April 20th-23rd 2012 :: 10 Year Anniversary! :: Theme: Tiny World

Back to Browse Entries

Poor Pluto's Revenge

by derosa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Wow, I can't believe I did it!

A really simple game, but I'm very happy with the idea although I could only work about 20 hours on it. I think the playability is not as good as I'd like and the difficulty is not well balanced. Oh, well... :)

You are Pluto in his way to defeat an evil astronomer to get his real planet title back! Engage the asteroids with your gravitatory field and shoot them back.

Made using:

* Unity3D and RagePixel.
* Inkscape
* Gimp
* bfxr
* Autotracker-bottomup - Incredible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Humor3.60
#142Theme3.59
#173Fun3.29
#282Audio2.85
#341Overall3.13
#362Innovation3.09
#387Mood2.74
#529Graphics2.73

Comments

spooks says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Nice game! I was kind of in the same boat, first unity3d actual game attempt, made lots of features before, but never a full game. I love how the bullets circle the planet, well done!

Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:26pm

This is actually a rather nice concept :)

Andrew says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:29pm

Cool concept, I would'v liked to see more done in terms of enemy shot patters to spice things up a bit. Maybe in a post compo version.

Sodaware says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:30pm

Super easy, but I liked the way you had to capture asteroids to shoot them back. The final boss made me smile too :)

Gremlin says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:33pm

I like the way you collect the enemies' bullets for your own ammunition. Very clever.

If I had a complaint, it would be that the controls aren't as responsive as I'd like.

hi-scor.es says ...
Apr 23, 2012 @ 11:35pm

That was great! Fun mechanic of picking up the asteroids and sending them back. I love the final boss.

callidus says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 10:58am

Haha nice game, it was a bit easy but I really liked the mechanic of capturing asteroids. Using Pluto was a nice idea for the theme as well, good job on the end boss.

DoktorAce says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:03am

I wasn't able to fire using the ctrl-button :(
I'm on a Mac that has that small cordless keyboard...

derosa says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:04am

Hi all! Thanks for the comments. I had to sacrifice the IA for a simpler one, but I'm planning on keep on working on the game!

piterlouis says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:05am

Good game, very funny. five stars in Humor!!, the boss is awesome XD

Transmit says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 11:05am

First game I'm commenting on, nothing ground breaking, but it sure made me laugh and smile! So thumbs up all around.

Shigor says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Nice concept, although the game is far too simple. But one of the best entries so far anyway.

Pyro says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Very fun game, I like the graphics

mailman105 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:47pm

Nice job! love the concept.

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 24, 2012 @ 7:48pm

This was surprisingly fun. The concept was simple, but I disagree that it was "too" simple, especially if you only had 20 hours to work on it. This is pretty much what I would imagine is the epitome of LD entries, and it doesn't suffer for it. Enjoyable!

kato9 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:40am

Funny concept but way too easy, some random behavior on the part of the enemies would have gone a long way. Still, a good effort.

devwil says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 12:58am

very simple, but very amusing concept!

ratboy2713 says ...
Apr 25, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Never ever use Ctrl as a key, especially the fire key in shooter. Sticky keys! Makes your game unplayable.

After I got past that, it was cute and funny, if not a little simplistic. Maybe tweak the AI to fire spreads instead of always in a straight line.

Apr 25, 2012 @ 7:07pm

I liked it a lot, nice simple mechanic. I was able to beat it on my first try, so I wouldn't say it's too hard. Great job!

Zamando says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 8:20am

Nice game! A bit too easy tough :)

Evil Cult says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:16pm

[Comments and ratings from this account come from various team members]
A bit too easy and a bit too short but quite humerous and fun to play. The capturing the the asteroids works well. Great work for the 20 hours you got to work on it.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:17pm

Loved it! Killed the last three with only 10 life remaining. Was intense :D

Mesene says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nice audio and mechanic, hope it was little more challenging :)

racarate says ...
Apr 26, 2012 @ 11:26pm

Har, har, har. I like your interpretation of "tiny world". The retro music was good, but not sure it fit the visual style. I love that I got my blood pumping by lighting up planet earth with machine gun toast. The theatrical entrance of the larger planets was nice. The UI seemed a bit bland, it didn't seem to fit the setting and having the HUD on the opposite side of the screen from the hero made it a little difficult to monitor. Overall, I enjoyed taking the role of Pluto, the demoted planet.

namuol says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:29am

Haha. Very nice. With some tweaking of the enemies to make them a little more "intelligent" in dodging asteroids (and so they can catch them, too) it would amp the challenge enough to make it a very addictive game.

