Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Force 3 - refreshcreations - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, this is my first Ludum Dare Entry and indeed, my first Unity 3D Game under my belt!

Gravity Force 3 is a retro style shooter with simple controls so anyone can pick-up and play it.

Ther game starts off with a low difficulty level which slowly increases the more enemies are destroyed.

I'm going to release and Android and hopefully an IOS version a while after the compo has finished which should be groovy!

----------------------------------------------
Update - 26-04-2012

A website dedicated to the game will be coming up soon. Thanks again to everyone for their feedback it's really encouraging and once I've finished rating ludum dare games I promise I'll be improving and releasing the game fully.

The website is available at: http://www.gravityforce3.com/

Hope you have fun playing!

----------------------------------------------
Update - 26-04-2012

There's some lovely timelapse footage where my blurry webcam makes it look like I'm punching myself in the face constantly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsZ0dRSMTi0&feature=g-u-u

----------------------------------------
Update - 29-04-2012

Now available for FREE on google play at: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Refresh_Creations_Ltd.Gravity_Force_3

Enjoy!

----------------------------------------
Update - 02-05-2012

Currently Under Judgement on kongregate ---> http://www.kongregate.com/games/refreshcreations/gravity-force-3

View refreshcreations's journal. | View all entries by refreshcreations

Ratings

Coolness81%
#222Graphics3.36
#265Fun3.11
#317Overall3.17
#365Audio2.63
#506Theme2.89
#571Mood2.47
#628Humor1.85
#636Innovation2.51

Comments

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Releasing the lazerball at the right time was hard sometimes, But real cool. The overheat was a really good thing too add!

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Pretty fun! Also very polished. The resolution of the web version was a bit large for my laptop screen.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Awesome work! Great FPS, totally playable. I love being able to hold down the fire button to release bigger bullets. I wish I could "switch directions" but that's a core gameplay concept you shouldn't change or it would be too easy. Overall, extremely impressing, greate graphics, nice idea, good old fashioned arcadey goodness! Keep up the great work.

cmo7 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:43pm

Cool game. I'd like to be able to control the ship, but it's fun nevertheless

Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Thank you very much for the feedback. I'm just putting together an updated version for android and the others over this week which will sort out the resolution issues, etc. Got some plans for integrating facebook 'n' twitter in the longer run with this game now. Probably going to add a starting difficulty setting along the lines of columns on the megadive wher you can start off later on in the game, with a good rack of points but it's gonna be tougher on ya!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Here's a demo of the android conversion incase you fancy playing this on the move at all. Please don't use this version for reviews as the code has been changed slightly.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7854454/gravityforce3.apk

Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Update: the android version (not for review in ludum dare now has difficulty levels and scales correctly on devices, yay!)

ChainedLupine says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:04pm

FYI, I'm getting a dropbox error for the direct download. The web link works fine, though.

Slick presentation! Controlling the ship might have added to the gameplay, though the fact that you *couldn't* control the game added a bit of strategy. Rapidly tapping the spacebar works pretty well as an overall strategy. Maybe the bigger enemies should have required more powerful shots?

Really dig the vocoder voice!

d_durham says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Some nice polish, and a simple concept that was fun to play.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Thanks for the feedback Chained Lupine and d_durham. Which direct download isn't working? I'm suspecting that there may have been a dropbox issue, just attempted to download the files from here, all seem to check out.

I had great fun doing the vocoder voice, used a freeware program called Zerius Vocoder, it's really cool. Gonna be doing more to this project over the coming weeks, check out http://games.refreshcreations.co.uk/ for updates.

Zillix says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:03am

Great implementation of a one-button game. Well done!

NiallM says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:12am

Kind of disappointed this isn't a sequel to the legendary amiga game Gravity Force 2, but it's pretty well done for what it is. I particularly like how you slow down when your gun's fully charged; it forces you to be really precise with your shots.

MinerCraftGuy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:07pm

Especially the overheat part makes the game a lot of fun to play. Sounds and artwork are great, love to see this game on Android soonish :)

olkeencole says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Were those spaceships as big as the world? Very nice game. The balance is definitely nicely tuned. Some additional effects would give it extra kick. Perhaps some power ups?

