Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Intertubes - Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: If you're on windows the original pre-compo version may not work for you. I'd suggest using the post-compo version and imagining it's slightly worse

A game set on a tiny island in the vast ocean that is the Internet, defending your website from viruses in virtual reality because That's How Technology Works. Rack up slightly ridiculous combos on slightly ridiculous amounts of enemies, but be careful not to get cornered.

EDIT: Realised that when I updated the .jar last night to upload to the site I didn't update the source code .zip file. Fixed it now

EDITED EDIT: Post-compo version with improved waves, a non-crappy-looking menu and bugfixes added

EDIT 3 - ELECTRIC BOOGALEE: Who says I don't listen to feedback? No-one, because you guys don't know me! Anyway, added a new version with diagonal shooting (and in the future, power-ups and health pickups). Enjoy.

View Jack's journal. | View all entries by Jack

Ratings

Coolness71%
#74Fun3.57
#244Overall3.29
#279Mood2.96
#310Audio2.77
#426Humor2.22
#521Graphics2.74
#533Theme2.83
#640Innovation2.50

Comments

Gjarble says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:48am

I had a lot of fun with this one. The action's nice and frantic without ever feeling hopeless. I got some false deaths in the compo version, but I also played the post-compo version and did not get any false deaths; I'm assuming that was one of the bugs you fixed for the latter. Some recommendations, if you want to keep building on this demo:
- Diagonal shooting. I know that's easier said than done, depending on how your current implementation of shooting works. I can also appreciate it if you think that'd take away from the strategy of the game.
- Perhaps you could randomize a new level after every death, instead of just on startup.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:24pm

Thanks um... Gjarble...

I can theoretically do diagonal shooting, but personally I kind of liked the trapped-in-a-corner-but-need-to-move-to-shoot moments, although I know how easily it is to get attached to a flaw in a game when you're the one making it.

As for the randomised levels, the algorithm I made to make random levels is hideously badly optimised. I tried regenerating the world when you die but it just ended up with terrible loading times while it tries

MarekkPie says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Was fun. Would have enjoyed mouse based shooting a bit more (or gamepad base doubly more).

JaJ says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:42pm

It was fun and I didn't encounter any bugs, so good job.

cirolve says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:01pm

I had to play the post compo version because the pre one wouldn't run. Anyway, I thought the game was good, the controls were nice and the difficulty curve was balanced. nothing too spectacular audio wise but still enjoyable :) goodjob!

deejorg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Nice game! Good job!

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Nice work on some of the smaller details (such as the knockback and effects when a bullet collides with one of the enemies). I would definitely like some rockin' background music to listen to while playing this, though.

barigorokarl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:55pm

I was on windows (linux to far away or to slow) and it didn't work (win xp) sorry, couldn't rate.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:28pm

@barigorokarl there was a problem with me trying to use absolute paths instead of relative for the assets that linux handled fine but windows absolutely hated. Fixed it in the post-compo version

whitetigle says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Please....... no more WASD ! We're not all using qwerty kb layouts :)

Axelhein says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Very fun game! Really liked the way the controls felt. Reminded me a bit of Binding of Isaac (this is a good thing IMO). The graphics also looked really good and was a good fit to the whole website setting of the game. The only complaint i have is that the levels that it generates don't allow you to move around very much. Otherwise, great work!

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:35pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

Matt Rudder says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:35pm

I liked the way the waves scaled in the post-compo version, just hard enough to keep me interested. Nicely done.

azurenimbus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:37pm

Good game. It would be nice if the stages would change after a while, I think.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:05pm

I can't get it to run with either version. I click on the .jar file and it starts loading something but no window ever opens. It's a shame, this game looks very nice.

Endurion says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:26am

Gets quite frantic with later waves.
Personally I'd have the difficulty ramp up faster, it takes a while before it feels interesting ;)

racarate says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Pretty cool... I had no idea what that second bar meant until I read the tutorial. I like that there is an additional objective of "hurry up and get points while this multiplier is in effect" in addition to the survival objective. I thought it was strange that you could move in eight directions but only shoot in four directions. The level design was neat, it was fun to run around trying to herd the enemies. The relative speeds of the hero and the enemies seemed just right. Though, visually I couldn't tell what the hero was supposed to be. Anime-mecha sysadmin? The sound was alright, but music would have been a lot cooler. Nice job overall, solid micro action game.

demonpants says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Pretty fun. I found it impossible once I got to wave 8 and I was hoping for more precise aiming (mouse aiming or at least 8 directional aiming) but it remains pretty fun.

