April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Submarine: This Ain't Your Momma's Bathtub, Tovarisch

by kibertoad - Jam Entry

The Soviet-American cold war wage spiraled out of control. Both sides take insane risks to prevail in indirect conflict, seeking out all manner of myths and legends to find that last advantage.

Krakens! Bears! More Krakens! Pirates! Food! All in the shining new game from the shining new team.

Join the brave comrades of a Soviet Submarine seeking a legend in the deeps. Lead by an insane Captain and crewed by misanthropes and eccentrics. Fight to stay alive in a tiny world under the ocean!

Oh, and you get to watch old men wrestle bears (maybe).

To the death!


Advice: you can press "N" on your keyboard to end the turn, and "1"-"4" to select sailors. If you get lost, check the "About" screen which gives some gameplay information.

Suggestion: in case you are replaying the game and would like to skip all the reading, you can disable interlude events in the "Options screen" - select "Turn text events off".

Linux/Mac users: Be sure to get the version from Mac\Linux link as it includes the important fix for the launch script (courtesy of youdonotexist).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#30Mood(Jam)3.58
#41Audio(Jam)3.61
#55Innovation(Jam)3.46
#73Humor(Jam)2.82
#100Fun(Jam)2.92
#136Overall(Jam)2.97
#141Theme(Jam)2.92
#207Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:40pm

Cannot run: Linux x64. I'll be in IRC if you want to sort this out.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: lib
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: lib
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
Could not find the main class: lib. Program will exit.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:49pm

I'm on a Mac and tried to load the Linux version, but got a stacktrace:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: fonts\droid_sans_20_outline_0.png

However, I'm not sure if this is even playable on a Mac. I verified that there aren't any file permission or ownership issues. I can see the fonts/droid_sans_20_outline_0.png resource, but it's failing to load for some reason.

Any thoughts?

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:50pm

@oldtopman you need to modify the linux.sh file to not have a space between the = and the word lib.

Before:
java -Djava.library.path= lib -jar preui.jar

After:
java -Djava.library.path=lib -jar preui.jar

Vaelzan says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:54pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Let me preface this by saying I am not much of a reader. This led me to skip what was to me an overwhelming amount of text and from what I can make out much of the core of the game. The game itself was very difficult to understand as there was no notes as to what I should be doing. It was only until I came back to this webpage that I realised there was a help screen. On first playing through I assumed 'About' was information on how the game was made or similar. On the plus side though I did like the feel of the game, the music in particular added a lot to it.

Wampus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:55pm

My first thought was, "Uh oh! This one wants me to read and play a turn-based game. I'm in a rush, etc." However, it was worth a little investment of time. I enjoyed the story, the events and decision making and the music was so good it kind of carried the whole game along with it. The central turn-based game was intuitive and fun.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:58pm

Ran well on Windows - the music was awesome and the art looked pretty good. Way too much reading for my taste but I tried to play through it anyway, I'm pretty sure I lost however XD

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:05pm

The text was hilarious, but the pacing with the text felt a little too awkward/ broken up (I really just wanted to continue to guide my units). Good work, though!

kibertoad says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:31pm

youdonotexist: thanks for the fix!

Still not working on Mac even with the fixed sh file?

Vaelzan: Thanks! We should rename the "About" button...


/(I really just wanted to continue to guide my units)/

You can disable events in the Options screen :).

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:33pm

quite nice game there, but I got kinda lost not really knowing what i was doing (probably because I was too lazy to read everything). So, yeah I ended up reading the final Text not even realizing it was the end... anyways, the game was fun to play as it had some really fitting music + ambient.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:51pm

@kibertoad: Correct. With the fixed sh file, I can get the game to load up to a black screen, but the log spits out:

Loading: net.java.games.input.OSXEnvironmentPlugin
INFO:Found 0 controllers
0 [main] INFO PreUI.objects.general.Logs - getBinding; type 4 with code '0'
1 [main] INFO PreUI.objects.general.Logs - Open: data/init/fonts.dat
1 [main] INFO PreUI.objects.general.Logs - getBinding; type 28 with code 'droid_20'
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: fonts\droid_sans_20_outline_0.png
at org.newdawn.slick.util.ResourceLoader.getResourceAsStream(ResourceLoader.java:69)
at org.newdawn.slick.opengl.InternalTextureLoader.getTexture(InternalTextureLoader.java:169)
at org.newdawn.slick.Image.<init>(Image.java:196)
.... [removed to save space]
at bindedObjects.Fonts.loadGlobalFonts(Fonts.java:40)
at submarine.Submarine.initStatesList(Submarine.java:93)
at org.newdawn.slick.state.StateBasedGame.init(StateBasedGame.java:164)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.setup(AppGameContainer.java:390)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.start(AppGameContainer.java:314)
at submarine.Submarine.main(Submarine.java:75)

And then crashes. I'll play around with it a bit more to see if there's something screwy with the filesystem. If any other Mac folks can try this out, we can verify if it's a Mac problem or a Me problem. ;)

kibertoad says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:17pm

There might be an internal problem ("\\" in one place instead of "/" which would be wrong on Unix-based), thank you for the log!
We'll be uploading a new build soon today, hope it will finally work for you :).

kibertoad says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Fixed version uploaded. It's very minor, the most important fix being that it should work in Unix environments now (e. g. Mac) - please confirm if the fix helped!

