Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Burger Defender

by Beerman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a tiny soldier, tasked with defending a burger from endless hordes of ravenous fatties.

Controls : Keys or Controller.
Default keys: WSAD or Arrows to move, Ctrl to fire.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#119Humor3.07
#429Audio2.48
#664Mood2.30
#697Fun2.32
#703Overall2.53
#725Innovation2.27
#727Graphics2.30
#733Theme2.38

Comments

orgarus says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Hi!
First thing first: Carrocket FTW! :D
In the first try the burguer "dissapeared" in a few seconds, and I discovered the boxes a little while before that it happenned. In the second I... took a Carrocket and ¡BOOM! And I said "Ualaaa!" (WOW! in spanish :P)
The problem that I see in your game is the control of the player, it's practically impossible to aim with default gun until you get the... CARROCKET ¡BOOM!
Congratulations to win the LD dead line!

PD.-The player floats outside the table but who cares if you have a... Carrocket! :)

jeroenimooo says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:00pm

Defending a burgers wasa great honor. THe graphics were ok but now awesome. Also you could move of the table, aiming with the mouse would also have been nice. I loved the weapon system, it was nice changing my weapon once in a while

Zyll says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Enjoyed the rockets. Movement was unexpected, but got use to it.

YMM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Not enough games feature a carrot rocket launcher. I feel like the character controls would be way better if he just moved exactly the way you were pressing (instead of doing loops and stuff when you turn around).

GFM says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:03pm

The controls are kind harsh... I would normaly expect the player to move toward the direction I'm pressing... and not to circle until he faces the direction I'm pressing...
I know that this type of control is usually used in 3d games, but... perhaps, if the facing rotation was faster (and with a smaller radius)...

Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:10pm

A funny little game, I enjoyed the different weapons, and the concept is fun. Controls were hard to get used to though, and I thought I would die if I walked off the table...

ComaToes says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:38pm

I like it but the controls need work. Keys would be more intuitive as forward/back and rotate left/right. Aiming with the mouse would be a bonus. Otherwise, good job :)

De10ter says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:46pm

Afraid I found it uncontrolable.
Using the mouse to fire but not aim seems a strange choice and lining up your guy with your target is a nighmare.

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Gave me a good laugh. :D

The decision to use Left-click to shoot without aiming with the mouse was a bit odd, but otherwise, it was quite a bit of fun.

I mage it to 80 points.

Beerman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:37am

You can also fire with left Ctrl, or download the windows version if you want to remap the controls. Left mouse just happens to be mapped to fire in the Unity defaults.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:48am

Frustrating controls, but quite fun none the less. Adding shadows would make it feel more like the characters were on the table.

schizofunky says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:24am

Music was very cool and a nice idea :D

Apr 24, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Hilarious, but the controls make this less than entertaining to actually play :(

Topaz says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:08pm

At first I found it a little hard to control the player's direction, but I eventually got the hang of it.I really like the concept, COOL GAME!

Beerman says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:32pm

So I'm getting kind of a "we don't like the controls" vibe here. Had a quick play with it and increasing the turn speed does seem to make a difference to the playability.
I've got a few other ideas for improvements so I'm thinking about a post-compo update towards the end of the week. Watch this space...

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:11pm

Fun games but the controls really got to me and ruined it a bit.

TenTonToon says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:20pm

Other than the already pointed out problem with the controls, there's a distinct lack of feedback when shooting your enemies that makes the action less satisfactory. Some sort of audio effect would go a long way to improve that, and help empower the player.

LFleck says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:29pm

Those were hard controls, but after i got a hand on them the game became really fun. Good Job

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 1:51am

This reminded me of the boxhead games. With some polish, this could turn into a great full game. Well done.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:30am

Who would have thought that the only way to save my burger would be with carrockets.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:24am

The different weapon implementations were nice, even though it felt really tough to aim. And the aiming was partially because it was tied directly to the way you were facing, which was tricky to control because the character feels like it doesn't have much friction on it. (It doesn't feel like you're running around on a table, it feels like you're flying the ship from asteroids.)

Oddly, I was expecting to defend the burger on the picnic table from the ants instead...

Digitalis says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:41am

mmm... negative burger
This game could really benefit from more obvious visual feedback when a 'fatty' is successfully shot and a visual representation of the the amount of burger remaining.
Has challenge, but is simple to understand. Good job

vigrid says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 9:52pm

I'm sorry, but the controls totally stopped me from enjoying this game.

spiral says ...
May 1, 2012 @ 3:32pm

kept playing for the burgers sake. despite the controls!

May 1, 2012 @ 5:54pm

Nice game and especially the balancing was very nice. As others already commented the controls are confusing and easily frustrating.

Presentation and setting was fun. Congratulations for making this game!

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Carrocket was cool. The game was interesting and fun; I played for quite a while. The variety of weapons was neat. I felt like the turning radius on my dude was too wide - it was frustrating trying to aim and pick stuff up. Some variety of enemies, or maybe a "wave complete" or something might have added to the fun. I love the checkered tablecloth - nice touch.

HybridMind says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 2:37am

I played the first time without realizing there were weapons crates, so I didn't defend the burger for long. Then right near the end I noticed the crates and I played again. That was a good bit more fun and I lasted forever until kind of getting bored. Loved the carrot-rocket explosions! I think the most frustrating thing is the controls and turn radius in this game. It made aiming/shooting a good bit more difficult then it needed to be. I got a good laugh out of the game name though.

Orni says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 4:27pm

the controls are a bit annoying - you should have put the character on ice skates (that would have dealt with that problem in a fun way)

other than that it's quite fun - I wished there would be some death animation for the "enemies" though

all in all a fun little thing - well done - yet some simple changes (like mouse support) could make it much better

Rabbits... says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 5:32am

I agree that the carrorocket owns, but a tighter turn radius would have made this game much more fun...(nice spinny title)

May 10, 2012 @ 10:11am

Super cute! Found the controls pretty difficult and would have loved to see the burger actually shrink as it got smaller. Nice music - was it "The Goonies" inspired?

TobiasNL says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 10:49am

The gameplay was very weird... however when you get a new weapon the game gets somewhat easier. I did not find this very enjoyable though. Graphics were good!

crippledgames says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 1:01pm

at first the controls felt terrible because I was trying to play how most top down shooters are played, but when I got used to it, they were amazing if you keep moving and shooting it felt very fun and fast paced.

Datamosh says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 1:09pm

My score is 101. It's fun! Weapons are fun too, BUT... the controls suit more a game like Micromachines than a shooter! Overall is really good.

rvmook says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:17am

It would be nice if the rotation radius was a bit smaller, but other then that is was fun to play.

jimmypaulin says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Very funny game! I loved the relentless march of the fatties, they just had to get into that burger at all costs. Great character sprites, generally nicely presented overall. I particularly liked the carrocket effects and carnage, a masterstroke! They were a bit too frequent an upgrade for my taste though and made it a little easy to just keep going. After I played a while I think I got good enough to just carry on indefinitely (score of 273...) - it would perhaps be easy to just increase the spawn rate through time? All in a a lovely interpretation of the theme and an enjoyable blast, thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]