April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

UpVote

by oldtopman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!!Due to a blackout, the DNS records are updating. Replace "topcraaftia.no-ip.org" with "75.166.137.51" if the site appears to be missing!!!

The working title for this game was TopHat, but I lacked time to do proper art, so the arrows were used instead. The music was created by atrk-bu. Thanks to raptor85 for the Windows compile. Thanks to netguy204, we now have an OSX build! More thanks to `zid from #naev on irc.freenode.net who cleaned up my code quite a bit. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/Ib304M

If you do find a bug (gasp) send me an email or find me on irc, because the notifications are broken here. email: http://bit.ly/JsZjIJ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#205Humor2.76
#240Audio2.97
#768Innovation2.15
#833Theme2.03
#839Mood1.81
#864Fun1.72
#883Overall1.82
#899Graphics1.39

Comments

oldtopman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Love the game, 5/5, but the inability to vote on this entry prevents me from judging appropriately.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Technical:

It has a big problem with input --- I checked the source code. You can't have two SDL_PollEvent loops -- when you do PollEvent, it discards the event. Merge it into a single loop, and things will work smoothly.


The game:

I managed to both lose and win - could be an interesting turn based online game - switch the graphics to something a bit more intimidating and you'd be ready. :)

oldtopman says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:18pm

@Kvisle Yes, I noticed that, and did not find the cause until after the deadline. I'll definitely look into turning this into an online game and will contact you if I do so; although if you've seen the code you know that any improvements are a little ways away from now.

RiamuDiMentis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:49pm

404 not found for the windows distro

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:14am

Die Upvote, die!

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:18am

@RiamuDiMentis
Thanks, fixed the link.

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:19am

@josefnpat
Yeah, I did the artwork before the storyline, so not all of it is in sync.

Jungorend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:42am

The blue arrow doesn't appear to do anything. It seems to just stand there as I move around and win the game.

Truce says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:42am

Playing the windows version, and based on the above comments I'm not sure I'm playing the same game. There's a big grid with only one other arrow on it, you kill it and win. Is that what everyone else is seeing?

Abstaining to vote until I know I'm playing the final version. =)

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:57am

@Truce
If you check the screenshot, that is indeed the game. It's not much, but it's my first graphical entry. If you have any more questions, I'm in the IRC, nick oldtopman.

FireSlash says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:02am

The game rules are a bit unclear. I ended up figuring it out (I think) but they could be explained better.

Also I couldn't get the game to actually close, had to murder it in task manager.

Milo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:09am

Definitely an interesting concept, but it'd be nice to have more. I love the graphic at the end.

jeffz says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:26am

I rated you highest on audio, the gameplay could have used a bit more work.

emveyh says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:37pm

so yeah, i think i won the game ... i don't know if it's just the windows version, but it's somekind of short and the enemy is doing nothing at all so it's pretty easy to win :) The best thing about this is the audio

Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:39pm

hehe i think i 'got it' great music :)

devwil says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:32pm

***I'm posting this on all non-browser games I bring up in an attempt to encourage folks to make browser games next time around. Do not take it personally.***

When hundreds of people make non-browser games, that means that, to play all of the entries, I would need to download hundreds of games to my computer. I typically use OS X, so Windows-only entries are particularly inconvenient.

Please consider making a browser game next time.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Love the music. I left your game running for a good while and enjoyed the tune.

Congrats also on finishing the compo with an actual game (which, I define as having a win condition, a loss condition, and some player influenced progression to one of those!)

The controls were frustrating. More than half of the time, when I pressed a button, nothing happened. That non-responsiveness made it difficult to tell if I was making reasonable requests of my vicious red arrow.

I appreciated the strategic component to the game. It took me a while to discover what orientations were effective and why I was getting killed. I didn't appreciate how hard it was to tell when bad things were happening though... I think an animation cue or a sound effect would have made discovering the right way to attach the evil blue arrow much more satisfying.

The theme is really only present in the color-text. There's really nothing tiny or worldly about these arrows. It's also hard to point to a particular mood in the game though the color-text is certainly a quirky and amusing premise for a game--though the game itself doesn't REALLY relate (other than i'm controlling an arrow... i do get that.)

Overall, I was frustrated but eventually entertained and I dig the music.

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:46pm

@devwil I feel your pain, fellow linux user here. Unfortunately, there is no way to compile for OSX without dropping a few hundred dollars at the Apple store, and web games aren't the moneymakers. I consider this practice for getting a game job (one day), or making my own, and web games just aren't there yet. Just look at the fact that I hear no music because people have to use flash to play their tunes! If downloading hundreds of entries is your problem, send me an email and I will be more than happy to mail you a hard drive to hold them.

@netguy204 Yeah, I had this magnificent storyline, but it sorta falls apart when you have ten minutes left. Thanks for the detailed review!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:43am

Uhm, I absolutely loved the epic ending! The gameplay could've used a bit more development, but the foundations were there :) good job!

Vic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:57am

Beat it on my first try :)!

The music is great, very well done! Hope to see you again next LD!

Catman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Funny! Love the arrow with a sword! :)

Norgg says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:55am

The server for downloads seems to be completely down at the moment, even by IP address. Give me a shout on IRC when it's back up.

tompudding says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Excellent music, cool idea, and a Linux version, yay!

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Would be better with a field of blue arrows and navigating through them.

Jedi says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 7:58pm

I just keep winning without thinking. On the third play, I tried to lose but couldn't. My opponent just sits there and counts down; I win even if I jump in front of him. I don't think it's working right for me :/.

The story seems like the kind of thing that major sleep deprivation brings about :).

barigorokarl says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Haha, nice story. The concept might be interesting, keep working on that! Thumbs up for Linux version :-)

oldtopman says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 8:43pm

@Jedi: The storyline/gameplay threw me for a loop. SDL_TTF was not as easy to use as I anticipated. And as for the storyline, I have no idea why it would seem like I was sleep deprived ;)

The boss deals damage to everyone with in a square in any direction every other turn. The player has to point at the boss to deal damage.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]