April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Hopeless

by DragonSix - Jam Entry

==============================
05/05/12: NEW FIXED VERSION: the graphical bug is gone, it should now show correctly for everyone \o/ Sorry for the inconvenience.
==============================

You are on a tiny world, you are alone, and nobody comes around. It's been years, everything is so far. There is no hope.

Controls are WASD+Mouse
Click to use the computer or the bed.


runs on XNA, so I included the necessary installers in the zip file if you ever need them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1039Coolness17%

Comments

MortisGhost says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Yeah Yeah Yeah !! So strange and cool. Ghetto Dedicace 4 ever !

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Strange. But... Gameplay? Nice idea, but is this a game?

btw: cool graphics

DragonSix says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Click to use the computer or the bed.

kutuup1989 says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 9:55pm

I installed both the redists but I just get a white screen and "this program has stopped working" error. Have I missed a step?

DragonSix says ...
Apr 22, 2012 @ 10:31pm

I'm sorry, xna 4.0 is quite picky about what hardware it can run on. Nothing I can do unfortunately.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:35am

It's very weird, I like it, even if i didn't figure how to finish the game, if there is a way to...The computer's tab are a great idea, I recognized my own computer from one day ago ^^

DragonSix says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:41am

Yeah, my bad, it isn't clear that the bed is also clickable.

Vilborg says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:19pm

I can run it; your game is using the HiDef graphics profile instead of the Reach one, so older computers can't run it. You can change this in the project properties.

jwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:32pm

The game ran and I was able to press enter to select mouse/keyboard, but from then on all I got was a purple screen. There were some kind of sounds effects if I used wasd, however.

Tried reinstalling the frameworks--didn't help. OS: Win 7.

Tourgen says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:59pm

couldn't play it, shows a purple full-screen and doesn't do anything

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 2:08am

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
Got to the start screen and hit enter to play. Game just showed a purple screen and couldn't seem to get past that. Shame because this looked interesting.

DragonSix says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:00am

Looks like the blur shader is crapping itself. I can't know what's wrong because it's working on my end (and for certain people).

First time I have a technical failure of that sort.

masterhyjinx says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 8:43am

XNA install crapped out on me.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:06am

Looks cool, but I'm on a Mac.

Alexandre says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Same as Evil Cult here... (purple screen after I press enter)

May 2, 2012 @ 10:27am

A very surreal and escapist idea, interesting. I would have loved to see more story though, going more into the depth of what's happening.

DragonSix says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 12:30pm

You could, somehow.
This game is actually part of the same series I'm making since about 3 Ludum Dare (all the while abiding by the themes and time limits).

1) Faceless http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-21/?action=preview&uid=5454
2) Lifeless http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=5454

Hopeless is the third.

DragonSix says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Alright I found the cause of the purple screen. I forced anti-aliasing while using MRTs, which is officially impossible in DX9.

So I simply disabled the MSAA and everything works perfectly now.

johannhat says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 12:16am

Hey, check it out, the Ludum Game Workspace Simulator. :D (Or at least, how I felt while working on my own game. ;p)

Very odd, but I like the intentions and the graphics. I'm sure it fell under heavy time constraints, but additional objects for interaction and a bit of a puzzle element would make this very interesting. Oddly enough, my first though was how the person got onto the island, not how to get off.

JellyFame says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:38pm

Cannot play, don't have access to windows.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]