Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Globe - gavin5564 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is pretty basic, You are a single pixel in a Snow globe. The object of the game is to get from your starting destinations to the Love heart at the top of the map.

Game Controls:
Space: Jump.
WASD: Move.
Tab: Restart game.
F12: Toggle Music

Camera Controls:
Q: Zoom in.
E: Zoom out.
F11 (Toggle ON): Lock camera onto the player.
F11 (Toggle OFF): Full camera control, move camera with arrow keys.

Finish Condition:
You have finished the game and all areas of the map will be reviled once you have reached the heart at the top of the map.

Game Requirements:
XNA 4.0: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914
Windows.


View gavin5564's journal. | View all entries by gavin5564

Ratings

Coolness66%
#127Theme3.63
#152Mood3.22
#172Audio3.13
#602Graphics2.56
#610Innovation2.56
#639Overall2.66
#748Humor1.50
#751Fun2.16

Comments

Zythiku says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:40am

I liked the melody that played and I think it was a good idea on how you used the theme.

Permanent7 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:57am

Pretty cool idea. Jumping is a bit weird. The top of the jump should ease in and ease out. Seems a lot like a game I played a while back, can't remember it though. :/

omaha says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:24am

couldn't get it running on my linux box or my mac :(

Gremlin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:27am

Love the concept and the style, but found the gameplay a little frustrating (Partially because the collision detection seems a bit off).

Jungorend says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:28am

Hitting walls when jumping is a tad frustrating, but I love getting to the snow area with that music, they work well together. :)

Tourgen says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:46am

Getting to the end and seeing the payoff was pretty cool. I liked it.

cakemonitor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:42am

This is a great game, I liked the music and the simplicity of the challenge while maintaining a sense of fun. I think the jumping could have been improved a bit (maybe only continue to climb while the player is still holding space - to allow for smaller jumps over little gaps?). Also the black background of the tunnels and the black background of uncovered squares was aesthetically a little odd - perhaps set a 'fog colour' for undiscovered areas?
Overall a great little game, well done! :)

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:00pm

This was a nice ambient platformer, and it had really pretty graphics and music, except for one thing I'm confused about. Why a green square? It feels like it's a placeholder and really doesn't look good. I also feel like the blocks that you reveal are a bit too discrete. I do like the ambient kind of style that the game has.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:07am

I would have played it if there was a Web or OSX version.

Zillix says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:09am

Great ambiance.
I fell out of the map, into the snow in the top left of the map (near the heart), so I couldn't finish completely.

R3ason says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:16am

Yeah! Good fun! Any reason why you are a neon green pixel? Thanks for sharing; really enjoyed playing, and the end was totally worth it!

gavin5564 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:57am

Thanks for the comments everyone. The Neon pixel was kinda a placeholder, but It was the best color that showed up, Also considering the pixel really is 1x1 I couldn't have done much to it even if I wanted to.

@Zillix: Not sure what happened with you falling out of the map.

Omaha: I'm not sure if XNA works in linux,OSX..

Robcozzens: Make/find me a XNA to web porter and I and alot of other XNA dev's would be more then happy to use it. I am aware of silversprite but it doesn't support alot of xna functionality.

R3eason: Totally agree, I threw together the ending zoom-out last minute. I'm so glad I did as it really finished off the game and portrayed the exact feeling I wanted to give the user.

attagcatc says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:07am

Would be better if the collision detection worked across the entire pixel, no just the top left corner and maybe if you move faster, but overall it has a really nice peaceful mood.

gritfish says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:51am

The payoff at the end is fantastic. Although I didn't read the instructions closely, it was easy to judge how much was left by the curves at the edge of the map. Could have been a little shorter, but that background music was good enough, and wanting to know what was at the top of the world was enough to keep going. Good job!

Law says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:16am

The game didn't really feel right. Collision detection really stood out when I was trying to play it.

Kharza says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:29pm

Nice ending

Apr 27, 2012 @ 10:57pm

The game idea is nice. The music fits really well! Good job. You can use Monogame to port to Linux and MacOSX. For Web take JSIL ;-).

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Nice music & premise.

jfroco says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 4:42am

Congrats for your game. At the beggining I thought it was a top down game :)

Jeffalisk says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:28pm

Argh, not another XNA game that won't run on my laptop because it's been compiled using the HiDef graphics profile :( Seriously, that's about 5 now this compo. XNA devs, please, PLEASE, use compatibility mode when compiling. There's like a 99% chance that LD games aren't using anything from the HiDef framework anyway, so it's just incompatibility for no gain.

Raptor85 says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 9:49pm

can't test, XNA4 doesnt run on linux even w/ WINE

egerlach says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 1:19am

I liked the level design, though the controls were difficult. Sometimes I'd fall through things I expected to be able to stand on and vice versa. Obviously a lot of thought put into the exploration though, and I loved that!

Super Soul says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 2:57am

very cool, reminds me of a game i played, i think is was called Small Worlds. I liked the change in scale i felt as I explored, I would feel the world was huge, until I ran into the side of the globe and then everything felt small again. Enjoyed the transition of the art as I climbed upwards. I always have a good experience playing exploratory platformers!

JellyFame says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Cannot play, don't have access to windows.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]