April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

LittlePlanetBigRocket

by daredevildave - Jam Entry

Help Commander Jameson escape the cuboid planets of the Cobra Nebula.

An HTML5/WebGL/Javascript game, works in modern web browsers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#24Theme(Jam)3.73
#60Innovation(Jam)3.45
#96Overall(Jam)3.22
#105Fun(Jam)2.86
#118Mood(Jam)2.85
#150Graphics(Jam)3.02
#180Audio(Jam)1.98
#186Humor(Jam)1.89

Comments

jrasmussen24 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:10am

Frustrating difficult spike.

ChainedLupine says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:13am

Pretty nice concept, though it would be more fun if I could get an indication of what lines on the out-of-sight side. Maybe alter camera just a bit so you can "peek" over the edge a bit and see the mountains?

sythe says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:21am

Not very innovative at all. I played a very, very similar game, a few months ago. It might have been a Humble Bundle title.

youdonotexist says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:08am

This game reminded me a bit of Fez. The perspective made it a bit difficult to know exactly where my character was with respect to enemies.

Other than the perspective, I thought that this was a good use of the world-turning mechanic.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:19am

I scored you 5 for innovation to make up for sythe. I haven't seen a game like this. It was pretty cool, but very frustrating when hitting the red guys once sent you all the way back to the beginning.

Robert Swan says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Nice concept! More levels required :)

zkenshin says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 3:37pm

Decent entry, could see it being fleshed out with more levels and features being a really neat little title.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:08pm

Really, really like this. I haven't seen a cube-turner before. Excellent work. I do think it'd be nice to have at least one "freebie" hit with temporary invulnerability so you don't have to play each level completely perfectly to progress.

The game froze halfway through a cube rotation animation when I got a few levels in. It was on the first level with the waves of super-fast bad guys. The browser's still responsive and there's no CPU spike, so it seems like the game logic just failed.

Especially good use of web tech here; the PlayCanvas platform looks pretty nice.

kasarun says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Good game but red guys are hard to avoid because perspective. To move in diagonal can be helpful

Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Nice gravity-switching-mechanic! The puzzles were a bit trial+error though.

Folaks says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 6:51pm

Played the game twice, I was having a hard time passing level 4 or 5 (the one right after the one in the pic you displayed here), and the game crashed on both times when I was hit by an enemy during the planet rotation animation.

Also, I experienced movement slowdown. I agree with other comments that diagonal movement would be nice.

Congratz for the entry :-)

kroltan says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 8:07pm

Perspective is weird, but nice job.

Nolan C says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:02pm

Neat little maze game. On level 3 the camera started going crazy and I got stuck on the other side. But I like the concept.

kato9 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:35pm

Very clever mechanic and an enjoyable game overall. I would've kept playing if there were more levels!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 2:38am

The difficulty sure went from zero to one hundred quickly! Nevertheless, it was pretty fun to see such a cool game built in PlayCanvas. If only those red guys were easier to avoid! xD

orangepascal says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 6:30am

sadly wouldn't load :( the intro text shows, but after that the screen stays white (Chrome running on a MacBook)

daredevildave says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:56am

Hey orangepascal, could you send me any console output you are getting? It was developer in Chrome on a MacBook Pro, so it should work :-(

vilya says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Great game, very polished. I seemed to get stuck on the scenery a few times when it looked like there was a large enough gap to walk through, but that only happened once or twice. Could be improved by adding a limit on the number of lives as well, perhaps? Oh and a finish screen too. :-)

namuol says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 9:58pm

"You are Commander Jameson" -- I think our games may share an influence, despite their major differences. ;)

Nice work! I'll definitely have to check out the library you used. WebGL is something I've sort of avoided for a while because it used to be so primitive... What was your experience with PlayCanvas like?

One feature request I'd make is being able to rotate the camera around the cube, but that may defeat the challenge of certain puzzles.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:42pm

@namuol Heh, we wondered if anyone would notice :-)

Well, as we wrote the library ourselves, we somewhat biased as what is like to work with, but I think it turned out pretty well especially as we're not artists.

Drop me an email at playcanvas.com (dave@) if you're interested in checking it out.

mneubrand says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

Nice concept for a puzzler. The red guys make it a bit frustrating though.

Apr 27, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Very nice, but I found the controls hard to use. Good puzzles, and graphics

PabloAM says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 8:58pm

Nice game and idea.
Just I have lost the player in the first "world" the camera didn´t follow the player :S

But anyway, Good job!

Moth says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:55am

A slick little game! I like the mechanic of viewing three sides of a cube, although I would also like to be able to see the solids on the two adjacent unseen sectors for those moments when you can't tell if there's a solid keeping you from going over there.

The graphics pop pretty nicely and the faces on the red dudes are pretty humorous. I understand the game's control is deliberate, but I still must say it was a bit tricky maneuvering around them due the collision boxes of everything are quite large and the perspective does make judging whether or not you're out of an enemy's trajectory a bit difficult.

I think the cutscenes and concept are really nice as well!

derrickdool says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Cool puzzler, tied into the theme nicely.
Had a lot of trouble with perspective/controls when trying to time movements with the "native lifeforms"

gnx says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 5:26am

I like the concept.
The player character moves a bit slow for my taste.
Everything is clear and no instruction is really required which is a great thing.

A bit richer soundscape would've also done wonders to the general mood :)

dray says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 3:11pm

quite hard mostly because of the controls, but i like it, nice game

domrein says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 3:38pm

Fun game! Nice to see the 3d used for gameplay reasons.

summaky says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 8:09am

The player moves too slow in my computer that it makes the whole experience frustrating. I also wish I could rotate the planet so I could see the other faces, otherwise is just a hit-and-miss game; no strategy involved.

davidwparker says ...
May 8, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Great idea... still needs a little work, but well done.
Directions are a little hard to keep correct.
Hitting a single bad guy and resetting the level sucks (makes it really hard).
Well done though, love the use of WebGL.

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 7:17pm

I like the streamlined, simple concept. Better graphics and some music would create an interesting mood, especially considering the asteroid keeps coming. You should capitalize on that to create tension!

Kyatric says ...
May 12, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Nice concept, good puzzle game.
Indeed there's a gap in the difficulty with the introduction of lifeforms, but the overall concept is pretty cool.
Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]