Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Friends and Foes - Gjarble - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Whoo! A bit more polished than my last successful entry, but it's still really buggy. You may get a few false deaths here and there (and the end-game trigger doesn't work, so you'll die when you reach the end of the level- you'll know it when you see it).

Anyway, the game itself:

You play a little bird who has just horribly misinterpreted a metaphor made by his mother ("You're not a tiny world, son. Not everything revolves around you"), and has now set off in search of proof that things DO indeed revolve around him. He succeeds- sort of.

That story would make a LOT more sense if I had time to do an opening cutscene.

But yeah. Fly around, climb walls, don't die. Y'know, platformer stuff. Read the instructions for more on that.

View Gjarble's journal. | View all entries by Gjarble

Ratings

#303Fun3.05
#349Innovation3.11
#410Overall3.00
#418Humor2.23
#532Mood2.53
#550Audio2.18
#646Theme2.58
#697Graphics2.37
#874Coolness32%

Comments

matt says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:19am

I enjoyed this.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:22am

That was fun. I would definitely be interested in playing a fleshed out version.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:25am

I really liked this game, though I found it to be very hard.

It seems like if you manage to collect a white square, it should protect you a from red square regardless of if the two collide (this may have been part of the bug mentioned above). It's just too difficult to try to make the two squares collide while flying around (usually it would just happen when I got lucky).

Other than that, the mechanics seem pretty solid.

Gjarble says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:22am

Thanks to everyone (both above and presumably below this post) for the feedback! I'm glad you like the game.

@youdonotexist: That is the intended behavior. I agree with you- it's tricky to time and more up to chance than skill. Originally, the white flies were gravitationally attracted to you like the black flies, and you had to fling it in the general direction of the enemy. This, as you may imagine, was even harder to do, and it was too easy to fling the flies out of orbit entirely. My objective was to use the white flies more as a weapon than as a powerup/shield, but I suppose if I can't find a good way to implement them as a weapon, I should probably just make them a plain ol' shield (right now, it's about halfway between the two).

Here's a thought: what if you could tap the up arrow in flight to make the white flies hovering around you do a little rapid-spin? This would effectively kill anything near/touching their circular path, but nothing inside or outside the circle. That would be much easier to deliberately time than the current system, while still being more skill-based than a passive shield.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:29pm

I like the idea of being able to control when the fly protects you.

However, it seems like that would just become something that the player would abuse and just always be tapping up when they're flying around. If there were something like a.. power-down on the white fly so it could only rapid-spin for so long before it needed to rest, that would make it so the player would need to time when/if they're going to use the white fly as protection.

kato9 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Good concept, but a little frustrating.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:27pm

nice simply game

crazyheckman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:29pm

Movement was a little awkward but I liked it.

Norgg says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Nicely done, too much on the frustrating side for me though. The suddenly clinging to walls at the slightest touch kind of messes with what's otherwise a really fun flow of it. Would be nice if the difficulty ramped up a bit more slowly too I think so you can get the hang of flying a bit before being hurled into the really hard stuff.

iximeow says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:38pm

I gotta say, I really enjoyed how it felt to be playing as a bird. The way you have the movement set up just makes it really fun.

It is frustrating, but for me it's the perfect amount of frustrating where I could keep playing a very long while (and would if I didn't have some stuff to get done today)

Nightsjester says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Pretty good!

Mago says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 9:12am

I like controls idea, flying and walking on walls.

rvmook says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:56am

A bit hard but fun too play. Maybe next time make the retry button listen to keyboard input aswell. Too bad the story wasn't included in your entry. Didn't really make sense now.

davidpeter says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 6:19am

Great concept, would love a full game!

Toast says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 10:15pm

On the basic side gameplay wise, but I love these flying-bird platformer games. And you took an interesting spin on the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]