Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Adventures In SPACE - Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You must guide a creature from a tiny planet on his quest to explore the galaxy!

Sound effects, but no music. Maybe in an update...

Fun Note #1:
I had the 'interest' idea from the beginning, but didn't know what to do with it. I figured something out with ~14 hours left.

Fun Note #2:
All sound effects were recorded, not generated. Most of them were made by my mouth.


Made in Actionscript using FlashPunk and FlashDevelop.

Post-compo version will be updated as stuff happens.

View Jacic's journal. | View all entries by Jacic

Ratings

Coolness100%
#222Humor2.71
#630Audio1.92
#723Theme2.40
#782Mood2.04
#812Fun1.95
#828Overall2.21
#872Graphics1.75
#892Innovation1.60

Comments

Hume says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Okay, let's run down the experience.

1. That was a pop tart? I wasn't imagining things?
2. Those dirt balls have eerily accurate aim.
3. AWWW ending.

I am a sucker for this kind of game and I had fun playing yours. Thanks!

tompudding says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Would have been cool to do more stuff, like shoot at the obstacles.

dr_soda says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Nice ending. :)

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Errr, pretty...basic.
The ending was... in fitting with the theme I guess.
It was just too slow and too easy I'm afraid.

JaJ says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:40pm

There were some very funny elements to this, for example the weird objects floating through space and the fact that the protagonist completely missed that enormous purple planet the first time he passed it. I liked it.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Cute game. It felt like it started off a litte slow, but I loved seeing all of the food-stuff you added into the game. Especially the pop tarts. :)

Rybar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:08pm

The pacing is way too slow.. not enough to do while traveling. I didn't even make it to the first planet.

Jacic says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:10pm

Whoa, sudden comments!

Thank you all for playing, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Hume: Yes, poptart. ;)

tompudding: Their planet is a peaceful one. Plus, this is the first time any of them have gone into space.

Everyone who mentioned the ending: Did you see that coming? ;)

amodo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:22am

After this crazy weekend, playing this was really good for my nerves. A bit like a slow old movie, relaxing.

Zamando says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:29pm

This game was waaay too easy.

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:47pm

I like the theme! Maybe needed more obstacles tho or maybe speed increases as it was easy to dodge!

Hatscat says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:49pm

I like the end, but not enough challenges

Darien says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 9:56pm

The ending got a laugh, I'll admit. It's a decent start, but could do with a bit more challenge; increasing the spawn rate on the obstacles wouldn't be a bad idea by itself.

Jacic says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Thanks for all the comments! Yes, it is an easy game. I plan to increase the rate at which obstacles appear. Maybe new kinds of obstacles too!

aquasheep says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:25am

Entertaining! +1

Thoughts:

1) A boost function would be nice because some asteroids were a little impossible to dodge at the slow speeds.

2) SPACE BACON!!!

3) Good start! Keep it up!

Shigor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:50am

All right, ending was a plus. The only one. This was pretty boring, with gameplay mostly consisting of staring blankly at the screen and occasionally dodging or picking stuff. Try to do something more engaging next time (I almost quit before the end, started to tell myself to forget about this after third planet).

Jacic says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:46am

aquasheep: Thank you. :) I actually like the idea of boosting.

Shigor: Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorta continuing work on this, so I'll see what I can do.

castor says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:23pm

Cool game. Who doesn't wanna eat various foodstuffs in space?

Suese says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:47am

It was not very much fun to play. It needed a lot more. Music, sound effects, flow, speed, better graphics. Nice try though.

Thanks for this.

robbiehunt says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Why did it take so long for me to rate this game? I swear I played it like 5 times, you linked it so much in IRC :P

Good ending, and the gameplay works. Just needs more challenge and perhaps more variety of gameplay.

What's here is a solid foundation, build up some more!

philhassey says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 8:47pm

I wasn't always sure what I was supposed to pick up vs avoid. The game could maybe have gotten a bit more challenging :) I liked the the little bit of a story the game started out with. Anyway, had fun!

Jacic says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:08pm

robbiehunt: I didn't link it /that/ many times. ;) Thanks for the feedback!

philhassey: I'll see what I can do about pickups. Thank you!

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:30pm

I liked the ending!

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Well, if I could collide with the stars when I flew through space, the game would be a challenge. The ending was a bit of disappointment - flying through this huge galaxy, just to <spoiler> be squashed by a giant foot </spoiler>

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Fun entry, the game is too easy, I was waying to myself that I will soon quit, but the fun dialogs between planets made me want to try next level each time. And the ending is fun :)

To pass the time ( the travels are long ) I used to avoid stars, which was playable and fun. I think you should add a "hard" mode with stars collision !

Andrew says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 12:33am

Unfortunately it was a bit too slow paced for me. Bonus points for mouth sounds though.

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 2:55am

vigrid, Benjamin: I love the colliding with star idea! That'll definitely be in a future version!

marudziik says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:50am

Ending is great and funny. That being said, there are some flaws - most of them already pointed out here. The main problem for me is that there's no challenge aside from asteroids in brownish colour, which made it hard to spot them on black background.

Ben says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Got to second planet but wasn't sure what to do at that point. The chomp-chomp sound was funny.

summaky says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 12:33pm

I didn't reach the end because I was too bored to continue, frankly. Everything moves too slow and most of the time I have to "play catch-up with the stars" in order to amuse me. Only from time to time I have to dodge a slow-moving object towards me.

The idea is good, but if only the game had a 5x speed-up, it would make it a lot more fun. More so with some fast-beat music!

voxel says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:15am

was nice to play a side scrolling space game where i didnt have to shoot anything. Really liked the overall mood and humour of this one. good job

JellyFame says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Too slow, otherwise good.

Sodaware says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:00am

The flying was a little too slow for me. It would have been nice to have something to do on the planets, and maybe some more obstacles to dodge. The concept is good though, and I really liked the ending :)

Make A Game says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:43pm

I was expecting to land on a planet with a crashed scissor cargo ship.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]