Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Friends

by yanmania - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My Little Friends is the story of a Big Robot in a tiny world. Protect your little friends from the bad things that come from the sky.

Edit: Theres definitely a bug with you not getting a game over screen if your little friends die after day one. I can see exactly what ive missed in the code but I guess its not in the spirit of the competition to fix it so I'll wait until the judging is over.

Thanks for all the reviews so far!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#103Humor3.15
#273Fun3.10
#294Theme3.29
#328Overall3.15
#330Mood2.84
#468Innovation2.85
#511Graphics2.75
#528Audio2.24

Comments

Ishisoft says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Loved the robot's narration, gave the game a lot of character. I killed the final boss, though no-one was left alive. Poor lonely robot.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:10am

Loved the punishment/reward system of this game :)

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:15pm

This game reminds me to a movie I watched ;) Very funny !

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

It said 'I managed to save the tiny people' at the end, BUT they were already completely dead.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Cute. Smart and funny. And fun!

NiallM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

I found the main mechanic of having to jump to precise heights to hit the UFOs a bit frustrating, but I loved the robot. Some really nice writing there :)

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Daaawwww, that was cute :)
I didn't have much reason to leave the starting platform though, only when they started dipping below my firing line.

schnerble says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:35am

After five days, it told me I'd saved the tiny people, despite the fact that they'd all died a day or two earlier :) Pretty fun though.

Orni says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:37am

very charming game

GreyShock says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

Lovely main character <3 The feel of being a huge metal thing is well reflected at gameplay.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Like ishisoft, I killed the boss though I had crushed all my tiny human friends... It was fun to play :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:02pm

I love the way the breakdown of your scores for the day reads like the robot's diary. I think this robot has some issues! Fun game.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Polished mechanics, fun to play :) Good job!

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:43pm

I loved the tiny people shouting "Yay" :D

Jhelle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:58pm

In my attempt the robot was more dangerous to mankind then the aliens were. :) Liked it

johnfn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Heh, nice game. I gave you some humor points because I accidentally murdered like half my population on the first day without really thinking about it. In the end, I managed to kill the boss, but no little civilians were left. :(

Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Awesome narration and graphics too!! I love it :).. Very good game!! I appreciate how you've treated the theme of "tiny world" ;)

ilo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Yay! Fun game. Nice clean aesthetic. Tiny bug - you can squish people after defeating all the enemies without the game counting it.

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

Cool game. The history and mechanics is very creative and simple. This game fits ludum dare like a charm. Awesome entry.

robcozzens says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 9:15am

That's pretty good. I wish the humans would try to stay where it's safe... of course then the buildings would need to slowly destruct.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]