April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

I want to turn the heater on

by Andrew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your entire world and everybody else's for that matter is a room literally inside your head. Problem is you're in your room while it's in your head while you're in it while... yeah...

Now you want to turn your heater on but then someone steals your bed. Go on an epic journey of discovery and puzzle-solvery to get some sleep!


***********READ THIS**********
Try the first version, that will most likely work on most things(except for sounds in IE because it doesn't like ogg). Firefox 11 might die when you try to warp because.. well.. yeah. The second version doesn't have the warpy effect or the room indicator, so it should not only work on FF11 but work slightly faster on slower machines.


In case of touchscreen: clicking/tapping the sides of the screen works like the arrow keys.
*****************

NEW!
Added an android build, there are some minor tweaks, so you can consider it a post compo build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#90Theme3.74
#136Innovation3.58
#143Humor2.98
#208Mood3.09
#308Overall3.18
#387Graphics2.96
#427Fun2.82
#584Audio2.08

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:47pm

The game is really tedious to play, especially since nothing is explained. I'm supposed to give a pot to Miguel, but what pot? I don't see a pot in any of the worlds.

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 2:53pm

You're supposed to give Miguel food(in this case the fish), the pot is behind him, he'll give you that.

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:26pm

i really enjoyed this! though i kept getting stuck with the fisherman. could use a way to drop items. very interesting concept though for sure. nice job.

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:00pm

@Angrygeometry Thanks, glad you liked it. The item limitation is there intentionally as I planned to have a strategic-walking-with-item-swapping puzzle but I couldn't find a non annoying way of doing it.

Syntaxide says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:13am

Unique puzzle fun. I enjoyed playing through that. The item switching mechanics were a bit weird, but I got used to it.

Skully says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:13am

It was abit vague, but I got to the last room, really enjoyed the concept, very clever. Took a while for me to find the pot though.

Andrew says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:19am

It should be noted for all future players that the pot is the blue thing behind Miguel. Once you give him the fish he'll let you pass.

oldtopman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:20am

Pros: Sound effects were spot-on, and the multiple dimensions is pure geinus.
Cons: The solution to the last puzzle was inobvious, and made little sense
Overall, a fun short time waster, perfect for this compo. 4/5
Thoughts: A little background music hasn't hurt anyone, has it?

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:21am

I think there could have been more cues here and there to help lead players on. I didn't have any problem with it though, and had a lot of fun up until I moved the swords and (maybe?) chopped that guy's head off. The controls bother me a bit, when I want to grab something and it automatically swaps objects that I pass through.

Great work! Nice idea and concept.

Andrew says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:18am

@oldtopman Excellent observations. The problem with background music is that I could never get it to loop properly so I just left it out. I'm honestly surprised I got sounds working at all (except for IE)

@Cake&Code yeah I noticed that it looked like a head too late and didn't have time to change it. That guy is supposed to be an anthropomorphic toe and the thing you took was supposed to be a hat.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Mind in mind it's cool.

Jack says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:45pm

strange as hell, completely inexplicable, incredible fun. I love this game. If you were supposed to get the pot by giving the food to the guy, I didn't do that, I just used my incredible reality-warping powers to get behind him

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Interesting concept, although I had serious problems getting to the end (until I found i can walk behing Miguel thus solving the problem with putting stuff on the plate.

derosa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Man, I didn't want to chop his head off! xD Fun puzzle. I finished it, but took me awhile.

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Enjoyed this! Really original, love the mind-warp aspect. It took me three attempts as it crashed a couple times (safari on mac) and for some reason I couldn't hear any sound. The graphics were great, funny and kind of creepy which I think is the theme you were going for... nice work :D

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:48pm

Hands down the most abstract game I've seen yet this compo! I enjoyed it because it was so different, but got annoyed and quit before the end. I did feel like I was making progress more through luck than judgement.

vilya says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Really enjoyed this! Had a glitch at one point where I managed to get the fisherman stuck outside of the room so I couldn't progress, but I restarted and got past that point next time around. Great job!

