Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Lilac.27 - oddgoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lilac the cosmonaut travels around Tiny Worlds to exterminate the galactic vermin!

Click and hold to shoot!
More Instructions in-Game!

Progress updates in the Journal!

Another exclamation sentence!

Bonus: Kitten.Challenge included =)

Note: feel free to go full-screen on the web-player for extra immersion (Right-Click)

View oddgoo's journal. | View all entries by oddgoo

Ratings

Coolness71%
#9Graphics4.43
#26Overall3.99
#36Fun3.77
#37Theme3.98
#41Mood3.69
#46Audio3.65
#126Innovation3.62
#291Humor2.52

Comments

True Valhalla says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:24am

Very cool! Absolutely beautiful visual style, and while simplistic, surprisingly content heavy. Great job!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:19am

Love the graphic style!
Z and C are to uncomfortable. They should be on Q and E.

But, overall, good game :)

p.s. monster are too quick!!!!

cornedor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:42am

I love this game. Great gameplay and beautiful graphics :D

keely says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:46am

Great combination of 2D / 3D. It gives awesome unique feel to the controls and the game.

The best/funniest part was when you step on the "teleport" first time and fly through the air to another planet. That felt sooo cool when you didn't expect it at all.

Maybe too much bloom on some occasions, but overall good looking game. Good use of the theme too.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:16pm

Beautiful!

samoojamies says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:22pm

Overall very good!

Suese says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:32pm

I rated this one very favorably and played it to the end.

This entry was beautiful, quick, fun, and had a twist that really harnessed the theme nicely. While many Unity games come off as hokey level-editor levels, this is a game with a unique style all its' own. It should be noted the music added to the mood a lot here, it fit well. Very important.

KungPhoo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:12pm

Z,Y swapped on German keyboard. Q,E would be better.
Sometimes I feel like moving is a biiit sticky. A shadow under the player would be ace.
One of the best entries IMO. Absolutely a great game.

Parthon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:36pm

That was really awesome. Lots of fun, really wanted to finish it, and did! :D

fishbrain says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:25pm

Veeeeeeery nice!

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:16pm

I love this! Very simple and very effectively executed. Love the title screen! Good art direction. Positive female lead. Good job!


PS
My first thought was "I want to learn to make this." Really think this would make a solid unity tutorial. But maybe that's because I'm jealous a

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Awesome graphics + a fun game-play. Real cool

Stalker_23b says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Amazing, my favourite so far!

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:02pm

Just beautiful. pixel art + 3D is hard to pull off but you've done a heck of a job. congrats.

Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:19pm

This is great. Love the graphics, music fits well, gameplay is punchy and fun.

And the "shoot to start"-gag is brilliant. Nicely done!

strega says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:29pm

This game was great! Awesome use of graphics. I love the sounds, too!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:06pm

Really nice game. The jumping between worlds is cool!

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:04am

OH MAN I love the visuals! The gunplay is shockingly accurate. The camera controls are super awkward, and the jumping feels a bit off, but those are slight complaints for an otherwise AMAZING entry. Good work!

zazery says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:53am

I really liked your game. Shooting worked well but I felt it could use a little more visual feedback. The character could use more frames for aiming the crossbow. Something feels off when the player's visuals don't change when moving the mouse around. Lots of content, great music and good pacing.

derosa says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Good game! I love the graphics and the way you used RagePixel! The only con I find is the jumping. Sometimes it feels awkward...

oddgoo says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Thank you everyone for your motivating comments! I'll definitely be taking this to the next level.

Kastuk says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:04pm

It's made me to try make something with Sculptis...

uuav says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 5:22pm

awesome game is awesome

Valeour says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:31pm

Fantastic. Loved it.

kato9 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 7:43pm

This game is awesome! Really creative use of 2d/3d - no idea how you were able to make such a crazy idea playable AND actually fun. Charming art and music as well. Great work!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:41pm

That's an incredible amount of content you were able to cram in such a limited amount of time! Incredible work! :D

bompo says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 9:21am

Really great art style! Loved the concept. Combat system was a bit like respawn, shot, die, respawn...

Jiggawatt says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:42am

5 stars for graphics, audio and mood. This game really had soul.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:55am

Outstanding job! %0

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:52am

Hmm - seems half my comment was eaten by the internets. Let's try that again.
This is the first LD48 game that I've bothered to download the source for - you've got a bunch of cool stuff going on here that I want to steal ;)

summaky says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:48pm

Very beautiful. but the camera controls are a little uncomfortable for me and I have trouble moving around.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 6:53pm

The game feels really well thought out and it's quite fun to play. The help signs were simple but effective and helped give it a polished feel.

