Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Minikin

by crazyheckman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is an adventure game where you have to go on a quest in your tiny kingdom to save some knights.

I was hoping to get a different theme so the game is kind of rushed and generic, so yea.

Press arrow keys to move, up or space to jump, A to attack, and e to open up your equipment.

If you're frustrated by the small size of the sword keep pressing on, they get bigger as you go.

Feedback is much appreciated, I really like the style and size this game turned out to be so I'm going to build on it unless I get a lot of negative feedback.

Right click and save the windows version just to play it offline. (This is a better experience, my web one is slightly off centered)

BUG: While working on the extended version I noticed a bug a few people have mentioned, if you defeat the Hydra you have a random chance to not go to the ending credits. So if you beat the Hydra, that's the end. All you're missing out on is a black screen thanking my friends.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#162Humor2.89
#173Fun3.29
#237Audio2.98
#253Graphics3.29
#257Overall3.27
#279Mood2.96
#723Theme2.40
#739Innovation2.22

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Web version is a wordpress preview link, it doesn't work for people who aren't you.

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Whoops, thanks for pointing that out. Should be fixed now.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Web version is a wordpress preview link, it doesn't work for people who aren't you.

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:50pm

I like the little slime enemies, remind me of the slimes from ragnarok or terraria :)

laubori says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:54pm

i really like it :)

chinchang says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:56pm

nice lil game there. I liked the pixel animations the most. Reaching the boss took a lil long fighting the same old/cute blobs. Overall...nice effort.

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Pretty long! It wasn't really hard, and it felt more like a level based platformer than an adventure game, but neither of those are bad things.

jami says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:03pm

Oh Lord! What a long sword you have got! The better to kill hydra my child. :P

jami says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Really nice game btw.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Nice Job, Fun to Play!

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:12pm

hey this was fun! felt like knytt and terraria... not being able to move while attacking was a problem but i played to the end. good job!

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Felt like Knytt crossed with Castlevania (good things, both).

Kvisle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:45pm

I like this a lot :)

Pixelulsar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Pretty long, but I never died, and its a bit to easy because of all the health power ups. Also for the bosses I has more health than them so i didn't even try to dodge them because I knew I'd just get health afterwards. It did keep me captivated enough to play through the whole game, so good job for this one!

johnfn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Haha. Nice game! By the end, every time you see 'I wonder where X got off to', you just know they're a goner ;-) I gave you some humor points for the silly sword swinging animation and the ridiculous sword sizes.

This is an impressive amount of content for 48 hours, also!

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Yup, feels a bit like knytt. Very nice art. Cute platformer.

ComaToes says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:54pm

Really fun little game. Loved the weapon progression.

devince says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Good little game, you did a really good job on the hydra. I found other fights too much repetitive

artefon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:59pm

Nice game! You should definitely keep working on it. Reminded me o Terraria. One think I didn't like was the impossibility to run and attack at the same time (although you can run/jump/attack). This makes the game fill less dynamic.

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Wow i love it!those sprites are adorables*-* But hey, i want a bigger sword :D And just one thing : (based on the Greek mythology) the hydra can regenerate 2 heads for each head lost!

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:10pm

The sizes of swords are simply ridiculous which is always a good thing. I could out tank bosses though which is less good. Also nothing seemed to happen after I killed the hydra the second time (final boss fight I assume)

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:23am

Wow the feedback is awesome, thanks a lot. I am definitely going to increase the level sizes, add new boss attacks, increase the difficulty, and then release the updated version on Kongregate. I'll keep everyone posted when I do.

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:43am

that was a lot of fun. thanks!

ilo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:04am

Splendid little game. I especially liked the attention to detail, like the body inside the giant slime and suits of armour alternating in front and behind you in the palace.

