April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Massive Attract

by Peter Cooper - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game will take you less than a minute to play and review, if you're good at it ;-) You've got to help a planet that's shrinking to get back to having its own gravity again by moving it into the path of oncoming asteroids.

World record time so far is 11 seconds. Anything under 30 is "good" though the game gets harder as time goes on, so in theory a time OVER 60 would be even more difficult to achieve.. let me know.

Had no ideas this LD so I wrote a game engine from scratch to pass the time. 3 hours before the end, I came up with a really basic and cruddy idea.. :-) That's why it's so simple.

It runs well in Chrome, Firefox, and on IE 9. I haven't tested anything else.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#216Audio3.00
#251Theme3.36
#283Humor2.55
#531Fun2.64
#535Graphics2.72
#592Overall2.72
#610Innovation2.56
#644Mood2.33
#762Coolness40%

Comments

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:30am

Turns out it works on even IE 9.. so I've removed the browser requirement. Everyone enjoy! (as long as your browser is reasonably modern and Flash is enabled for the audio)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:26pm

Hmm, was that 2 unlimited in midi format as the intro? I saved the planet in 45 seconds so it didn't suck to be them for too long :) Actually, yeah, +1 more humor for the 2 unlimited midi hahaha, ohh the early ninties...

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:42pm

Not MIDI! It's MP3, I recorded it live. If you let it play, you get a bit of an easter egg at the end of the tune :-)

The record timewise so far seems to be 11 seconds (both I and someone on Twitter got this - haven't heard any lower yet).

BenW says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:48am

It gets easier as you get later in the game, which is the reverse of most games. It would be nice if there were some additional challenge as you got larger.

Vilborg says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:29am

Odd, it worked in Firefox for me, but not in Chrome.
My first time was 28.

Throbbery says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:36pm

No love in Safari 5.2 (7536.6.1). Played in Chrome and beat on third try in 10 seconds with an early gold asteroid before a wave of regulars. ~Shaun

ElzingaT says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Took me a few times to beat it, for a simple idea I think it plays pretty well and does a good job fitting the theme.

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Throbbery: You hold the world record! Now I need to play again ;-)

Will look at Safari. In theory it should be much like Chrome but admittedly I never tested in Safari at all..

Shadow says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:37am

Good game although I suck at it. Took me 31 seconds to save earth, and I actually got a higher score (20 secs) by letting the game run without me touching the keyboard. Lol.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:37am

Worked great in Chromium.

I'm surprised at how many solid HTML5 games I've played so far, but this one is especially nice. Love the "tunnel" effect at the intro screen; it's rare to see procedural effects in any entries here, simple or otherwise.

You hit the sweet spot with minimalist graphics but still have attention to detail. It feels polished.

The gameplay is straightforward and fun, but I can't help but feel like it's an exercise in dice-rolling when it comes to getting a high score. I was trying to beat 9 seconds; I got 12 after several minutes of suiciding until two gold asteroids appeared in short succession near the beginning. ;)

Perhaps adding objects that you need to avoid hitting would spice gameplay up, and allow for a combo system that would make the player's high score more than their time.

Drabiter says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:30am

This game is really short. It is also the 3rd game I rated when you play earth/moon eating something to grow. Love the sounds. :)

Peter Cooper says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Woo-hoo, finally got 8 seconds! :-) @namuol: Thanks for the great review. Yeah, the game mechanic is not so great and needs a lot of tinkering to be truly interesting to play. @Drabiter: Agreed, it is short. I only came up with the idea a few hours before submission time and I "wasted" the rest of it playing with HTML5, Canvas, and learning how to put a similar game framework together. But now I can use it for a better entry in LD24 hopefully!

johanp says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:55pm

Nice little game. Would love to see asteriod affected by gravity in some way to make look/play a bit more interesting.

First I failed utterly, second time - 11 seconds! Go random numbers! :D

DoktorAce says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:22pm

My first was 58 seconds. I read space and just began playing. Took me a while before I got the moving part of it. Very nice!

davidwparker says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Nice little game. Lost easily and won easily...

Sestren says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Very clean and simple idea. Well executed. The ambiance during play was nice.

Cake&Code says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:01pm

Fun little game you've got here! Seems a bit too random as the first time I won in 15 seconds with some good asteroids popping out really quickly and the second time was closer to 50 seconds because the asteroids were so scattered. Nice game engine! :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]