very rarely a concern. I also found collecting fuel/money to be a little difficult, more often than not I would die trying to reach one of the two.

    The appeal of games like this is to progress via upgrades, so you don't want too many rounds to pass without an interesting upgrade (at least before you get the player hooked). Making money easier to get (like rewarding based on the height reached) would hopefully help with that.

    I thought application of the theme was a little light, I'm thinking the helicopter/house-looking-thing is the avatar's 'tiny world', but it doesn't affect the game.

    But you made a game in 48 hours, good job! :D

    Jeffalisk says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    Very enjoyable, I liked the upgrade system (though speed didn't seem like much of an upgrade as it seemed to make it harder!) Can't see any connection to the theme so loses marks for that, but still a good fun game.

    Raptor85 says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    semi-works under WINE, sound doesnt work though. Controls are kinda frustrating, would have been cool if there was some sort of variety of stuff dodging.

    ericdpitts says ...
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Really really difficult game, maybe a bit too difficult. :P I liked the animations on the player, they looked really nice!

    Zyll says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 12:34am

    I really enjoyed this. I would think about adding a damage meter. One slight touch is pretty unforgiving. Or at least be able to land on top to get the fuel. Would be interested to see this further develop and see what the next goal is. Also, the ability to sell an upgrade would be nice. It got too fast at one point and became harder when fully upgraded.

    Johnicholas says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 9:54am

    This is a fun game, but it has nothing to do with the theme.

    Having a textured rather than flat sky (clouds? contrails?) would make it easier to see movement. The sides of the screen are deadly? Put visible obstacles there to give some warning that they will be deadly.

    someone says ...
    May 1, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Quite fun. I didn't see a single star though.
    Also a but awkward playing in Wine as it sometimes suddenly changes speed up due to wine not supporting music in gamemaker games. I guess when it loops or something.

    robcozzens says ...
    May 5, 2012 @ 6:01am

    I would try it if there was a Web or OSX version.

    asfdfdfd says ...
    May 10, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    Hard game!

    maxman43 says ...
    May 13, 2012 @ 5:10am

    Good game, but it's crazy hard, and it froze when I tried to close it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]