April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Mess with the Gnomes!

by ziomorti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello there, second Ludum Dare for me. Hope to improve a little bit December's result!

For the theme "Tiny World" I immediately thought of gnomes. So here's a small platform game of an angry gnome that must help his captured friends.
I kind of tried to twist it a little bit by adding a few puzzles including mouse buttons, I hope those are not that messy.
This time I think I better managed my time and came up with a more complex game.
There's a total of four levels with increasing difficulty.

CONTROLS:
keyboard left and right arrows - move
keyboard up arrow - jump
left and right mouse buttons - interact

Game made in HTML5 with Construct 2.
Graphics with Inkscape.
Sound effects with Audacity.
Music with Musagi.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did creating it!

P.S.
Awesome ending, so don't give up and finish it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#100Humor3.19
#366Mood2.76
#444Audio2.45
#474Innovation2.83
#570Theme2.74
#592Overall2.72
#593Graphics2.58
#713Fun2.28

Comments

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Is there a problem? I can't jump far enough to reach the first platform :-/

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Ah nevermind, you just have to click on it. My bad!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:02am

I like the idea of a platformer where you have to control the platforms. I think it's a little too hard. The controls are pretty unforgiving, especially when you need to time your mouse click with a jump. I'm stuck at the beginning of level 3 now. The physics are kind of buggy. It was really hard to jump off of the last platform in level 2. Love the gnomes' attitude, this is the funniest game I've played so far. :)

ziomorti says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:13am

Woah! Thanks for the feedback and for playing! I know the controls lack, but well.. time's a bitch :D
In level 3 try using both mouse buttons!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:44am

Ah cool yeah I got it now. There's definitely some interesting mechanics there, they're just unintuitive. Does the platform in level 4 just kill you if it's moving? That was a bit frustrating to have happen after finally getting past the gauntlet. Anyway, you were right about the ending, it's something else. :)

ziomorti says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:32am

There are spikes on that but for some reason they are not showing >_<
Will fix that! Thanks again for playing!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:54pm

Well done ZioMorti!!! The second level it's impossibleee >.<

Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:34pm

bloody gnomes :) tis quite hard but good!

thristhart says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Innovation: 4/5 - I haven't seen the concept of platform control done this way, but it's still a platformer.
Fun: 3/5 - You need checkpoints! I don't want to have to do something I already figured out again. Other suggestions: Communicate functionality better. Perhaps have the gnome complain about things? "Aw no, I got to click this platform again..."
Theme: 3/5 - Tiny things in their world. More to do with appearance than gameplay, although that's the same for my game, so no hard feelings there.
Graphics: 3/5 - A little funky in places, but everything is functional and I can tell what everything is.
Audio: N/A - Not on a computer with sound, so not rating.
Humor: N/A - Didn't see any attempts at humor, so not rating.
Mood: N/A - I'm just going to leave this at N/A for games that aren't story-focused now.

Side-note: Got stuck on level 4, I think I pressed the first button at the wrong time? Couldn't jump to the platform anymore.

ziomorti says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Thanks for the HUGE feedback! :D
On level 4 the first button can be clicked with both right and left button (if I got right where you were stuck).
I agree with most of what you wrote but you missed my AWESOME sfx!
Still, thanks again for playing and rating.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:56pm

If you think this game didn't have any attempt at humor, you must not have finished it... or played with sound on... or read the opening menu. :)

Miltage says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Boing boing, ouch. Boing boing boing, ouch.

I think that adequately sums up my experience.

Matt Rudder says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Guess there were a few of us thinking about gnomes with this theme. :) I like the concept of controlling the environment. Definitely a tough game!

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Yeah, it's a bit tough; the sounds are fairly annoying as well.

Catman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:05pm

Funny, really hard!

Rex Peppers says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Can't get to the first platform :-(

ziomorti says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Click on it :D

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:13am

BOINK
OWNCH
BOINK
OWNCH
BOINK
OWNCH
I couldn't save my damn friends :(

Funny game!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:37am

Took me a while to figure out I was supposed to click on the platforms to get them moving :P It was really fun overall, although the jumping and general movement were a bit clunky. Good job with the graphics!

LFleck says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:56am

Good concept, the game is hard and it took me 2 much time to
click on the first platform, but i had fun afterwards.

onehandclap says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Nice idea and good execution. Gratz! =)

Proch says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:05pm

nice platformer! loce the idea of control the ambient

daredevildave says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Punishing!

Honestly I got too frustrated to continue on level 2. Seems like jumping off platforms is a little broken, sometimes you press jump and you don't jump.

Also seems like clicking on the platforms has a different effect each time you click on it. Which makes it confusing.

Nice idea controlling platforms with the mouse though.

Mago says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Fun game with nice sound and great sound effect (boing)
Little too hard and unforgiven

netguy204 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Loved the audio!

The clicking + keyboard interaction was actually pretty frustrating. My arrow keys and mouse aren't really located in places that make them conducive to being used together.

Graphics were cute and colorful.

desmarkie says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:28pm

I could only run it in firefox and it kept getting stuck on the second level :( I really like the idea.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 7:43am

This game was really too hard. The character seemed to move too fast, I think. The deaths also were too unforgiving.

In the future I would try and make it more obvious that you click on the platform in the first level... took me a while to figure it out, when it should be a basic game mechanic.

Still not too bad though.

gnx says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Solid idea here. Some problems: 1) takes a while before you get you have to click the platform. 2) on the platforms you get a bug where the gnome is apparently not constantly touching the platform so you can't jump.

I think without the jumping issue this could be a very fun game actually.

ziomorti says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Thank you all again for all the feedback! The platform/jump issue is on my todo list (together with movement speed), hope to get it done asap.

angrygeometry says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 10:38am

the controls are way to clumsy and unforgiving! i couldn't finish it, sorry.

Datamosh says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:29pm

A bit hard, nice though.

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Funny audio and nice game, but a bit difficult. Thanks!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:21pm

Lot of fun with this game! It needs only a better jump control! :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]