Andrew says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:16pm

@Jack congrats for figuring that out. You're now thinking with rooms inside your head :D

Everyone else, thanks for the good comments, and sorry for the occasional bug/glitch. I wanted the game to be more or less finish-able in under 4-5 min because I wasn't expecting anyone to play anything for longer, so that's part of the reason you can stumble along through it. It just takes longer that way.

bburbank says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:28pm

I really wanted to use those swords on that nose-guy. Super interesting "4d" concept.

Jacic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:11am

Very nice idea! And I got beds! :D

samusetroid says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:35am

Link has been updated. Thanks for the notice! Check my game out again at: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-23/?action=preview&uid=12985

Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:45am

Very surreal and I like the interpretation of the theme. I appreciate that it was made in Processing, too. ^_^ Cheers!

callidus says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:53am

Woa! Brainception :-D really surreal game and lots of fun if you like puzzle games, some music would have been nice but I know HTML5 audio is fail ( my game is HTML5 as well ). Really good entry.

ilo says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Wasn't overly keen on the way items switched, but the concept is very cool!

Darien says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:15am

Excellent concept! I was totally confused by the fish, since I also got the pot just by warping behind the guy, but I did it by accident -- I was all the way to the left while warping passed through that board, and suddenly had a pot in my hand.

Also, does the lever / ball-and-chain room do anything? I must have missed it.

Andrew says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:44am

Surreal whas what I was going for, glad I got it.

@Darien was only added to confuse and make people overthink ;)

HD408 says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:17am

Weird but innovative. Worth giving a shot.

Mrnewt says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Interesting concept with the transitions.

VoidChronos says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 10:16pm

Great entry! I liked the graphics really much. The fisherman is so cute :) The ambient sound would greatly benefit the gameplay. The hardest moment i got stuck was about blue pot which miguel gives away. It would be much better if he puts it in front of himself.
Anyway, Great Job!

summaky says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 10:37am

So I ended up in a room filled with beds and a chinese man... o_O I liked the simple controls, but the item swapping mechanic some times was a little frustrating. Also, I got the pot without givin Miguel any food by just changing room while standing behind him in the room below; I did that not on purpose and I got confused as hell when he asked for food. The last puzzle was not that obvious which reminded me of Monkey Island and this is a very good thing :-)

Andrew says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 11:19am

@summaky that's probably the best compliment I could get.. EVER! :)

ratboy2713 says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Could have used with a bit more explanation on what you're supposed to do.

mildmojo says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 4:10am

I totally thought the blue thing behind Miguel was the bed he stole. Had to check here to find out it was the pot.

Nifty warping bit. I like how you occupy the same location in each nested world; you could totally use that for some navigation puzzles.

Andrew says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 4:26pm

@mildmojo That was the original plan, but I couldn't get any navigation puzzle right and they ended up being too frustrating.

MrPhil says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 5:52pm

The controls left me confused, I didn't understand my goals and I was surprised by some interactions and the lack of others.

madflame991 says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:02pm

I really had fun playing this. I found the fisherman part quite annoying, but overall it's a good concept.

23 says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 10:38am

That was funny and fit the theme well - pretty confusing, though, particularly with the stacking puzzle.

cmo7 says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:52pm

Trippy game!

aramis erak says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 7:35am

Nicely done.

tcstyle says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 3:46pm

That's a pretty clever idea. I really like it. The graphics fell very oldschool in a good way.

KevinWorkman says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 4:26am

The idea seems interesting, but I couldn't really get into it as I had no idea what was going on. Also, the game froze up when I tried to warp, on firefox 12. I switched to chrome and it seemed to work okay, but I still had no idea what was going on!

Andrew says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 10:48am

@KevinWorkman sorry about that, for some reason firefox hates the warp effects. Figuring out what must be done is part of the game ;)

Make A Game says ...
May 14, 2012 @ 12:14am

It was short, random, and I solved most of the puzzles by accident. I'm the king of beds.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]