BenW says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Doesn't seem to have much to do with the theme and I couldn't find a way to boost my morale. I thought the plot points that occurred every once in a while were neat but there was a ton of text.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:40pm

1) We didn't feel it was worth throwing words "TINY WORLD" into face of players as the fired up the game: the ideas is that submarine is a tiny self-enclosed world of itself, and you have to manage that microcosm.

2) You boost your morale by resting in bunks (top left part of the map); also you had undisposed corpse, that stinks and decreases morale (probably output should be more clear about that).

3) Ton of text... Yeah. Appears that everybody hates reading. I wonder if we are going to see a single person who would actually like them.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:24am

Btw, if anyone is curious what other things our Illustrous Master of Arts (who has composed the soundtrack of the game) has done: http://soundcloud.com/spirulence

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:30am

@kibertoad New build got past the image loading, but failed again at loading the music (with an OutOfMemoryError).

I defined the amount of memory in the linux.sh file and it's working now. I wanted to post this as quick as possible so the appropriate changes can be made and re-uploaded. (aka, I'll put my review up shortly)

java -Xmx256m -Djava.library.path=lib -jar preui.jar

kibertoad says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:34am

Thanks again :)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:41am

Crashes on startup for me.

umwgmc says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:17am

I'm not sure what the gameplay was about, but the story was interesting. I feel like with a longer timeframe, this could've been very nice.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:25am

Great mood...and that song is amazing. The text was fun to read, but the gameplay was a bit hard to follow at first. Great use of theme!

NefariousZhen says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:26am

Neat little game. I loved the music, mood, and story. The concept of optimizing four people's worth of work was interesting too.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 3:43am

couldn't run it.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:31am

Incredible Ape: What does the submarine.log say? Also, what OS are you using? What is the complete path from which the game was launched? (e. g. D:\Program files\Submarine\submarine.exe)

robcozzens: What was the problem? It crashed immediately on launch? If yes, please provide additional information (log info, OS used, complete game path)

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:14am

Unfortunately it crashed on startup for me on Ubuntu and I'm afraid I'm not very handy with Java. Here's the output I got: http://pastebin.com/URFvPXPE

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:16am

Tried running the game, but Norton indicated it was a "security risk".

uberneen says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:02am

Filenames are case-sensitive in linux, maybe osx as well given its roots.
You can just run this from the game directory or maybe put it in the linux.sh, or fix case on your images.

find data/submarine/images/ -depth -exec rename 's/(.*)\/([^\/]*)/$1\/\L$2/' {} \;

It was a little trouble to get running, but I'm glad I did. There's a lot of game here and I really enjoyed the atmosphere and dialog.

R3ason says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:14am

Interesting! I think there is too much text up front (maybe present it cut-scene style to make it more engaging), but I think the mechanics are pretty interesting. Thanks!

cjke.7777 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:00am

Too much text to read. Great effort though!

Jiddo says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:08am

Hum. I take it that if my screen is filled with flame icons that probably means that I'm not well suited to man a soviet submarine? :)

Really good and polished game. The game play was really good. I don't really see the point of the dialogs that show up randomly throughout the game tho. The graphics were good as well, but the game play is where this game really excels. Great work!

It may however be a good idea to maintain consistency and a convention for file names and file references to make it more likely work out of the box on Linux.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:46pm

Thanks for figuring out yet another problem with running on Linux :). I'll post a properly fixed version in ~6 hours.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Jiddo: there's an often missed option to disable the dialogue events in the Options :).

Thanks for all the kind words!

uberneen says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Cutscenes and voice-overs would be the ultimate polish here, but I didn't mind going through the in-game dialogues as they were.
I noticed that a corpse appeared when I killed a guy in the story mode. How heavily do these events affect the main game? Is it just some of them, all of them, or was the corpse appearing just extra.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:54pm

They do affect the game, the chocolate story in a more noticeable way than the others. We should make the info output on corpse appearance clearer, though: you are leaking morale until you "solve" the issue by one of two possible ways ;).