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:53pm

Nice concept. The ennemies are sometimes hard to see behind the HUD.

Milo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The gameplay works quite well. It was fun to try to line up shots to hit a bunch of enemies at once.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:25pm

Thanks once again for the feedback, I'm going to be starting off a website for the game shortly to register interest in it for when I'm happy to release it to market free versions would obviously be available and If I can figure out how to gift copies to ludum dare particpants I will but that time is a little way in the future :)

Looking to add a couple of power ups. thinking about having a multi-shot which would last for a certain amount of time and a continuous laser for one rotation (read as smart bomb) adding more enemy types, boss battles, etc. The website will be up at some point in the future over at: http://www.gravityforce3.com/

Will look into dynamically scaling the HUD, it is a bit on the large side, yeah. Just awaiting my testing tablet to arrive soon.

CaptainIcy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Really nice game! I love this kind of endless, slightly-restricted type of game. I do think you should get bonus points for destroying enemies, though. It'd add more "fun" to it in my opinion.
All in all a nice and simple, yet very fun entry into LD23.
My highest score atm is 8189. Not too good, think I'll try some more. :p

Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:52am

Thanks for the feedback Capt'n. I should probably leave a points notice on screen for a moment once the enemy has been exploded, that would be a clearer signifier, thanks for playing :)

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Looks very nice and I love the simple controls. Unfortunately, the game is too big to be played in my browser, so something sneaked up on me from the top of the screen. What dimensions is it supposed to be played in in browser?

Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:12am

Aye, I designed the game for1024 * 768 resolution which was a bit high for web sadly. Only foundout about unitys gui scaling after the competition soo, yeah next time I'll be aiming to sort out multiple resolutions within the 48hours.

Ben says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:11am

Really cool! The only thing I would change is let the user control the rocket too. Either way, great job!

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:27am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Very unique and fun game. I think the difficulty ramped up a bit too quickly though and the ship slowed down a bit much with a fully charged laser. Other than that I think this could make also do with a side on shot so you don't feel so helpless about colliding into a nearby asteroid. Gave you an extra 'Mood' star for the message hidden in the high scores :D

10WonXero10 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:20pm

Yeah, this rocked!
Well done.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Really fun game, funny how the planet exploded into a huge white cloud at the end.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:11pm

I like the idea and it's well executed.

Resolution is a bit unfortunate, especially for browsers.. Didn't actually see the whole thing :(

trylle says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:08pm

Simple and fun. Good pacing for me. Needs power-ups and all those tropes. :)

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Awesome game, very addictive. I kept trying and trying to beat my score, best I got was 22900ish.

I liked the small things that you added to the game, such as the fact that if you charge for a long time, your ship's rotation start to slow down.

Great game!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Just releasing the post game android version to google play, pc and mac versions with updates will be available soon.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 7:28pm

Really cool gameplay, I liked the originality. Nice tie between the movement and the shooting!

derosa says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:36pm

The resolution was a bit large for my laptop, but could see enough for playing :) The firing system gets overheated with too much frequency, IMHO, and I'd like to control the ship too. Don't take me wrong, I enjoyed the game, good work!

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Great graphics! The whole visual style of this game is just perfect. Nice mechanics as well, awesome job! I just want to know why gigantic space acorns are trying to destroy earth. D:

johanp says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:16am

Well put together. Only gripe is that once it gets hard it gets hard too fast.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:16pm

Very good one-key gameplay
my score-> 22483

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:33am

Very nice.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 7:21am

I played it on full screen and I got dizzy in the controls screen @.@
I think you should make the stars background move very very slow but the planet a little faster.

I like the fact you can't just spam bullets because the ship overheats.

Have you thought about adding power ups? Maybe a temporary penetrating laser would be cool :o

May 1, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Yeah, They're on the list of things to-do in fact, that list is getting larger day by day!

spooks says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Nice entry, I loved the death screen

May 7, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Nice idea and execution!

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]