Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Hive - ericdpitts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a vigilant guard bee protecting your hive from a group of vicious bees trying to STEAL ALL OF YOUR HONEY! Fight them off and defeat their queen!

Left: Rotate counter-clockwise around the hive
Right: Rotate clockwise around the hive
Up: Fly away from the hive
Down: Fly closer to the hive
Z: Fire
Shift: Hold to slow your movement

View ericdpitts's journal. | View all entries by ericdpitts

Ratings

Coolness100%
#216Audio3.00
#417Mood2.70
#423Graphics2.90
#479Theme2.96
#491Humor2.12
#509Fun2.67
#524Overall2.81
#680Innovation2.40

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:38am

AVG is calling this one out as malicious :X Not sure why

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:54am

Yeah, Chrome told me the file was malicious when I tried downloading it from the LD site. I'll try to find out why this is and get it fixed asap. I guess it could be because of the file name?

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:10am

Nice little shooter, relaxing music. Got to the 2nd wave, will take a bit more practice. Fairly difficult! I wish it had controller support, an analog stick would be perfect for aiming.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:16am

Fun game, although I found it very hard. I guess I needed to use shift. I'm not sure what the point of moving farther from the hive is - maybe it's useful in later levels I didn't get to? The music was a little too loud (and the rhythm uneven) for me, but it was nice to have a musical score. Overall, very nice job.

DoktorAce says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:45am

Can't run cause I have mac :(

zuckyadik says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:50am

this game...it is beutiful! the music luls me to sleep wile the bees continu making there sweat hony becuse i do not bother them becuse i am asleeping.
<3

fishbrain says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:48pm

...a charming little game.

devwil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:27am

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:05am

Got that malicious file warning from Chrome - didn't want to risk it in case one of the dev tools was infected or something. Would be fun to try this - will check back on it later.

(btw, @ericdpitts, left a message for you on the Microbial game page)

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:19am

Hmm, I'm not sure what else to try to get it to stop flagging the exe as malicious. I tried compiling it on a different computer, changing some settings, changing the filename. I wish chrome would say why it looks malicious... I've scanned it with Avast! and Ad-Aware and they don't detect anything on the exe.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:59am

I would have tried it if it had a web or osx version.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:01pm

I found it hard to line up to the incoming enemies. The music is super cute and congrats on including a hi-score screen.

ericdpitts says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Hosting the file somewhere other than dropbox appears to have made the file seem less malicious to chrome, for whatever reason. Download speed is way slower though, unfortunately.

Thanks for the feedback folks. If I stop being lazy and take the time to learn Unity or Flash over the next 4 months, my next LD game will be a web game.

omaha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:57am

Wish I could run this on my mac or linux machines.

Apr 27, 2012 @ 11:55pm

Cute little game, but it's very hard to set yourself in right angle and perhaps the bullets could have been bigger, it's very hard to hit enemies. Nice job though.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Should have shot stings instead of yellow lasers. Nice though.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:14pm

Nice little defense game. Controls are a bit tricky. Really liked the background music.

Vilborg says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:20pm

On one hand, the rotation seemed amateur. On the other hand, the background graphic was very well done. I guess your graphics were pretty good, then. :)

Gunmonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 12:50am

lots of fun!

Raptor85 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:40am

music doesnt work in WINE which probably takes away from it somewhat, it works ok but not really much to say, rotating around the hive is very iffy and hard to get a proper shot though.

tfendall says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:46am

Fun one! I didn't realize I could hold shift til after I played. That would have helped to line up my shot. Either way it was entertaining and different from other games I've played from this compo.

moonkid says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 11:08am

The controls hurt my brain :(

MadGnomeGamer says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 12:29am

WHY is the source 87 MB ??!!!!

It looks like you have a nice graphical style. However, on my 0-20 KB per second connection I'm rather reluctant to download a 30 MB game.

icefallgames says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 1:23am

Simple mechanic, but well done and nice graphical style.

Aardvark says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 10:27pm

I like it. Controls are a bit unprecise.

TenTonToon says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:14pm

We have very similar premises for our games, and both are made in Game Maker. The control is smooth, but not quite as precise as one would hope when you shoot.

Talk about shaking the proverbial beehive - that beast could blast you to kingdom come with its laser tail! :D Or, to put it another way: it's a damn hard game, man! XD

Well done!

asfdfdfd says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Cool visual style.

tcstyle says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Very good idea. I like the graphical style with the canvas effect. Took me a short while to get used to the controls but then it worked fine.

Mago says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:56am

It was little too hard for me to shoot enemies, besides that good game.

TobiasNL says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 10:27am

Nice, but the controls felt kinda static. Yet once you got used to it the game played pretty fresh:)

murilo says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 10:25pm

That was fun. But controls were a little unfair for aiming with precision.

demonpants says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 11:35pm

Mac please thanks!

tomhunt says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:26am

I like the canvas painting style of the graphics. It does give the game a unique look.

Oye Beto says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 4:44am

I killed the boss :o
I liked the game, it was fun :)

I didn't find useful moving forward (away from the hive). Maybe you could add some extra lives to appear somewhere in the screen so the player has to move more.

I also liked the score saving.

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:04am

The big change this year is that now those who judge more entries will get more people judging their entry. I recommend starting judging a few entries now and keep judging them throughout the next three weeks to ensure your entry gets a good handful of ratings. Try to judge AT LEAST 25 entries. Please note that stuffing fake ratings is 100% uncool.

JellyFame says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 12:08am

I'm really sorry for the comment above!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]