Jupiter's big red eyes made me laugh in the nerdiest of ways.

desmarkie says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 12:32am

Good fun, this could be a really good little game. Lol at the last 'planet' too :D

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:08am

Haha, awesome. I love the premise...it's a little easy (I think switching up the shot patterns would help a lot with that), but lots of fun. Nice work!

Rabbits... says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 1:13am

good concept and great game but the space bar would make a much better shoot button. overall a great little game...Go Pluto!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 27, 2012 @ 6:33am

absorbing the enemy "bullets" is a nice twist!

bms says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 11:49am

really fun game! I was like "Yaay! xD" when I beat the astronomer guy :D I really liked how it kinda got harder as you progressed. well done!

Hattered says ...
Apr 28, 2012 @ 4:47pm

Fun! Dodging to capture asteroids in order to attack was a nice twist and the opponents' patterns really need to take advantage of that when you expand on this. Great humor!

Apr 29, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Cool game, nice absorb bullet mechanic, graphics are nice enough and all fit well with each other. The sound effects and bgm also complement the general feel of the game which is important.

Hope you find a chance to add more complexity to it post-compo as I'd like to see some non-absorbable shots in the mix which would help up the difficulty somewhat.

Made Pluto become a planet again, (at least in my mind anyway) huzzah!

Final boss was the icing on the cake!

dr_soda says ...
Apr 29, 2012 @ 11:27pm

Not a bad shooter. I like the idea of catching the enemies weapons to throw them back, but I felt like the enemies were a little too predictable. Also... were we just throwing space toast at each other?

I feel like there might also be some merit in penalizing the player for hoarding shots, or perhaps limiting the number of orbiting bodies you can have.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 30, 2012 @ 1:25am

This game is a bit easy, but it was also fun to play.
i give it a fair rating.

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2012 @ 6:14am

Needs work, but the core gameplay mechanic (grabbing bullets and throwing them back) is neat - it just needs some polish. And any game where you fight to restore Pluto's planethood is automatically awesome in my book!

Nolan C says ...
May 5, 2012 @ 4:05pm

Best Pluto-related planet-shooting game ever.

robcozzens says ...
May 6, 2012 @ 2:20am

I like that you have to catch the 'bullets' that your enemies shoot to have ammo.

ilo says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:02am

I laughed when I saw the boss. :D

The shooting mechanic is a great idea. Also, I think the game would work really well as an educational game for children learning the planets of the solar system, providing the planets were in the right order from the sun - you could have an asteroid belt level before Jupiter, and maybe you'd have to fight the planets' moons before reaching each boss, who could have different attacks etc. to make them easier to remember.

derosa says ...
May 7, 2012 @ 3:45am

@ilo: Those are great ideas. I'm still working on the game and was thinking about ways to make it educational with data about the planets and so. Thanks!

azurenimbus says ...
May 9, 2012 @ 11:57pm

I am so glad I got that bastard Neil tiGrasse Taizon! lol

This was really fun, great concept and pretty cool graphics for the planets and Neil. I haven't played the post-compo yet, so I don't know what you did, but I absolutely suggest making it harder and making the some of the plants move while shooting. It's gonna make it much harder to catch the asteroids and a lot more fun!

Great job overall!

Make A Game says ...
May 11, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Haha loved it. It reminded me of this image: http://www.frikipedia.es/images/a/a3/Crucifijos_no_Jutsu.jpg :D

Lotsa says ...
May 13, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Nicely done, seemed a bit slow at first but speeds up nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]