April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

HMS Imahara

by SLiV - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After years of travel, the HMS Imahara is hit by an alien vessel. They come with no good intentions. Can the crewmembers find their way to the escape pods, before suffocating or being eaten?

HMS Imahara is a turnbased tactical game with abstract graphics. The game consists of a single spaceship and its 76 rooms and shafts.

Controls:
Arrow Keys to move crewmembers,
WASD to move camera,
EQ to zoom in/out,
Space to confirm,
Escape to quit the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#52Mood3.63
#109Innovation3.67
#325Fun3.00
#341Overall3.13
#573Theme2.73
#625Graphics2.50
#650Humor1.80
#681Audio1.70

Comments

bigbadwofl says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:44am

Quite an innovative game. Congratulations on finishing LD23!

Sheep says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Nice story and really innovative! I finished with surviving 4 people! And even though the players are just squares, it was well designed with the stars effect and the colored text. Sad there was no audio.

racarate says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Clever interpretation of "Tiny Worlds". I like how the ship is refered to as a sardine. It was a bit hard to differentiate the colors of walls (dark grey) versus colors of floor (dark grey). I assume that was intentional? Ah, nevermind, the field of view hadn't turned on yet. I like how fast paced it is, Stone Soup style. But it was very hard to tell the result of my turn since the camera cut away immediately. Also, I didn't really understand how combat worked. I wish there would have been sound effects to tell me the results of combat or how low I was on oxygen -- it seemed akward to keep looking away from the floorplan to track my vitals. Overall, I loved the narrative and the take on the theme. I like the idea of a fast-swapping team-based rougelike. I think if you flesh out the theatrics (either in text, or with sound and graphics) you are on to something good.

Several says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:19am

While pestering someone to test my Windows build, I also pestered them to download and start up your game. Alas, I did not have the time to continue staring over their shoulder for more than a minute, but I saw enough to confirm that I want to play it. A pity there's no Mac build.

SLiV says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 8:57am

Thanks for the feedback, guys!

I was hoping the walls and floor were different enough, but I can definitely see why they weren't. I agree that sound effects might have made it clearer on what is going on.

The idea of keeping the camera still after moving a crewmember, is pretty clever and I'm not sure why I didn't pick up on that (time pressure, I presume).

Regarding oxygen, you do realise the oxygen levels are also indicated on your crewmembers (if you zoom in a bit)? It even shows you how much oxygen you'll have left after moving.

At any rate, loving the constructive feedback so far. I'll might just look into further developping this game.

ilo says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:00am

I enjoyed playing this. Turn-based games seem effective at building tension, and this was no exception.

A few ideas: you could add more of a puzzle element to it by allowing the crew to interact with parts of the ship (e.g. computers, machines, robots) to open/close access routes, pump oxygen levels around (rather than at fixed points), lure and slow down the aliens. Crew members could also have different jobs and abilities to help them. You could also develop the story and have it play out over several levels, maybe taking inspiration from films like Alien, Event Horizon, Solyaris, and so forth.

Anyway, good job! :)

jwolf says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 12:12am

Pretty good! I wasn't sure / missed how you were supposed to open doors (just step next to them), but eventually figured it out.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 1:30pm

I'd like to try this, any chance you can zip it so my antivirus doesn't just delete the exe?

scoopsy says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Sorry, I can't play since I'm on OSX. Too bad, looks neat!

cobrajs says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Great story and mood, and tense gameplay. Ran slowly for me, but I was running it in WINE on Linux, so that may have something to do with it. I like how every part of the ship was named, and how there was no way to fight back against the aliens. Just escape or death.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 4:54am

I would try it if you had a Web or OSX version.

SLiV says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 11:22am

ilo: Good ideas. I had plans to integrate some of them, but I didn't get to it.

tripleVisionGames: Sure thing.

Mac peeps: I'm afraid I have no Mac build, sorry.

Jezzamon says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Aw... would like to play this, but I have a mac.

ratking says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 2:35pm

Very atmospheric, congratulations. I guess it's too complex to beat it in one round, though, only one of my crewmembers survived. :-|

someone says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 2:45pm

Runs almost unplayably slowly in Wine. Looks good though.
It wasn't obvious what was going on. I didn't figure out how to get more oxygen until nearly everyone was dead.

dr_soda says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:59am

Quite a concept you have here. I like it a lot!

If I had only one suggestion to make it would be that I wish the camera movements didn't require repeated keypresses. I felt like I was going to wear out my WASD on this game.

The graphics really let your imagination take over. I think you did a great job with very minimal assets. The lack of sound *added to* rather than detracted from the experience.

Alexandre says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 6:20pm

Nice game! Really enjoyed playing a few times to get as many crew members to safety as possible!

Pierrec says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 7:58pm

I've played recently a similar game on Kongragate (tactical...on a spaceship...with aliens) and I loved it. But if this one is shorter and less rich (which is normal) it has something more. The minimalism....the silence...I don't know. It feels just right. Congratulations.

chambers says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 5:15am

Very hard, could only save Brandon and Anna. Very nice mood, had me desperate while I was playing, a nice atmospheric sound would have reinforced it a lot in my opinion (not necessarily a background music. Check for example the entry "There is a Picture") I found the game really fun and if your goal was to deliver a suspenseful, thrilling experience, then you did it right.

Dr.Pingu says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:27am

Great job :) well done !

Blanky says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 3:05pm

Nice game and idea.

JonathanG says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:56pm

This is an interesting game, it reminds me of two board games! One is Red November, where players play co-operatively as gnomes on a sinking submarine and must move around and fix problems and survive until rescue arrives. The different sections of the ship, and the oxygen tanks dotted around reminded me of this. The other is Escape From The Aliens In Outer Space, where each player has their own map, half of the players are humans and the other half are aliens. The humans must reach the escape pods in the darkness while the aliens try to catch them, but each player's position is only revealed when a relevant card is drawn. As for your game, it is good and has some atmosphere, but could use a bit of fleshing out to make it more obvious what's going on. I wasn't sure when or why doors would close after I opened them, and I wasn't sure when aliens would move or where (adds to the suspense I suppose). An idea from Red November would be the addition of tasks to perform in different ship sections, or blocking off corridors to make movement more difficult. There's plenty you could do with this game!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]