April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

An Imperative Journey

by RichMakeGame - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you've got an older machine, try the _4WDrenderer version of the download (it won't look quite as nice unfortunately). If in doubt please try the regular download, it's only 10 meg :)

- instructions for those a bit lost!:
sorry! it's not so obvious from the first task- basically for milk follow the white line (then to the hedgehog), water the blue (then to the flower),(then upstairs), leaf the green (then to the stand-alone green plant). Then to the kitchen, off the main 'hub' room.

- Additionally: there's no pause screen, you'll need to alt-f4 to quit (or lose focus with alt-tab and close the window, if you're using windowed)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Graphics4.17
#56Theme3.89
#70Mood3.51
#151Audio3.19
#231Overall3.32
#356Humor2.37
#503Fun2.68
#603Innovation2.57
#980Coolness22%

Comments

naxum says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:27am

Oh man I LOVE your work, I'm diving in right now :)

karnakgames says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:30am

Since it is in Unity, please provide a Web version, you will surely get dozens additional plays (including mine, Mac user).

Apr 23, 2012 @ 3:34am

Impressive!

Fireblend says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:47am

Nicely done! Other than a bit of movement-wonkyness, this is great!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Looks cool, but I'm also on a Mac!

ghRibacki says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:48pm

I loved the visual style, but the controls are imprecise and frustrating making the player lose lots of time trying to move to a place or jumping on mushrooms. I couldn't find the milk but it was nice to navigate through the tunnels. =)

samoojamies says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:55am

cute game :)

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:10am

thanks guys! I'm going to try get a web export up. This was my first time using unity and I left it till the very last minute to figure out publish settings so I only got the windows one out. Apologies for the wonky movement! It was probably a bad idea, but I decided to try make my own movement instead of using the unity default. It works nice on my machine but I think it's not correctly accounting for framerate maybe. Or some other issue, not sure yet

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:46am

web is up! it seems to be a much smaller download, so go for that I guess :). Not tested on mac, hope it works ok

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:37am

I love it! But the movement is too slow! :c I think that a 3rd person view would have worked way better, anyway, well done :3

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:03am

if movement seems too slow, it's possible the 2nd version might help... The Web link lets you play either version

Jigxor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Graphics are stunning! That was an amazing little world to run around in and explore.

I enjoyed this one :)

Mesene says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:15pm

I enjoyed it.
with few more work it can be somethig funny, keep working on it!

uuav says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Control is a bit hard but I love that mood

johanp says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:06pm

Great little world to explore in but fiddly controls made it sometimes really hard and frustrating.

NateNaterson says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Beautiful graphical style, fun music, but awkward controls. I found it very hard to get up to the flower using only the clothespin arrows. :(

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:55pm

Very cute world ! ...but hard to play on an azerty keyboard. If jumping could be done with right click it would make it easier.

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:56pm

Oh wait nevermind you can edit controls with unity's input >_>

andyrofl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:09pm

That music is great. But I have no idea where to find the milk. Still had fun roaming the tunnels though.

NoLan Labs says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:16pm

This game looks amazing! I had a lot of fun exploring, but eventually quit because I didn't know where to go. If someone could give a hint as to where that milk is hidden.. I'd love to keep playing it.

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:57pm

sorry! it's not so obvious from the first task- basically for milk follow the white line (then to the hedgehog), water the blue (then to the flower),(then upstairs), leaf the green (then to the stand-alone green plant)

Nocturne says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:14pm

Hmmm... Seems I'm the only one that didn't really like this I'm afraid. I didn't like the graphics, I didn't like the lack of sound effects, and the movement seemed awkward. Sorry, but this really wasn't my cup of tea...

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:55pm

I'm not a fan of anything that involves jumping. I found it too difficult to jump from mushroom to mushroom.

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:09pm

I'm Sorry, I was not able to figure out how to use objects.

Nolan C says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:53pm

I just didn't realize you could bounce on those mushrooms, after I figured that out the game was a lot of fun. One of the better games I've seen on here, good job.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:24am

Very nice graphical style and pleasant music, but I do wish there was more to do than carry things from place to place. Regardless, this is nicely done and an impressive first product with Unity.

I've been meaning to check out Pineapple Smash Crew for a while now :).

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:59am

It looks really nice. Is anybody willing to help me with controls? I found only w,a,s,d and space. How to use objects or interact with environment? I'm playing web version on Mac OS X (Firefox).

FredericRP says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:41am

It was fun to walk though those tunnels, and I laughed when I saw the hedgehog, but the controls are too hard, I quit before reaching the flower :(
BTW I'm on a Mac and the web version runs fine.

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Hi, for folks struggling with controls, could you give me some feedback what's wrong? I'm not entirely sure it's behaving the same on all computers

sudorossy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:22pm

I found the controls very hard to get used to, but I loved the art style and music. It certainly fit in with the theme very well! I recorded a few minutes of playthrough here: http://youtu.be/XlvomEfIB3A

Pavel Dlouhy says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Hi! What is wrong? well, I just misunderstood game logic. It was my fault. Now it is OK. ;) Sorry about that.

RichMakeGame says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 10:45pm

Thanks sudorossy- It's difficult to tell if the framerate is choppy in game or just the video. If it's the game, using the alternate forward render version will probably make it easier. If it does run smoothly, then it might just be my bad controls :) sorry about that!

leafo says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:39am

It's a cool game. The graphics are pretty. My only issues were the fairly low framerate, and the jumping was kinda difficult.

LukeRissacher says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:53am

Nice - didn't get it at first, but reread your instructions. Great graphics and modeling, and nice music tracks. Pretty impressive for 48 hours. I had some input-lag issues, would have been nice to have the option to turn vsync off (I've found that usually solves it for other 3D games).

Vilborg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:54am

I was very confused as to what exactly I was doing, but I managed to fetch all the items. The bit where all of a sudden SPIDERS was strange; I was wondering of it was going to turn into some sort of shooting, but apparently not.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 4:11am

I really loved the graphics style! Really impressive the amount you got done in such a short period of time. The mood was really nice, and the theme worked well also. Tough to find my way around, and player physics/controlls could use a bit more work. Very engaging game!

Thotep says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 7:20am

I liked to explore this tiny world, good use of theme! Nice graphics, and this is literally the first game in this LD where I like the music! Gameplay is unclear, I don't really know what and how should I do. Also, FPP platforming... It never works and is never enjoyable!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]