N. B. Less noticeable effect is that you (obviously) get lower oxygen and food bleeding.

Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Great effort, there appears to be a lot to this game, I am a fan of turn based game! I like the music and title screen!

kibertoad says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:09am

Updated version uploaded, all known launch bugs fixed. Please report if game still fails to launch for you and include your OS info and the submarine.log (if available). Expanded version is planned to be released after the LD, stay tuned! Link to our website added to the credits screen.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:16am

Regarding the security risk warning that got posted: probably it is related to launch4j used to make a wrapper and is safe to be ignored (Norton is actually a rather poor AV and is known to give false positives). You can still run it without getting any security warning by simply typing "java -jar preui.jar" in the prompt (console) to run. BAT file will be supplied in the future update.

kibertoad says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:42am

Uploaded the version with BAT file - if you get security warnings that you are worried about, please run it - it will load the JAR file directly, bypassing the wrapper (which is perfectly safe, though).

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Tried the Linux version again, looks like the lib path isn't being set correctly? Here's the output: http://pastebin.com/pkvVjFsL

I get the same thing with "java -jar preui.jar". Sorry I'm so useless with Java! :(

kibertoad says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Cosmologicon, we have debugged the game for linux once more (feels like an endless saga), but this time we've got confirmation reports it finally works :). Stay tuned while I upload the new version (d3).

kibertoad says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:19pm

Let's hope third time does the charm... Can anyone confirm it works now (d3 release)?

cltatman says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:56pm

This is a fun little strategy game, it ran well and was easy to pick up (though slow at first, until I started guiding through multiple moves at a time). The music was nice, and the text-based sections (while kinda hodge-podge and random) added mood and humor that I thought worked out great. :)

Congrats!

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 1:14pm

This is a great game! It has a great absurd atmosphere. (I like reading text, who'd have thunk it.)

I wonder how long it's possible to play before things completely get screwed up? I got far enough to hear about Mikhail the bear, then my oxygen ran out. (I liked that the "game over" wasn't too tragic, though.) It seems like a pretty difficult game; your sailors are running around desperately.

Do the items do anything? I expected the fire extinguisher to help in fighting fires, for example, but I'm not sure I saw much improvement after I picked it up.

Regarding the story bits; I almost feel like the point of the game is "unlocking" them. Perhaps you could have a screen where you can reread all the story bits you've unlocked, and you can see which ones you haven't seen yet. Just an idea.

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Thanks for playing, it was a great experience making this game :).

Chaoseed: you've almost made it! AFAIR, Mikhail is the last event before you win, so push just a bit harder and you are gold.

Items make appropriate jobs finish faster (x2, AFAIR, you can measure the rate at which hazard points of particular tile decrease).

Unlocked story rereading - good idea :). We are working on the "Enhanced edition" now, and since there is a demand for unlockables screen, we are most happy to to oblige :).

starpixie says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:41pm

Like the space hulk style gameplay. More polish would have made it really cool.

Several says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 1:22am

On OS X 10.6.8, I was able to start the game via the .bat file in Terminal (I opened the .bat while within the game folder, to take care of the relative paths).

For Mac users that haven't fiddled much with Terminal, the easiest way to do this is probably just to open Terminal (in Applications > Utilities), type "cd" and a single space ("cd "), then drag the game folder into the Terminal window (this should autofill the path to the game folder) and hit enter (this should navigate to the folder) then type in "submarine.bat" (or drag that file into the Terminal window) and hit enter again to start the game.

Glad I made the effort to get things working--this is a very charming entry!
Was confused at first (adding the "help" menu to the normal game screen would be useful), but I made it to the bear entry by just doing what seemed to make the most sense. After reading the "help" and taking another try, I was able to beat the game quite easily. (perhaps my "story" decisions helped, though?)

If you plan on making a more polished version, I'd advise cleaning up the text to catch some of the typos & grammatical stumbles. Otherwise, much of the roughness adds to the humor, I think. The crew portraits had me chuckling immediately.

madbranch says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:51pm

I liked playing the game, but I didn't feel like reading all the text...

ratking says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 9:56pm

OK, I reached the end, but I don't know if I won or lost. (Probably the latter.) I can't tell because, TBH, this was just too much text presented in a very boring manner.
Otherwise, some very nice ideas here.

crippledgames says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 1:12pm

good graphics, good sound, and surprisingly long :)

someone says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 5:34pm

Interesting game, Still not entirely sure what was going on, but I was entertained by the story.

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 3:31am

I could not get the game to launch on my mac. I couldn't find a .app file, and the .jar file would not launch.

kibertoad says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:08pm

"For Mac users that haven't fiddled much with Terminal, the easiest way to do this is probably just to open Terminal (in Applications > Utilities), type "cd" and a single space ("cd "), then drag the game folder into the Terminal window (this should autofill the path to the game folder) and hit enter (this should navigate to the folder) then type in "submarine.bat" (or drag that file into the Terminal window) and hit enter again to start the game".

Hope that help. I wonder if we can add something that would make launching the game from Mac even easier...

Frib says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:58pm

very nice game with awesome music, it really set the mood

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]