Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Out for arrest - Kyatric - Jam Entry

This is an HTML5 game made with Construct2 by http://www.scirra.com

Arrest gang members by spotting them through a satellite.
Don't arrest innocent civilians, arrest all gang members before the time runs out.

Programming, sound : Kyatric
Graphic art: PixolPalette

---
Controls:
Use the mouse.
On the title screen, click to continue to the briefing room.

On the briefing room, click OK to go to the assignement.

In game, spot gang members in your scope and click them to make the arrest.
Beware, don't arrest civilians.

The dots around the scope turns to a more pronounced shade of red when you get closer to a gang member.
---

View Kyatric's journal. | View all entries by Kyatric

Ratings

#42Innovation(Jam)3.58
#89Theme(Jam)3.21
#101Graphics(Jam)3.48
#114Overall(Jam)3.12
#121Audio(Jam)2.91
#132Humor(Jam)2.27
#137Mood(Jam)2.75
#145Fun(Jam)2.68
#824Coolness35%

Comments

Raptor85 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:10am

cool but frustratingly hard to figure out where the guys are

Mrnewt says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:06am

Its a small, small, world. Liked the concept, the pointer was a bit hard to get the hang of. Kept wanting to use the scroll wheel to zoom in for some reason. heh

JimScott says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Wow this is amazing! really hard, but that makes it fun ^^

Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:16am

Really dig the graphics and audio on this one!

Hazematman says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:38am

Pretty cool idea for a game, and It went with the theme pretty well! I found it a little bit too difficult for my tastes though

namuol says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:39am

Loved the graphics! You should make it clear from the beginning that the cursor turns red when you get close to a "gang member" -- I failed the first mission but got through the others with little trouble.

jwolf says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:40pm

Really cool idea!

I didn't / couldn't notice the change in the dots at all. You might want to use something else in addition to indicate proximity. (Sound effects? Not sure if there was a variable beat or not)

robcozzens says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 9:41am

It's like Where's Waldo with ants.

angrygeometry says ...
May 4, 2012 @ 4:13pm

extremely addictive. i really enjoyed it. only problem i have is the sound effect for the seconds dropping is hideous and really grating. liked the voice work though. overall, nice job.

Robert Swan says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Hard but fun. A great idea. Could do with better or different clues for the bad guys but was novel. Reminded me of a game I saw years ago, back in the days of Doom, where someone set out to have a Doom-like fps with 1000s of mobs walking around, and you have to run through them and spot the few miscreants in the middle. That was hard too!

mneubrand says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 1:50am

Needed to fail once and see the tip with the red dots before actually figuring this out. Great game. Scrolling can get frustrating sometimes and the red dots are a bit tiny. But it's a nice innovative concept.

23 says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 7:14am

Hey, I can't get this working. I have two Linux machines; on one in Chrome the whole page turns blue (?) and in Firefox (12.0) text about the first level comes out on a grey background but I can't do anything. On the other in Chrome and Firefox (3.6) just a grey box with black around it loads.

Kyatric says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Thank you all for the comments and feedback.

@23: On the machine with FF12 try an update on the graphic card drivers.
FF 3.6 is far too old too handle correctly HTML5 gaming based on WebGL, try an update too.

kylerhoades says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:56pm

The controls were very jerky for me in Chrome using a laptop touch pad. It also seemed a little laggy. Made it a bit frustrating to play. Other than that, it was a cool game. Nice work.

Several says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Amusing little game. There's definitely room to expand on the ideas.

Having a larger area turn red to indicate proximity may help playability. As it is, the proximity indicator area is quite small, the color change is fairly slight (yellow->red?), and the mechanic involves moving the magnifier rather quickly, which can result in blurring of adjacent colors (not sure if this is more screen-dependent or eye-dependent, but because there's a darker outline around the areas, it can result in some orange-looking false-positives if I'm not moving the cursor slower than most people walk).

To add to gameplay, it might be worthwhile to add deployment of cops, squad cars, or sirens to potentially herd criminals or otherwise cause them to move somewhat differently. Similarly, different movement patterns for different kinds of civilians would be interesting, and help to distract or draw attention. At the start of a level, a "last known location" for some criminals might add to the atmosphere (and make early levels easier) too. And having cops or cameras on the ground trigger alarms on identification (not always correct) could also improve immersion & make gameplay a little more hectic.

Didn't notice if there was an explanation for the instant-arrest on click, but it seemed like something that could be mined for humor or mood. Some explanations imagination suggested during play: Orbital cop bombardment? Teleporting cops? Abiogenesis? Cops hiding literally everywhere? Invisible cops sprinting after the satellite's shadow? The ineffable will of the law? Or is something going on more like the "agents" in the Matrix?

May 12, 2012 @ 7:32pm

Cool Construct2 game!

23 says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 2:04am

Ah, thanks - it was a driver issue.

Like others, I found the ticking noise pretty bad and the visual indicator (red dots) hard to read - something bigger would have been nice. Also, I had trouble with scrolling - sometimes I would scroll without meaning to, sometimes I would go to the edge of the screen but not scroll even though it wasn't the edge.

The main problem I have with gameplay is that success feel pretty random - all I can do is roll the mouse around and hope the dots turn red. It's barely possible to tell criminals apart without the zoom (I think), but there's no real strategy or way to do a better job.

The basic idea is really cool, though, and with some ability to influence the town (perhaps like some stuff in Atom Zombie Smasher) this would be a lot of fun. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]