Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Peppyland

by spooks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Worked on this for about 10 hours or so (all sunday). A pretty basic platform game, where you need to grab resources from another small planet. Sorry for the resolution as well, its a bit small. Let me know if there is any issues. Thanks for reviewing!

jump - space (can double jump)
ctrl - extra speed, higher jump
arrows keys or WASD - move left and right

Added a new link with a quick fix for the platform bug, it simply resets the level. The fix will have to last until I get some time tomorrow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#179Humor2.83
#295Graphics3.17
#325Fun3.00
#446Overall2.93
#468Mood2.63
#511Audio2.27
#565Theme2.75
#837Innovation1.96

Comments

Apr 23, 2012 @ 5:43am

Nice entry :)

Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Short. Hope you do more with it. :-)

angrygeometry says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 7:40pm

i found a strange bug, i was stood on the cube that floats upwards and suddenly it propelled into the air and i was stuck on the edge. eventually i teleported back to the checkpoint but yeah. everything else worked fine :)

ahm99 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:46pm

If you jump, fall for a bit, hold control, while still falling, jump again then move a direction. When I did that A went flying. It's a weird glitch. You need to reset the platforms when you go back to the checkpoint. Either that or make a restart button.

ahm99 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Platforms are very bugged.

johnfn says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Cute game! Would love to see it expanded.

vigrid says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:46pm

Once the blocks have fallen down, the game is unbeatable without restart.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:50pm

It's a bit frustrating to die and then have to reset the game to recreate the platforms. Presentation is nice though, and the opening lines made me laugh :)

mailman105 says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:51pm

When the platforms fall, they dont respawn... :(

davidllanos22 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 1:03am

Pretty basic! Well done :3

spooks says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:01am

Thanks for the comments, I noticed that with the platforms as well, I added them in last minute, and never had enough time to fix. I will update with a fix version soon

spooks says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 4:14am

Okay fix is in(the quick fix, where it just restarts the level)! Thanks for the find

HybridMind says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:33am

I enjoyed the humor and pixel art. I got a fun glitch by climbing over the left-most barrier in the planet and dying. Then it kept spawning me over and over again below the platform until the game exploded. (This was in the web-updated version.)

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:37am

Nice little game, could easily become a full game with more levels and some polish. I did see one glitch, but that was because I was screwing around and managed to launch myself off the left side of the screen, which then got stuck in an infinite loop of respawning me under the ground and letting me continually drop to my death!

spooks says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:46am

@Kevin that isn't a glitch...that is the ultimate death! okay okay.. it's a glitch, I will see if I can recreate that problem, do you know which level it was on?

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 1:55am

Like it, but found a bug i died and i kept falling and falling and falling. Then black screen?

FaBrito says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 2:03am

certainly a game worth investing more time in development.
I only had some problems with the raising platforms, because I lost reference after jumping, but not a big deal.
Nice work!

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:56pm

A platformer is always good, and this is a nice game for 10 hours of work.
The controls are a little too "slidey" to really allow you to enjoy some of the more fiddly jumps in the main game-play world, but I was quite intrigued to see the element of replayability in that the game times your efforts.
Nice job overall.

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Really short, simple platformer. Not bad, just short. And never, ever use ctrl and shift as default keys without offering alternatives. Sticky keys, they are annoying.

spooks says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 6:35pm

@ratboy2713 Thanks you for that observation, I never even thought about that (my sticky keys are shut off)! I will definitely make alternative keys next time!

jimmypaulin says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:34pm

This was fun! Nice and self contained, a complete experience with *plot* and a compelling "just one more go" quality, like it. I enjoy the low res art with good colour palette. Good controls and feel and appropriate sound fx as well

hulahulahest says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:17pm

The controls are rather slippery, and collision detection/platforms is extremely glitchy; not a good sign in a platform game. The graphics are fine, but the game is a bit short.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Cute but very very short. It's alright.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Good game!! The graphics is very nice! Pity that it's a little bit short, but well done :).. Only one thing: On the mac (i try the Web release) the ctrl button plus the arrows keys is the shortcut for change spaces. If you can change the ctrl button with another ;).. however, Good job..... and continue to develop it! ;)

MadGnomeGamer says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:04am

Nice little bit of fun! Points for making it a complete experience. Those upward platforms were a nice twist!

fatSquirrel says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:05am

I like your sprites. Good job for only 10 hours!

raarlac says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:27am

Nice game! But it's so short... :(

orunbot says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 7:47pm

I had fun. Penalty for dying is a high one.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 2:56am

That was cute, if a bit short. The wise man's humor was probably my favourite part. The platforming was solid and the jumping worked but the upwards moving platforms felt a bit off since they dragged the character instead of accelerating him.

Overall it was fun though! The time statistic was unexpected but good.

Apr 28, 2012 @ 2:52pm

Haha funny ending! Nice job, hope you expand it!

AD-Edge says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 3:38am

Nice little game, a bit lacking in innovation though, and a bit short.

Birchmountain says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 10:02am

Im a huge fan of platformers and i must say i enjoyed playing this one! Quite challenging and when the old man in the end that he could do it better it really made me want to play more!

Endurion says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 6:24pm

Very nice graphics, and not bad for 10 hours.
The floating platforms are quite buggy and it's a tad on the short side ;)

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2012 @ 5:02am

Nice Job! Like the graphics and it seems you have a good story line in the works. I like how your time and item count is added to the dialog.

May 5, 2012 @ 2:28pm

A bit short, but really fun entry.

ghRibacki says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 4:59am

Haha! Amusing game! Too bad it is so short, but really nice. =)

azurenimbus says ...
May 10, 2012 @ 7:44pm

It's a shame, but the ctrl is a really bad choice of button for Mac users, since CTRL+any arrow key changes the screen you're on. Really nice looking game, though.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]