Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Predominantly Tiny World - Graham Weldon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your Predominantly Tiny World is being attacked by UFOs! They're after your precious minerals, and they're mining it out completely! Kill them off before they reduce your tiny world to a small pebble!

But beware.. they shoot back if you get too close!

View Graham Weldon's journal. | View all entries by Graham Weldon

Ratings

Coolness100%
#196Theme3.48
#311Graphics3.13
#480Humor2.13
#503Innovation2.76
#559Audio2.15
#584Mood2.45
#598Overall2.71
#633Fun2.44

Comments

datahaven says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:23am

+Great graphics, especially liked saucer explosions
+Nice presentation
+Excellent 50's sci-fi feel

-Slow player movement speed was very frustrating.
(It improved a little bit when I worked out Jumping makes you go a bit faster, but it seemed a bit unnecessary to have to bounce and hold the forward button down just to play the game)
-Difficult to tell what was going on / where saucers are, leading to unexpected death ruined the fun element.
-Providing installation instructions may be a good idea, although it was easy enough without on Windows
-Minor bug - score reported as zero at end of game

ratking says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:26am

Cool entry, although I found it very hard to aim in a meaningful way, and therefore died very quickly. I love walking on planetoids in games! ;-)

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:29am

A bit on the slow side, but cool nonetheless. I'd try to make more readily visible where the UFOs are (some kind of minimap?), and speed things up quite a bit. Make it more arcade-ish.
Good stuff!

robashton says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:58am

Well.... I have no idea how to shoot things, but I did manage to blow up a couple of saucers by chance.

I like the explosions, I like flying around the asteroid - I'm fairly sure I nearly reached escape velocity, but gravity won - what a bitch :-)

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:34am

Oh wow, great comments from everyone! Thanks so much @datahaven, I agree wholeheartedly on your constructive criticism. These points are definitely items I want to fix in the future (beyond LD#23).

I really appreciate all the great feedback! Thanks!

derdragon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:37am

A bit too slow on my laptop to really give it a rating, doesn't look bad though :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:19pm

I found it quite hard to tell the distance from me to the saucer, making it almost impossible to kill it. I also feel that I had a little bug, cause I could move much faster while jumping than just walking, as if i was weighed down by the planet.

Madball says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:26pm

I can blow up saucers only when I am close to them. I couldn't play it normally. And I found a bug: sometimes I seem to collide with a saucer, see an explosion and fly away. It lags and doesn't finish.

Evgis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Pretty neat, but super-annoying sounds.

berkano says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Fun zapping the saucers and bouncing around!

Magnega says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Nice work! I think something just ate my planet!

Darkfrost says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Very nice :) Was a bit slow to move around, and I kept shooting at the big one in the sky I think, which you can't shoot at? :D Not sure, but it was fun :) Nice work on the art!

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:17pm

This is a really great game - good job!

* I kept on randomly dying 10 seconds into the game?
* It was kind of hard to tell where the UFO's are (a radar or minimap would be cool)
* Took me ages to realise the big UFO in orbit can't be hit
* What was the floating log in the sky? :P
* Controls were hard to master

That said, I think this is an AWESOME concept for a game - and one that should be expanded upon. I love several things;

* The fact that between the planet getting smaller, you gathering momentum, and jumping just as a UFO explodes, it is possible to get into orbit! This lead to some really really cool arial space battles where you have to lead your shots a long way to try and hit the UFO's. Add jetpacks or air control and this would be amazing in multiplayer!
* I love that it's possible to shoot a bullet that 'bends' around the planet and hits a UFO on the other side!

If you are interested in expanding this / reworking it into a more complete game - contact me! I'd be interested in participating! My email is my username, but at gmail :)

5 stars!

bms says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:30pm

i LOLd at the cylinder planet :D nice sci-fi theme but the gameplay was a bit stiff.

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 1:33pm

A nice game, but a bit buggy and unpredictable (on one play through I seemed to get pushed away from the planet and all the UFOs and then the game started running at about 5 fps! on another play through it didn't register my score). Still, good work for 48 hours :)

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:44pm

More awesome feedback! You guys are great! @aaronsnoswell, I might get in touch with you at some point ;) Maybe once I recover from my sleep debt!

I posted about the feedback I have gotten so far: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/23/super-freaking-amazing-feedback/

Thanks again everyone! Keep it coming!