Adding weapons with different mechanics could add more variety to levels - shoot down flying enemies with bow and arrow, deflect projectiles back at enemies with a shield, or even charge through enemies with a lance?

namuol says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:01am

Nice game. Loved the ridiculously huge sword and the environment diversity. I'm gonna go out on a limb and guess you're inspired by Knytt and Terraria. ;)

Looking through the comments I guess I'm not the first to notice; damn.

quickfingers says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:28pm

that was cool, I loved your hydra enemies, they were brilliant and had character :)

robcozzens says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Holy Moly! Excellent!
My only complaint is that the first section where you're just fighting slimes was too long. I thought that was all I was going to do and I almost quit.
I'm glad I didn't though. You had a full adventure game in there! I LOL when I got the final enormous sword. Great! Great! Great!

rvmook says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Nice little animations not to difficult though but then again that's what kept me going ;)

summaky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:33pm

It reminds me somewhat to knytt stories and I love this art style!

Wampus says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:34pm

I see you are following the rule of green slimes *always* being the initial enemy of any game. :)

Great job for 48 hours.

racarate says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Great boss design, felt like a real ramp in the intensity. Loved the music and the windows-era sprite art. The variety between the levels was great, there isn't a lot of that in LD. The one thing about the art is that the characters and backgrounds are so well rendered that it is jarring to defeat an enemy and have them disappear without any accompanying animation or sound effects. I liked that you can turn while swinging, very "Bloodlines" (spear version). The stages might benefit from a second dimension instead of having all the battles happen along one line. And, the jump was a little wonk. But aside from game feel, everything else was really nice. One of the few LD games I played all the way through. Oh, and very phallic.

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:04pm

Good point on the boss deaths not being epic enough, I will be adding some kind of fanfare to that so it feels like you did something good. The bosses all in all were a bit rushed and I have some interesting ideas to add depth to them. Thanks again for this second wave of feedback! You guys are really kicking my motivation into high gear.

otaviogood says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:21pm

Played to the end. Game was linear though and I never had to make any decisions on anything. I just moved to the left and did my sword thing. Some trade-offs on what to do would be helpful. Also, thanks for the tip about building my XNA game in "reach" mode. I did that, so it should work on your laptop now. :)

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:42pm

I wouldn't like to point this out as a lack of originality, but I liked how it resembled Terraria (a game I love). I loved how the weapons just got larger and more powerful, and how the graphics reflected the tininess of the world. One thing I would change is that the character wouldn't stop when swinging the sword, just would run through enemies like a lawn mower. Oh, that... And blood :D

robbiehunt says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:58am

Broke myself away from the game to give you a review. Gotta be quick so i can get back to it:

Great graphics, wish I could move and swing my sword.

"Your time is at hand, slime!!" Seriously escaped my mouth.

Good job, dude! Keep on doing what you're doing!

One thing though, It seems as though I'm only going to upgrade my sword through this game - if that's wrong, great. But if not, consider adding some other items to spice up the gameplay a little.

Back to playing! And thanks!

robbiehunt says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:04am

Pssh. Just got the double jump. Shows me for mouthing off. Obviously you would have added more than just sword fighting. :P

recursor says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:15am

I liked the graphic style, although I was wishing for a bow and arrow while fighting the slimes. Constantly swinging the sword was frustrating.

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 6:08am

Loved the graphics and the boss battles. Would have been great to be able to move and swing. I did end up running past more enemies than I killed. Great job!

DalsGames says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:45am

I liked the game, simple graphics and nice sound and music! One the forest level I thought that the mobs very pretty dull and boring to fight so I simply just jump over them. Overall a great game for a 48 product!

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:58am

Very solid platformer. The enemies are quite tough, the dialogues are nice.
There are some small glitches like keylocks and a boss still shooting after the player died and returns to the starting area.

Keirua says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:26pm

I loved the game. Reminds me a lot of Knitt, but with more action. The way the different elements are added little by little makes the game very easy to understand. The bosses are fun ! The police for the texts is a bit small though.

Gornova says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:01pm

nice game, polished and with some different scenarios

note: you should post source code, see compo rules

crazyheckman says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 8:04pm

Ah I didn't see that, I'll throw the source up when I'm finished work.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:18pm

Haven't you ever heard its not how big the weapon is, its how you use it?

Yeah, I never believed that either.

elvis75k says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Cool game. I feel so tiny, just like a flea!

ehtd says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:41am

Good game, liked the graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]