Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 23

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny World - God Mode Edition - Shackelford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Built in Unity.
Used Blender for modeling, Gimp for textures, ArtText2 for icons, SFXR for sound effects, and atrk-bu for music generation.

View Shackelford's journal. | View all entries by Shackelford

Ratings

Coolness51%
#28Theme4.06
#76Overall3.69
#147Graphics3.63
#189Humor2.81
#199Fun3.23
#207Innovation3.40
#246Audio2.94
#252Mood3.00

Comments

EddieCameron says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:23am

Pretty impressive! After a while I didn't really know what was happening anymore though. But could probably spend more time and make sense of it

liger13 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:24am

Really fun game that has a nice feel to it. Had trouble winning though

RandomOutput says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:28am

Felt like I was able to grok the game pretty quickly. Good job making things understandable. I basically started just throwing food and water everywhere that had people and not paying attention to stats. Got a ton of God Power quickly that way. Its a solid base. Would love to see some refinement of the resource mechanic and more more emergent behavior from the followers. Good work!

armornick says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:31am

Very fun! However, you should give more feedback about what's happening. Sometimes it's hard to see everything.

Rybar says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:33am

This one is a lot of fun! Great graphics, feels like a mini Black&White. Could use some stronger/larger need indicators, I was often turning the globe too late to prevent deaths.

CuberToy says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:33am

Love the overall idea. Well executed.

Nickardson says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:34am

I love the hues of the world, and how the trees pop up. But it seems pretty difficult to increase the belief level.

thotdoctor64 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 4:38am

Loved the achievements.

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:17am

Impressive i must say. I enjoyed it, allthough as mentioned, it was hard to udnerstand what was happening after a while.

mattchu says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 6:17am

Felt like I stayed at the halfway point for the entire time, with my subjects being oddly demanding, requiring the utmost attention the whole time.

The achievements gave me a chuckle though. :)

aaronsnoswell says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:11am

Nice job - really like it! I can see this becoming a mobile ga- oh wait ;)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:45am

Love the intro. "You Are God", enough said :)

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 5:50am

The achievements were really an amusing touch. I wish it was more obvious when I lost, though. I had 0 god power at some point and couldn't make anything happen. My fix was just to restart the game.

The music definitely grew on me and the humor's pretty great in parts. "You like UFOs? How about five??" It could use a little work to make some gameplay aspects more obvious but I really liked this :).

gritfish says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 5:41am

Got to the point where I was generating god power way faster than I could spend it. Figured there wasn't a win state... Wiped everyone out with 100's of spaceships to see if there was a fail state... Now I just feel bad for wiping out everyone pointlessly...

Sigh - reviewing is hard

Great sim though. I wonder if anyone's gotten to be full evil without killing everyone? That seems like a much harder way to play the game.

Angerus says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:39am

Impressive ! The system is simple and yet so fun to play god on YOUR tiny world! and the achievement system was a good surprise!

Rabbits... says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 2:53pm

I love the textures involved and people really aren't using triangles to their advantage anymore...Good Job...Great Game

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 3:09pm

Although I've seen games kinda like this before, this seemed like a unique combination and I really enjoyed it! It seems like it'll be easy, but it's actually pretty challenging, especially the more "followers" you have. Oh! One last thing: the in-game achievements were surprising and very cute. I liked it! Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]