April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

TinyBot

by murilo - Jam Entry

*** TinyBot *** v1.0

Guide your TinyBot through a strange little world to save a scientist.

=== CONTROLS ===
WASD/Arrows TO MOVE
RIGHT CTRL/Z TO JUMP
RIGHT SHIFT/X TO SHOOT (hold UP to shoot up)
ESC GAME MENU (during game)

Game made by Murilo
Music/Sfx by Sary Ishii

Use mouse for menu options.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#31Theme(Jam)3.65
#104Humor(Jam)2.53
#110Mood(Jam)2.91
#122Overall(Jam)3.08
#129Fun(Jam)2.75
#129Graphics(Jam)3.25
#137Audio(Jam)2.76
#188Innovation(Jam)2.45

Comments

FireSlash says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:29am

There are a few places in the level design where I feel like something was placed purely with the intent of being frustrating. However I love seeing massive people walking around in the background. Also more games need destructible things.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:33am

One of the best graphics I've seen so far. The controls feel a bit stiff (-> you can only shoot when on ground). Good game overall.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:58am

I liked the platform design in particular. The animations and movements were fluid, but the inability to fire while moving was frustrating; this made climbing the stairs whilst blasting boulders difficult. Overall a fun game, but could use some polish.

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:27am

Did no one else get Sticky Keys acting up? I've never bothered disabling it.

I agree about the no shoot while jumping thing feeling wrong. I ended up in a place where a yellow dude was blocking my path (upward) and there was nothing to do to get rid of him.

dansludumdare says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:27am

To be clear, when you press shift 5 times in a row, the Sticky Key dialog pops up.

murilo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:30am

Yes, it needs more polish and all. The inability to shoot while moving and jumping really got me sad too! It was the next thing I was going to implement before I ran out of time. But expect a much better version on this game later. I'll upgrade it with more levels and moves. Thanks!

moop says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Backgrounds were awesome.
Game was fun if a little short. A few sections were somewhat frustrating but that's just a matter of polish.

jwolf says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Good job! The use of people walking around in the background was a pretty good idea.

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:49am

Visually the game was really good. I felt like the platforming parts got kind of frustrating and confusing. Not being able to jump and shoot was a killer. Otherwise, I liked it.

R3ason says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:41am

Pretty fun! Would be good to shoot in the air...liked the large people walking in the background! Thanks!

Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Nice graphics! the huge people bring cool tiny feel. Great job with this! Pretty short though.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:42pm

I loved the intro text.

PsySal says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 3:36am

Ahh! Awesome idea, I love when the scientist comes in the background, in particular. Reminds me in principle to Puzzle Bots, which I haven't actually played.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:23am

Seeing the plants waft around was pretty cool, I appreciated touches like that. The more obvious giant people in the back were also really nice.

Platforming was good but the part with the rocks got a tad unfair in my game since one boulder got stuck on the ledge I was supposed to wait on, so I had to just get hit by it to remove it before waiting for a good moment to cross. Luckily I had full health so I could take the hit and not die.

Nice little game! Hope you get time to polish it!

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:22pm

I liked the background perspective, everything so giant, world so tiny.

mooosh says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:39pm

awesome graphics! as others said, there were some bits with the rocks that got a little crazy.

angrygeometry says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 8:41pm

really nailed the theme here. graphics were cool, the game itself was kind of frustrating! i'm bad at games though...

Super Soul says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:42pm

The scientist in the background walking around was great. I enjoyed the art style. Very, very short game unfortunately.

Jedi says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:48pm

I like it! It's a little too short but I won't hold it against you for an LD entry :).

Like others have said, the scientist in the background is brilliant and really gives you a sense of scale. I also wished you could shoot while jumping.

I liked the in-game music.

The intro text should move slower. I couldn't get it all on the first viewing.

The graphics were a little ms-painty but I still liked them a lot :). My only complaint is that the laser effects seemed out-of-place with the rest of the graphics.

Overall, +5, good job!

ericdpitts says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 12:00am

Ha, very cool graphics. The people walking around in the background was a really nice touch. The game itself was extremely frustrating, getting knocked around by enemies and boulders. D: I liked the music as well, nice job!

murilo says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Thanks everyone for the comments! Regarding the frustrating parts, unfortunately there was no time to finish the bot moves and make more levels. But I already have a version where it can shoot, move and jump simultaneously. Now I just need to make more levels and release it!

icefox says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:44am

Short but pretty cool. Good backgrounds, nice music, and eye lasers!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]