April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Mesene's tiny world

by Mesene - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi all!
Second Ludum Dare. Im happy that I have managed to finished the game, It's the first upload and I still have 19 hours to sleep and work a little more on it.
it's been about half a year since I used unity, I felt a bit noob again... also spend about 6 hours fighting with quaternions, next ludum dare I should join the warmup round...

timelapse : http://youtu.be/JChQWiEnxLU

this game doesn't need explanation:
WASD movement
search for the 3 devices you lost when you crashed the tiny world, bring them to the Ship and leave the planet.

IMPORTANT: return to the ship at any moment to refill your oxigen and drop the devices!

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#225Humor2.70
#294Theme3.29
#480Audio2.35
#595Innovation2.59
#643Mood2.34
#754Overall2.44
#756Fun2.15
#785Graphics2.13

Comments

thatshelby says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Interesting game, but too hard. 45 seconds is not much time, especially when you have precision platforming and several artifacts to collect. The music was very quiet for me.

Zoomyzoom says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:49pm

The controls are odd or the camera makes it feel so. And you didn't spend nearly enough time on it.

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:50pm

This game is hard! 45 seconds!!! I think I'd need at least 2 minutes! The controls take a bit of getting used to. Nice idea.

Chtulhu says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:53pm

Hey guys did you understand that you don't have to take the 3 artifacts in 45 sec? Only 1 per 45 sec if you return it to the hurricane. It would be impossible to take the 3 golden things in 45 sec.
Good game.

Mesene says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:28am

>_<! so... many people thinks they have to gather them on the same ride, as #Chtulhu sais you can return them to the ship directly or throught the vortex.

thanx for your reviews, i'll specify this on the description ;)

kato9 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:55am

Decent game, the controls are a bit frustrating but I was still able to beat it. Could definitely use a bit more content.

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:15am

- I almost went for the the same gameplay with my entry (including the broken spaceship).

- The controls really need some bugfixing, though I know how hard it can be to teach Unity to do things in a non-standartd way. I had my fun with aligning the camera to the planet as well (though, happily, without Unity).

And finally: I love how the astronaut gets into the "Emergency Spin Clothes" - that's easily the best explanation for ball physics I have ever seen :D

Topaz says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:23am

Liked the music!

otaviogood says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:28am

Kinda like marble madness. Controls were a little counterintuitive. Since it's a ball, you expect it to roll all directions, but the controls are more car-like with the steering/forward/back. Camera also had me tilting my head trying to correct it. :)

Mesene says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:40am

@Jens Nolte I still laugh when I see him with the "Emergency Spin Clothes" on, and I drew it...

@Topaz the music was an experiment, last year I had better score on audio than graphics... my game had no sound. So this year I put this the last moment to have an explanation if this happends again :D

moop says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:09pm

A bit easy to overshoot in the more intricate areas of the level but a fun little game.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Pretty good.

Hume says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Love the soundtrack!

I wish that the level of difficulty started lower and then escalated; I feel like I just couldn't get started with this

orangepascal says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:30am

reminded me of the (old) Spindizzy game from the 80s (that's a good thing!)

samoojamies says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:25am

Well used theme, but needs badly additional development.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Really interesting concept for gameplay, rolling around a contoured world. I found the ball hard to control, and I wasn't sure exactly what I was supposed to be doing (e.g. yellow blobs seem good, but is the blue tornado bad?) I'd reset seemingly randomly (I assume that was the oxygen running out). Music was nice, but got too repetitive. So, cool, but a bit frustrating. The contoured planet seemed to work quite well. Good match for the theme, and impressive for 48 hours.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:29pm

Oops - that was the music for another entry still running in the background! Sorry :-)

GreyShock says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Me he partido con el diseño del prota, envuelto en sus telas especiales xDDD A mí también se me ha hecho un poquito chungo de manejar, sobre todo en la parte del cráter, pero está guay la idea. ¡Suerte!

I lol'd with the main character design, wrapped in his special clothes LOL. The gameplay was kinda complicated, mostly at the bottom of the crater. Cool idea though. Good luck!

azurenimbus says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 11:51pm

parapajunpapaparapaparo parapajunparapaderaparapeparapun parapajunparapapeparo parapadoparapadapadaparapo!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]