Arkazon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Quite fun, I got caught on terrain a fair bit but I suspect that was my inability to use simple controls over anything else! Would be nice to get some diagonal shooting.

Oh and the original didn't work (I'm on windows 7) so I had to use the post-competition version.

orgarus says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:52pm

I like the deep effect with that makes the background over the game surface.
Is a little difficult to move but it's challenging.
Cheers!

rvmook says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Fun little game nicely balanced waves and a little addicting too. After a while the lazer sound annoyed me a bit though

Naouak says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Couldn't run this game on my coputer. Tried to launch the jar files several times but nothing happens.

Izzimach says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:58pm

For the first few waves I was afraid the game's pacing would be too slow, but it ramped up pretty well after a few waves. The game basically feels like a twin-stick shooter with random level layouts, and pulls it off pretty well.

Jack says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:00pm

yeah Izzimach, it was inspired heavily by twin-stick shooters, Dead Nation being the main one (if only because it's the only twin-stick shooter I've spent a decent about of time on). In response to any shooting-based annoyances, it's because I didn't fully understand transformation matrices at the time and therefore couldn't code the support for it into the custom rendering engine. I've since added support for it but you still can't shoot in arbitrary directions yet (I'll probably keep the post-compo version with the 4-way shooting and release the mouse-controlled version separately). Thanks for the feedback on the controls and the cramped-ness of the levels, it's good to know that kind of stuff :D

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:23am

Great!! I love it! :)

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:49am

This entry is really fun. I like the Smash Tv mechanics a lot, although, I miss shooting in the diagonals. The game feels very dynamic. Keep updating it, there are some awesome ideas in the comments.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:17am

1116 :-( Strangely addicting. It would have been nice to have some kind of powerup or ability that can give some extra complexity to use at certain points, like teleporting across a wall or blowing up a group of enemies. It was nicely balanced, challenging but not impossible... except I suck.

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:34pm

For me, the .jar file only launches a window that shuts down right away. Too bad.

Valeour says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Win7 64-bit couldn't run. Just opened then closed.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:05pm

I enjoyed the game. I particularly like how you're forced to stay inside the level but the enemies come from everywhere. Made it really tense when you'd backed into a corner and gave it a really good dynamic.

Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Thanks Valeour, it's probably a problem with the LWJGL natives, which unfortunately means I can't fix it. If you're running the competition version, then try the post-compo version, as the competition version has a bug that means it doesn't work on windows (I'm running linux to program it so I didn't notice until too late)

bwdevel says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Unable to play Win7 64-bit + Java 1.7.

geekygenius says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:26pm

Dosen't work Win7 63 bit Java 1.7:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoa
der.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at game.Main.initDisplay(Main.java:123)
at game.Main.init(Main.java:101)
at game.Main.main(Main.java:262)
... 5 more

Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:43pm

everyone on Windows 7: apparently LWJGL doesn't currently have natives that work for it, or I need to download a more recent version of the library

schizofunky says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Nice game! I never realised how much work was involved fighting those pesky internet viruses!

Kharza says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 5:58am

Good fun! Hard to wiggle out of the way to get a shot off when they are coming in at a small angle. (which is good!)

dcolgan says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 3:39am

13031! Excellent game - I had fun playing it. Sometimes games in this contest have other elements, but forget the fun factor. This game held my interest!

noddy2006 says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 2:43am

Good fun.

The only issue I noticed was with key ghosting, so diagonal shooting while moving is almost impossible for most people. Gamepad controls definitely would have helped with this issue, but I understand that that would have added a lot of extra difficulty, not something you want in a time-restricted competition.

robcozzens says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 9:21am

This was pretty cool. I like the feel of the control but I would like to be able to shoot diagonally.
The scoring was a little confusing, but it was still fun.

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 10:31pm

It was fun!
It reminds me of geometry wars.

I had a little problem with shooting and moving at the same time but I think it was my keyboard inability to press multiple keys at the same time. This could get fixed with WASD moving and mouse shooting.

I'd suggest using other text color in the menu, maybe green because it's difficult to read now.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]