FredericRP says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Really good idea but that was hard to find and fight saucers.. it even reported a 0 score once, I don't know why :s

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:28pm

The game feels rather artificially hard. It's difficult to find the UFOs and the bullets move too slowly to hit a moving object. It's like you have a ping pong ball gun where the balls don't fall out of the sky because of minimal gravity and no air. Speaking of gravity, the mechanics of moving around on a planet where jumping can send you into orbit ended up being more fun than the actual gameplay, at least to me. If there were more to the game, being able to jump high over your enemies and let your momentum take care of movement as you shoot at them from above might make the game quite fun.

the8donut says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Really nice, especially the gameplay! Sound is a bit annoying but that's probably the hardest part of making a game in such a small timeframe, so it's fine. Good job!

kroltan says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:15pm

I really like the way i orbit the planet incessantly if I jump too much

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:36am

Its fun just to get a run up and keep pressing forward, to continue to spin around in orbit :) I spent a lot of time doing that while I was building it. :)

netmute says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:06pm

The 3D is nicely done. I somehow ended up on the dark side of the planet and couldn't see anything at all, except UFOs ;)

Gremlin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:54pm

I got 408. There were so many UFOs!

I'll echo some of the above commentators on the slow speed and hard-to-find enemies detracting from the experience, but the core idea is solid.

vigrid says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:57pm

I couldn't perceive the depth in this game right. Nice idea though. And explosions are nice.

omaha says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:33am

This game has a ton of potential. As others mentioned, we would love to see more interactivity with the saucers when they are off-ground. The controls feel like we should be shooting them while they are flying around above us.

Jan Willem says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:33am

Nice game, bit weird controls with the jumping (I almost got into orbit and then my planet exploded?). It's fun though!

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:36pm

@omaha: One of the more fun things to do is to shoot them out of the sky before they land - This means they don't even get a chance to start mining the planet away.

@Jan Willem: The jumping and character movement is weird, I know. :( I know why its caused now, but I couldnt fix it before the game submission deadline. Maybe I can fix it for a future release ;)

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:50pm

tried it under WINE but the mouse input doesnt work so it's impossible to rate :/

Graham Weldon says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Yeah, its unfortunate I could not get a build going for Linux. I have only listed builds for Windows and OSX, as those are the platforms I had available to build for.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Graphics are excellent. Bouncing myself into a wicked orbit was very enjoyable. My only gripe is that the slow speed of the bullets combined with my ridiculous orbitous speed made it so I could not hit anything. Although, the planet explosion was pretty awesome.

Muu? says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 5:27pm

The player moves too slow, controls are hard and jump is somewhat odd. Using rects for menu buttons when everything else is round is a punch in my eye. There's no hud or a way to see planet/player's health and where enemies are.
Your game is pretty solid, removing those bad points in a future version could make it a GREAT game. ;)
Oh, and I loved the simple but effective UFO design.

Apr 29, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Cool graphics and explosion effects, although I did run around wandering why I couldn't seem to hit any flying ships for a while at the start. Nice effect for having both light and dark sides of the planet.

Although can you actually dodge shots being fired at you from the landed saucers? I was happily bouncing around when I came across 5 or so of them landed taking resources shot one then that was it game over. :(

Some sort of minimap would have been handy but hy, there's only 48 hours right? Overall a nicely polished game which just needs a couple of extra features to enhance it's playability.

R3ason says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 6:06am

Interesting concept! I don't really have anything to add to the thoughts and critiques already received. I think reworking how/when you can shoot the saucers would be good, and some indication of what is killing you before you actually die (I heard the "pewpewpewpew", but as much as I tried looking around, I couldn't find anything in that short of time). Great little start, though! Thanks for sharing!

dr_soda says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:49am

I managed to jump myself clear off the planet! At that point, the bullets I shot went off into random directions, and the game slowed to a crawl. Frame rate and responsiveness just fell off a cliff and I had to use task manager to quit.

I think the game felt like you really needed to jump in order to move with any speed, which seemed strange to me.

The graphics and sound were pretty neat, but the controls really were difficult to get used to, and the consequences of acutally defying gravity and levatating into the stratosphere are really too hefty.

Hume says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Jumping to go faster was a bit weird, and lack of invert-mouse-y was killing me, but I loved the UFOs.

Graham Weldon says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 10:24am

Thanks for the feedback Hume! I didn't even consider configurability of controls within the 48 hours. Apologies for that. :(

Toast says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Liked everything except the gameplay itself. But I forgive you, just for the whole mood of it.

tomhunt says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 7:20pm

I did like the look created by the UFOs flying overhead combined with the curvature of the world. It was difficult for me to aim properly at the UFOs, so I got pretty frustrated with the game. It's an interesting idea that shows some potential, and I would encourage you to keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]