April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot Dem Asteroids

by Darkcoder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:

- WASD to move
- Space to shoot


Tips:

- Your ship's gun will overheat, so try to fire in bursts.
- It's easier to defend Earth if you stay near it
- The red arrows around you ship point to asteroids

Note: There is no way to win this game, you just shoot asteroids until you die :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#319Graphics3.11
#460Audio2.41
#483Overall2.88
#524Theme2.85
#539Humor2.00
#560Fun2.59
#577Mood2.46
#651Coolness48%
#715Innovation2.30

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:11am

Clunky controls, but apart from that, i like it :)

cirolve says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:12am

well that certainly was a fun little game :p A bit hard to control, but fun none the less.

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:38am

I really enjoy controls like this! Getting the hang of them is a lot if fun. Like that I'm fighting against gravity all the time. Only lasted 92 seconds, but it was a fun 92 seconds!

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:43am

Very hard to control the ship - made it a little frustrating. Otherwise, quite fun, and it looks very nice. More of a plot would help. I liked the shrinking and warping planet.

Lacutis says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:10pm

I like classic arcade games, and it was fun. Saying that though the controls were really difficult. Also, at one point an asteroid pinned me against the planet and I couldnt move. Still, a fun game!

Also, having some kind of end goal, like X asteroids destroyed would have been nice. Maybe, asteroids drop minerals and after X minerals you get a defense outpost at one corner of the planet. Once you get four of them the planet is safe.

smvilar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Really hard to master the controls.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:38am

I agree with everyone else that the controls take some getting used to, but the graphics and camera movement are really nice! Also, I would have liked to have been able to destroy the planet myself.

And I think the world could have been a little bigger.

zenasprime says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:12pm

Overall an interesting design. It needed a bit more game testing. It was really difficult to control the ship and navigate around your little world.

AirRider3 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Very fun! It was challenging! Great graffics, I really like them!

Maybe a nice background music could be a thing to add.

Ben says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Very nicely made, especially liked the graphics. My only thing was I think that you shouldn't overheat as quickly. Either way though, very good job!

namuol says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:46am

Controls are realistic which is cool, but it's frustrating because it's so damn hard to destroy the asteroids. My suggestion would be to make them one-shot-kill. I don't mind drunken-rocket-flying around space as long as I can do it for more than 2 minutes at a time. ;)

Nice SFX/GFX and controls, though!

spooks says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Great premise, sound and graphics, just which the controls were a little tighter, other than that though, well done!

tcstyle says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 8:09pm

I like the basic idea, the physics work, the graphics are good and the sounds fit. But the controls make it really unplayable to me.

robcozzens says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:02am

Cool graphics and audio. But it's even harder to control than the original asteroids.

Mago says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:43am

Hard to control the ship besides that everything is OK. My high score 221

voxel says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:14pm

I actually really liked the controls too. Was half the fun of the game

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]