April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Microcosm

by maxman43 - Jam Entry

This is a pretty simple 8-bit style puzzle game I started on Saturday night. Only controls are mouse and spacebar, along with shift to mute/unmute.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#53Theme(Jam)3.42
#87Overall(Jam)3.27
#89Innovation(Jam)3.21
#94Audio(Jam)3.12
#105Mood(Jam)2.94
#106Graphics(Jam)3.44
#134Fun(Jam)2.74
#200Humor(Jam)1.75

Comments

maxman43 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:07am

Direct link here: http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/594353

Lacutis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:03pm

I'm sorry, I really tried but I couldn't figure out how to play this at all. I got the purple beam to turn on, but I couldn't figure out the point. The sound was good though.

NoLan Labs says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Challenging but really cool puzzle game. For the amount of time you worked on it I think it turned out great. I hope to see more of this kind of stuff in the future...

AlwaysGeeky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Good fun little puzzle game :)

Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:27am

The minimal graphics look good but you could have made a better description about what you are even supposed to do in the game.

gnx says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:08pm

Graphics are very nice. It is a bit hard to figure out what various things represent so I ended up just clicking everything trying to figure things out.

seagaia says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:10pm

I thought the puzzles were slightly difficult from the lack of direction, but in some senses they did make sense when solved. It's cute and minimal and complete, nice.

deejorg says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:42pm

Really liked the idea, maybe just lacked a few directions to make it a bit more clear. good stuff anyways :)

Mago says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:43pm

fun but too short and too easy

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:53am

the graphics and sound are cool. i enjoyed the 8-bit retro throwback mixed with the hip-hopy music and the motif of things spinning around like records on a turntable. i did not get the puzzle part of it, though. what i did get, i got through trial and error. so, making the gameplay clearer either through a few expository levels or some text if you have to would be good to add, IMHO.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:03am

This is pretty well done. I think one of the reasons this doesn't have more ratings is that it was hard to see the "start" button at the very beginning, so a lot of people probably closed it out without trying it. It's a shame really, because this game was short, sweet, and pretty fun, and that's coming from somebody who doesn't usually like this kind of game!

machinas says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:28am

fun little game here. quick puzzle to get through, the rotation mechanic is clever. the second to last puzzle was the best one of them all. nice job!

Terra says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:59am

Oh, that was really cool! Now I'm wishing I hadn't made my review post yesterday so I could of included this.

scgrn says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:22am

Good graphics and audio, but after a few minutes of clicking and rotating I still couldn't make anything happen. Some more instruction would be nice because I feel like I'm missing out on a really cool puzzle game.

namuol says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 5:24am

(Understandably) Brief game, but well-polished. Nice n chunky pixels and a cool trip hop tune playing in the background. Each screen has essentially all-new graphics (lo-fi as they are).

The puzzles are simple once the solution is known, but interesting to watch/figure out. I would like to see more puzzles that employ the rotation mechanic -- there's a lot of potential there.

Solid work!

davidpeter says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 6:50am

I couldn't rotate for some reason on Chrome... but it worked on Firefox just fine. I loved the graphics, they were perfect. Very fun, very minimalistic.

May 13, 2012 @ 7:14am

Cool game, took me while to figure out that the rotation is essential. But once I knew that it was fun! I like the music!

JonathanG says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:16am

It took me a while to realise that I had to double click to make things work. Even then I didn't really know what I was doing...

Jerm says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:06am

I just kept clicking on things until I managed to win and didn't really understand what was going on. But still a pretty nifty game. I liked the music. :)

onehandclap says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:47am

What a nice idea we have here! And the graphics are cool, too. Good job! =)

Jiddo says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 8:54am

That was a bit tricky. I ended up just trying all possible combinations of clicking in different places before I could progress. It is a nice idea and it did keep me playing through the entire game. I didn't really make sense of some of the things you had to do. It's amazing that you got this working in such short time tho. Nice work!

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 9:00am

Quite a nice game. Pretty fun when you get the hang of it. The graphics are nice, but you do need a better tutorial or something. I somehow managed to complete it through a combination of guesswork and a little logic based on what happened when I clicked things

johanp says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:03am

I really enjoyed that! Don't know what was going on all the time but it felt good!

castor says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:16am

Interesting little game, managed to finish it.

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:38am

Well done!

azurenimbus says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Very cool entry!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]