Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

My Little Friends - yanmania - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My Little Friends is the story of a Big Robot in a tiny world. Protect your little friends from the bad things that come from the sky.

Edit: Theres definitely a bug with you not getting a game over screen if your little friends die after day one. I can see exactly what ive missed in the code but I guess its not in the spirit of the competition to fix it so I'll wait until the judging is over.

Thanks for all the reviews so far!

View yanmania's journal. | View all entries by yanmania

Ratings

Coolness74%
#103Humor3.15
#273Fun3.10
#294Theme3.29
#328Overall3.15
#330Mood2.84
#468Innovation2.85
#511Graphics2.75
#528Audio2.24

Comments

Ishisoft says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Loved the robot's narration, gave the game a lot of character. I killed the final boss, though no-one was left alive. Poor lonely robot.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:10am

Loved the punishment/reward system of this game :)

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:15pm

This game reminds me to a movie I watched ;) Very funny !

kddekadenz says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:37pm

It said 'I managed to save the tiny people' at the end, BUT they were already completely dead.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Cute. Smart and funny. And fun!

NiallM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

I found the main mechanic of having to jump to precise heights to hit the UFOs a bit frustrating, but I loved the robot. Some really nice writing there :)

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Daaawwww, that was cute :)
I didn't have much reason to leave the starting platform though, only when they started dipping below my firing line.

schnerble says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:35am

After five days, it told me I'd saved the tiny people, despite the fact that they'd all died a day or two earlier :) Pretty fun though.

Orni says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:37am

very charming game

GreyShock says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

Lovely main character <3 The feel of being a huge metal thing is well reflected at gameplay.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:59pm

Like ishisoft, I killed the boss though I had crushed all my tiny human friends... It was fun to play :)

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:02pm

I love the way the breakdown of your scores for the day reads like the robot's diary. I think this robot has some issues! Fun game.

the8donut says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:11pm

Polished mechanics, fun to play :) Good job!

bms says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:43pm

I loved the tiny people shouting "Yay" :D

Jhelle says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:58pm

In my attempt the robot was more dangerous to mankind then the aliens were. :) Liked it

johnfn says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:03pm

Heh, nice game. I gave you some humor points because I accidentally murdered like half my population on the first day without really thinking about it. In the end, I managed to kill the boss, but no little civilians were left. :(

Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Awesome narration and graphics too!! I love it :).. Very good game!! I appreciate how you've treated the theme of "tiny world" ;)

ilo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Yay! Fun game. Nice clean aesthetic. Tiny bug - you can squish people after defeating all the enemies without the game counting it.

artefon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:43am

Cool game. The history and mechanics is very creative and simple. This game fits ludum dare like a charm. Awesome entry.

robcozzens says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 9:15am

That's pretty good. I wish the humans would try to stay where it's safe... of course then the buildings would need to slowly destruct.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]