What I found to be the most distracting was how the rotation of the camera didn't work at times as it felt like it was colliding into the planet. This almost made it unplayable at times with the last planet being the worst. I haven't looked at the sources but how I would solve the rotation would be to make the player object always face the planet with LookAt and have the camera as a child object and simply rotate it around an axis.

Also I couldn't quite figure out how the shooting was supposed to work, considering the start menu I'd say the arrow lands where you point but it wasn't apparent to me as it some times didn't work and I would have to aim above or below to hit the enemy.

I really liked the graphics though, there was just the right amount of bloom to give it a softer feel in my opinion and I especially liked the terrain.

Using 2D billboards for the character and enemies was great, reminds me of old playstation games. A full 3D model would probably not have added anything so it was a good choice. :)

Also I liked how there was a final boss at the end, you really felt overwhelmed which I think is good for a boss fight.

Excellent work!

mooosh says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 11:31pm

holy shit.

this looks amazing, sounds amazing, plays amazing. there were even parts where I had fun. *fun*, for fuck's sake. maybe I'm being harsh, but I thought that all of these fancy Unity games with pretty 3D graphics weren't supposed to be fun! good job.

Zythiku says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:58am

Amazing game! Aiming is pretty hard especially on the last world and the camera is wonky at times, but definitely one of the best games I played so far.

Impossible says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:52am

Cute game. The last couple of hard levels feel a little unfair but there is basically no penalty for death so it's not a big deal.

ratboy2713 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 4:25am

I liked the 2d character in a 3d world, but the camera controls were a little difficult, and on the second world they kept getting stuck in the planet and couldn't move.

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 11:56am

Wow, that was awesomely done! Love the style.

One minor issue in that one time I teleported to a planet and landed straight in some lava, but seeing as I respawned on that same planet in the correct place it was an incredibly minor bug.

AD-Edge says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 3:15pm

Outstanding! Graphics are very nice, audio is spot on, the game itself is a lot of fun. I was dissapointed at the start screen because I was having so much fun shooting at the title, and I accidently hit the start box. Great way to introduce the main game mechanic as well though, knew exactly what to do as soon as I saw I was a character with a crossbow. The title screen is the main tutorial of the game! XD
My only issue was with the camera controls, was a bit of a pain to use Z and C to turn it. Could have used left click and drag instead, that would have worked better I imagine (or Q and E as others have said)
But yeh, well done!

rvmook says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:56pm

Really cool, loved the worlds and sounds. Controls and camera were a bit confusing sometimes

MrBarnslig says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 5:25pm

This is one of the most impressive games I've played. The worlds were so fun and different, the bloom effect made everything nice and shiny, and the geometry was impressive. Very whimsical music too, lots of fun. Even the start button was great! One minor gripe is the rotating. Controlling a camera separate from the character is always difficult for players.

Awesome job, thanks!

gritfish says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 1:46am

Great looking game. Loved the charge to shoot mechanics. I felt like I was wrestling with that camera most of the game, but it wasn't enough to stop me. As others have said, Q and E may have been more comfortable. The in-game billboards and into level are great - not too in-your-face, but obvious.

oddgoo says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:44am

Thank you everyone for such quantities of feedback =).

Ive posted the Post-Compo version with the following fixes:

-Camera Controls now with Q and E
-But, moving the camera shouldn't even be necessary anymore, now a proper angle is applied as you land on a planet.
-Added a light shadow to the character.
-Decreased the intensity of glow by a bit.

May 10, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Graphics were awesome, the movement felt a little sluggish, but jumping from planet to planet was fantastic. It reminded me a little bit of the alien level in ultima underworld 2

Thotep says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Great graphics and interesting ideas, though controls (esp. camera controls) make it really hard to play!

FredericRP says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:12pm

uncomfortable combination of keys (esp. for azerty keyboards) but great game, fits nicely the theme, many levels, well done !

robcozzens says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Pretty darn cool. It would have been awesome if the controls were easier/more comfortable.

angelk says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Very interesting gameplay, sweet style. As said, the controls for the camera are confusing, and I'm curious to take a look at the code you've got for aiming. But it's fun!

jplur says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:51am

High marks, glad I found this before the compo ended ;)

scgrn says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:19am

Just absolutely great.

firstrowgames says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:15pm

awesome graphics!
great game.

TobiasNL says ...
May 15, 2012 @ 3:38pm

This game rocks. Funky tune, awesome graphics, and cool gameplay. Gotta dig that style. Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]